Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

7 Big ICD-10 Changes for Primary Care Part I


Published on

Whether you are ready or not, ICD-10 will come. Don't let the fact that the number of codes is increasing from about 13,000 to more than 69,000 scare you. You will only need to focus on the new codes relevant to your specialty.

Published in: Marketing
  • Login to see the comments

  • Be the first to like this

7 Big ICD-10 Changes for Primary Care Part I

  1. 1. Instructor Course 7 Big ICD-10 Changes for Primary Care…Part I 1. Headaches: ICD-10 includes a whole slew of codes for headaches. For example, when a patient presents with a migraine, providers will have to specify whether it’s common, hemiplegic, persistent, chronic, ophthalmologic, abdominal or menstrual. This increased level of detail goes for cluster headaches, vascular headaches, tension-type headaches. Many of the codes in the headache section also require additional documentation that was not previously required. Put your stress and anxiety on ease and let HealthPro Business solutions take care of all questions bothering you for ICD 10 transition. Contact us on 240-427-1700 to know more. 2. Depression: Depression codes have been expanded in ICD-10 and providers will have to document in detail additional features such as single episode versus recurrent, mild, moderate, or severe and in partial or full remission. 3. Ear-Infection: ICD-10 includes various codes to denote specific forms of a middle-ear infection. These codes also distinguish between serous, allergic, nonsuppurative, suppurative, and atticoantral suppurative. Physicians must also document acute vs chronic, laterality and any associated perforated tympanic membrane.