Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

List of all presidents of india


Published on

Published in: Education, News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

List of all presidents of india

  1. 1. PRESIDENTS OF INDIAThe President of India is the head of state and first citizen of India. The President is alsothe Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of India.The post of President is known in Hindi as:“Rashtrapathi”, a Sanskrit neologism meaning "lord of the realm"The President is elected by an electoral college composed of elected members of the parliamenthouses, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, and also members of the Vidhan Sabha, the state legislativeassemblies.There have been 13 Presidents of India since the introduction of the post in 1950.Apart from these twelve, three acting presidents have also been in office for short periods oftime.Varahagiri Venkata Giri became First Acting President of India in 1969 following the death ofZakir Hussain, who died in office. Giri was elected President a few months later.He remains the only person to have held office both as a president and acting president.The President may remain in office for a tenure of five years, as stated by article 56, part V, ofthe constitution of India. In the case where a presidents term of office is terminated early orduring the absence of the president, the vice president assumes office.By article 70 of part V, the parliament may decide how to discharge the functions of thepresident where this is not possible, or in any other unexpected contingency.[1]Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, is the only person to have held office for twoterms.Two presidents, Zakir Hussain and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, have died in office. Their vice-presidents functioned as acting president until a new president was elected.Following Hussains death, two acting presidents held office until the new president, VarahagiriVenkata Giri, was elected. Varahagiri Venkata Giri himself, Hussains vice president, was thefirst acting president. When Giri resigned to take part in the presidential elections, he wassuperseded by Muhammad Hidayatullah as acting president.The current President is Pranab Mukherjee elected on 25 July 2012. Mukherjee held variousposts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, ForeignMinister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission. He originallycomes from West Bengal and is also the first Bengali to hold the post of the President.The ex- president, Pratibha Patil, who was in office till 25 July 2012, was elected as the 12thPresident of India in 2007. She is also the first woman to serve as President of India.
  2. 2. # NAME TENURE VICE PRESIDENT NOTE1 RAJENDRAPRASAD26 JAN 1950–13 MAY 1962SARVEPALLIRADHAKRISHNAN1. Rajendra Prasad won the 1stPresidential Elections held onMay 2, 1952 beating his nearest rival K.T. Shah2. Rajendra Prasad was the first predient of Independent Indiafrom Bihar.3. Rajendra Prasad also won the 2nd Presidential Electionsheld on May 6, 1957 beating his nearest rivals ChowdryHari Ram and Nagendra Narayan Das.4. Dr. Rajendra Prasad has been the only person to won andserved two terms as president of India.2SARVEPALLIRADHAKRISHNAN13 MAY 1962–13 MAY 1967ZAKIR HUSSAIN1. S. Radhakrishnan won the 3rdPresidential Elections heldon May 6, 1962 beating his nearest rival Chowdry HariRam.2. He also held the position as the Vice chancellor of AndhraUniversity and Banaras Hindu University.3 ZAKIR HUSSIAN13 MAY 1967-13 MAY 1969VARAHAGIRIVENKATA GIRI1. Zakir Hussain won the 4thpresidential Elections held onMay 6, 1967 beating his nearest rival Koka Subbarao.VARAHGIRVENKATA GIRI(Acting president)3 MAY 1969–20 JULY 19691. Giri was appointed as the Acting president of Indiafollowing the death of Zakir Hussain.2. He resigned in a few months to take part in thepresidential Elections.MUHAMMADHIDAYATULLAH(Acting President)20 JULY 1969–24 AUGUST19691. Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India andwas the Recipient of the Order of the British Empire.2. He served as the Acting President of India until GIRIwas elected as the President of India.4VARAHAGIRIVENKATA GIRI24 AUGUST1969–24 AUGUST1974GOPAL SWARUPPATHAK1. GIRI won the 5thpresidential Elections of India beatinghis nearest rival Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy.2. He was the Recipient of Bharat Ratna and hasfunctioned as Minister of Labour and HighCommissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka)
  3. 3. 5FAKHRUDDIN ALIAHMED24 AUGUST1974–11FEBRUARUY1977BASAPPADANAPPA JATTI1. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed won the 6thPresidentialElections beating his nearest rival Tridib Chauduri.BASAPPADANAPPA JATTI(Acting President)11FEBRUARY1977–25 JULY 19771. Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed’sterm and sworn in as the Acting President UponAhmed’s death.2. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the stateof Mysore.6NEELAMSANJEEVA REDDY(YoungestPresident)25 JULY 1977–25 JULY 1982MUHAMMADHIDAYATULLAH1. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy won the 7thPresidentialElections held on August 6,1977.2. Even though, 37 Candidates filled their Nominations, 36of them were rejected, leading to Neelam SanjeevaReddy being the only president of India winnignUnopposed.7GIANI ZAIL SINGH25 JULY 1982–25 JULY 1987RAMASWAMYVENKATARAMAN1. Zail Singh won 8th presidential elections of India onJuly 1982 over his nearest rival HR Khanna.2. In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chiefMinister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became UnionHome Minister.3. ZAIL singh was the first sikh to be the president ofIndia.8 RAMASWAMYVENKATARAMAN25 JULY 1987–25 JULY 1992SHANKAR DAYALSHARMA1. He won 9th presidential elections of Indiaon July 1987over his nearest rival V.R. Krishna Iyer.2. He was elected to independent India’s ProvisionalParliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950and eventually joined the central government, where hefirst served as Minister of Finance and Industry and lateras Minister of Defence.9SHANKAR DAYALSHARMA25 JULY 1992–25 JULY 1997KOCHERIL RAMANNARAYANAN1. He won 10th presidential elections of Indiaon 24 July1992 over his nearest rival G.G. Swell.2. Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and theIndian Minister for Communications. He has also servedas the governor of AndhraPradesh, Punjab andMaharashtra.
  4. 4. 10KOCHERIL RAMANNARAYANAN25 JULY 1997–25 JULY 2002KRISHAN KANT1. He won the 11thPresidential Elections 17 July 1997 overhis nearest rival T.N. Sheshan.2. Narayanan served as Indias ambassador to Thailand,Turkey, China and United States of America. Hereceived doctorates in Science and Law and was also achancellor in several universities. He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University11A.P.J. ABDULKALAM25 JULY 2002–25 JULY 2007BHAIRON SINGHSHEKHAWAT1. He won the 12thPresidential Elections on 15 July 2002over his Nearest rival Lakshmi Sehgal.2. Kalam, is a scientist who played a leading role in thedevelopment of Indias ballistic missile and nuclearweapons programs. He also received the Bharat Ratna.Kalam was affectionately known as the PeoplesPresident.12PRATIBHA PATIL25 JULY 2007–25 JULY 2012MOHAMMADHAMID ANSARI1. She won the 13thPresidential Elections of India on 19July 2007 over his nearest rival Bhairon singhshekhawat.2. Patil is the first woman to become the President of India.3. She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan.13PRANABMUKHERJEE25 JULY 2012– TILL DATE(INCUMBENT)MOHAMMADHAMID ANSARI1. He won the 14thPresidential elections of India on 19July 2012 defeating his nearest rival , former Speaker ofthe Lok Sabha,P. A. Sangma from Meghalaya.1415
  5. 5. 161718192021