Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Australian Hellenic community NSW Sydney west


Published on

Profile of the Australian Hellenic community in the Federal electorates of western Sydney.

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Australian Hellenic community NSW Sydney west

  1. 1. The Australian Hellenic community by Federal Electorate (New South Wales – Sydney west)A presentation developed by Dr Panayiotis DiamadisAHC (NSW) SecretaryJuly 2010<br />
  2. 2. Η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία ανά Ομοσπονδιακή εκλογική περιφέριεα(Νέα Νοτίου Ουαλία – δυτικό Σύδνεϋ)<br />Μία παρουσίαση του <br />Δρ Παναγιώτη Διαμάντη, Γραμματέας, Αυστραλιανό Ελληνικό Συμβούλιο ΝΝΟ<br />Ιούλιος 2010<br />
  3. 3. Introduction<br />This presentation is designed as a “map” of the Australian Hellenic community. It records community organisations according to the Federal electoral divisions they are located in.<br />In particular in the case with churches, parishes do not neatly fit within electoral boundaries. They draw parishioners from a broad geographical region. While the church building may be in a particular seat, the worshippers are drawn from a number of neighbouring seats.<br />
  4. 4. Εισαγωγή<br />Η παρουσίαση αυτή είναι μιάς μορφής «χάρτης» της Αυστραλιανής Ελληνικής παροικίας. Καταγράφει τους παροικιακούς οργανισμούς σύμφωνα με την Ομοσπονδιακή εκλογική περιφέρεια στην οποία βρίσκονται.<br />Στην περίπτωση των εκκλησιών, οι ενορίες δεν ταιρίαζουν με με τα σύνορα των εκλογικών περιφερειών. Προσελκύουν τους πιτσούς από μία ευρύ γεωγραφική περιοχή.Επομένος, μπορεί να βρίσκετε μία εκκλησία σε κάποια έδρα,οι πιστοί όμως έρχονται από διάφορες γειτονικές έδρες.<br />
  5. 5. There are a number of purposes in creating these presentations. Firstly, to document where the Australian Hellenic community operates, where it is active.<br />
  6. 6. Υπάρχουν διάφοροι λόγοι για τους οποίους δημιουργήθηκαν οι παρουσιασεις αυτές. Πρώτον, να καταγράψουμε που δραστηριοποιείται η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Σε ποιά μέρη της Αυστραλίας.<br />
  7. 7. Secondly, to document where the Australian Hellenic community lives. Statistics such as language, religion and birthplace offer some reliable indications. Mapping Australian Hellenic community institutions add another dimension to this data.<br />: Clusters of “Greek-born” residents of Sydney.<br />
  8. 8. Δεύτερον, να καταγραφεί που ζει η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Οι στατιστικές περί γλώσσας, θρησκείας και τόπος γεννήσεως προσφέρουν αρκετά αξιόλογα στοιχεία. Η καταγραφή των ιδρυμάτων της Αυστραλιανής Ελληνικής παροικίας προσθέτει μία ακόμη διάσταση στα στοιχεία αυτά.<br />Περιοχές του Σύδνεϋ όπου ζουν άτομα γεννημένα στην Ελλάδα.<br />
  9. 9. Thirdly, to demonstrate how diverse and active the Australian Hellenic community is, present in urban centres as well as regional ones across the country. Below: St Nikolaos Orthodox Church, Coober Pedy, South Australia (middle of map).<br />
  10. 10. Τρίτον, να αποδείξουμε το πόσο δραστήρια είναι η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Έχει παρουσία τόσο στα αστικά κέντρα όσο και σε άλλες περιοχές σε ολόκληρη την χώρα. Κάτω:Η εκκλησία του Αγίου Νικολάου στο Coober Pedy της Νοτίου Αυστραλίας. (κέντρο του χάρτη)<br />
  11. 11. The intended audiences of these presentations are equally diverse:<br /><ul><li>the Australian Hellenic community itself;
  12. 12. the Federal, regional and local political leaderships of Australia;
  13. 13. the governments of the Hellenic Republic and the Republic of Cyprus;
