The Henry Kravis Prize in Leadership


Published on

The Henry Kravis Prize in Leadership is presented at Claremont McKenna College by Henry Kravis and Marie-Josee Kravis.

Published in: Education, Technology, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

The Henry Kravis Prize in Leadership

  1. 1. The Henry Kravis Prize in Leadership is presented atClaremont McKenna College by Henry Kravis and Marie-JoseeKravis.
  2. 2. About the Kravis Prize• Established in 2006, the Henry R. Kravis Prize in Leadership conducts arigorous due diligence and selection process to choose an annual recipient.A formal Award Ceremony celebrates the recipient’s accomplishments and$250,000 is directed to a nonprofit organization designated by the recipient.The Prize aspires to impact the nonprofit sector overall by lauding strongperformance and sharing recipients’ best practices with others.• The Prize is presented and administered by Claremont McKenna College(CMC) and Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis. Mrs. Kravis, an economist, isa Senior Fellow of the Hudson Institute; Mr. Kravis, founding partner ofKohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co., is an alumnus and trustee of ClaremontMcKenna College. The Prize is affiliated with The Henry Kravis LeadershipInstitute, one of CMC’s ten distinguished research institutes.• Mission: The Kravis Prize identifies extraordinary leaders in the nonprofitsector, celebrates their accomplishments, and shares their best practiceswith others.
  3. 3. Henry Kravis• Henry Kravis began his career as vice president of KatyIndustries, a New York Stock Exchange company, wherehe designed and implemented their acquisition program.He then joined Bear Stearns & Co, became a partner andremained there until 1976, when he and two partnersfounded Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co. (KKR), a firm thatpioneered the development of private equity. Mr. Kravishas been involved in the largest and most successfulacquisitions via private equity. These include RJRNabisco, Beatrice, Safeway, Duracell, Owens-Illinois,Autozone, TXU, First Data, Toys R Us and Dollar General,among others. In total, his firm has completed over 165transactions with a total acquisition price of approximately$422 billion. KKR has 11 offices in the United States,Europe, Asia, and Australia.
  4. 4. Selection Committee• Marie-Josée Kravis -Selection Committee ChairSenior Fellow, The HudsonInstituteNew York City, New York• Harry T. McMahon ’75 P’08P’09 -Executive ViceChairman, Bank of AmericaMerrill LynchChairman, ClaremontMcKenna College Board ofTrusteesLos Angeles, California• Surin Pitsuwan ’72 - FormerSecretary GeneralASEANIndonesia• Amartya Sen - Thomas W.Lamont University Professor,Harvard University NobelLaureate, Economics (1998)Cambridge, Massachusetts• Ratan Tata - ChairmanTata GroupIndia• James D. Wolfensohn -ChairmanWolfensohn & Company, L.L.C.Former President, The WorldBankWashington, DC
  5. 5. The Process• The Henry R. Kravis Prize recognizes and celebratesextraordinary accomplishment and bold, visionaryleadership in the nonprofit sector. While the Prize typicallyrecognizes an outstanding individual, in exceptionalcircumstances the Prize may be awarded to anorganization.• The Prize Selection Committee annually reviews apool of candidates obtained from two sources:• Formal nominations from a select group of individuals who areinvited to serve as Nominators based on their knowledge andexperience in the nonprofit sector.• Suggestions of candidates submitted through the Kravis Prizewebsite.
  6. 6. Prize Recipients• 2013: Johann Olav Koss• 2012: Mothers2Mothers & Soraya Salti• 2011: Vicky Colbert• 2010: Pratham• 2009: Sakena Yacoobi• 2008: F.A.W.E.• 2007: Fazle Abed• 2006: Roy Prosterman
  7. 7. Sources• All information came from the Henry Kravis Prize inLeadership page at Claremont McKenna College.