  14. 14. researchers of Australian Hellenism.</li></ul>On behalf of the Australian Hellenic Council (NSW), I hope you find these presentations interesting and useful in equal measure.<br />Dr Panayiotis Diamadis<br />AHC (NSW) Secretary<br />
  15. 15. Οι παρουσιάσεις δημιουργήθηκαν για:<br /><ul><li>την ίδια την Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία
  16. 16. τις πολιτικές ηγεσίες της Αυστραλίας σε ομοσπονδιακό, περιφερειακό και τοπικό επίπεδο
  17. 17. τις κυβερνήσεις της Ελληνικής Δημοκρατίας και της Κυπριακής Δημοκρατίας
  18. 18. τους ερευνητές του Αυστραλιώτη Ελληνισμού.</li></ul>Εκ μέρους του Αυστραλιανού Ελληνικού Συμβουλίου Νέας Νοτίου ουαλίας, ελπίζω να βρίσκετε τις παρουσιάσεις αυτές εξ ίσου ενδιαφέρουσες όσο και χρήσιμες.<br />Δρ Παναγιώτης Διαμάντης<br />Γραμματέας<br />Αυστραλιανό Ελληνικό Συμβούλιο (ΝΝΟ)<br />
  19. 19. Electoral Division of Blaxland<br />
  20. 20. The Hon Jason Clare<br />ALP<br />Parliamentary Secretary for Employment<br />Office: Bankstown<br />
  21. 21. St Euphemia Orthodox Church6-12 East Terrace, Bankstown<br />
  22. 22. St Euphemia College Hall14 East Terrace, Bankstown<br />
  23. 23. St Euphemia College (1989) 202 Stacey Street, Bankstown<br />
  24. 24. Kalavryta Association of NSW38 Helen Street Sefton<br />
  25. 25. Kalavryta Association of NSW38 Helen Street Sefton<br />This is an association of people from the Achaia region of southern Greece.<br />
  26. 26. Electoral Division of Chifley<br />
  27. 27. The Hon Roger Price <br />ALP<br />Chief Government Whip<br />Office: Mount Druitt<br />E:<br />Retiring at 2010 Federal Election. Ed Husic ALP candidate.<br />
  28. 28. Electoral Division of Fowler<br />
  29. 29. Mrs Julia Irwin<br />Labor Party <br />Office: Cecil Hills<br />Retiring at 2010 Federal Election.<br />
  30. 30. Sts Raphael, Nikolaos and Eirene Orthodox Church 29 Forbes Street, Liverpool<br />
  31. 31. Electoral Division of Greenway<br />
  32. 32. Mrs Louise Markus<br />Liberal Party<br />Office: Windsor<br />E:<br />
  33. 33. St Paraskeve Orthodox Church 47-49 Balmoral St Blacktown<br />
  34. 34. Electoral Division of Hughes<br />
  35. 35. The Hon Danna Vale<br />Liberal Party <br />Office: Sutherland<br /><br />Retiring at 2010 Federal Election.<br />
  36. 36. Electoral Division of Lindsay<br />
  37. 37. Mr David Bradbury<br />ALP <br />Office: Penrith <br />E:<br />
  38. 38. St Demetrios Orthodox Church, 47 Hobart St, St Mary’s<br />
  39. 39. Electoral Division of Macarthur<br />
  40. 40. The Hon Pat Farmer<br />Party: Liberal<br />Office: Camden<br />Retiring at 2010 Federal Election.<br />
  41. 41. Electoral Division of Macquarie<br />
  42. 42. The Hon Bob Debus<br />ALP<br />Offices: Katoomba /Bathurst<br />
  43. 43. Orthodox Monastery of St GeorgeYellow Rock <br />
  44. 44. Electoral Division of McMahon<br />
  45. 45.
  46. 46. Electoral Division of Mitchell<br />
  47. 47. Mr Alex Hawke<br />Liberal Party<br />Office: Castle Hill<br />
  48. 48. Electoral Division of Parramatta<br />
  49. 49. Ms Julie Owens<br />Labor Party<br />Office: Parramatta<br />E:<br />
  50. 50. St Ioannis Orthodox Church 11Hassal Street Parramatta<br />
  51. 51. Order of AHEPA AustralasiaChapter ApollonNo.16<br />Based at Greystanes.<br />
  52. 52. Electoral Division of Prospect<br />
  53. 53. The Hon Chris Bowen<br />ALP<br />Minister for Financial Services, Superannuation and Corporate Law<br />Minister for Human Services<br />Office: Fairfield <br />E:<br />
  54. 54. Kemps Creek<br />
  55. 55. Electoral Division of Werriwa<br />
  56. 56. Mr Chris Hayes <br />ALP<br />Government Whip<br />Office: Ingleburn<br />E:<br />