Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Five Steps to Building an Analytics Driven Culture

235 views

Published on

Today's leading organizations know they must harness the value of analytics to compete in today's marketplace. Yet many are only beginning to scratch the surface in realizing the business value they want or expect. Data and analytics should be at the core of your business, driving strategy, innovation, and operational efficiencies. To realize this vision, you need a supporting culture and cast of executives, line-of-business employees, and partners. In this presentation, learn what a data and analytics culture looks like, what it takes to build, and the tools needed to be successful.

Josh Howard, Sr. Director, Product Management - Alteryx
John Tullis, Data Analyst - University of Edinburgh

Published in: Data & Analytics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Five Steps to Building an Analytics Driven Culture

  1. 1. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 COMPLETE SESSION SURVEYS ATTENTION 1 We want your feedback! Be sure to complete session surveys within the mobile app after this session. Surveys are anonymous, and we rely on your opinion for improvement
  2. 2. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 PRESENTED BY 5 STEPS TO BUILDING AN ANALYTICS DRIVEN CULTURE Josh Howard, Alteryx John Tullis, The University of Edinburgh
  3. 3. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS This presentation includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements may be identified by the use of terminology such as “believe,” “may,” “will,” “intend,” “expect,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “potential,” or “continue,” or other comparable terminology. All statements other than statements of historical fact could be deemed forward-looking, including any projections of product availability, growth and financial metrics and any statements regarding product roadmaps, strategies, plans or use cases. Although Alteryx believes that the expectations reflected in any of these forward-looking statements are reasonable, these expectations or any of the forward-looking statements could prove to be incorrect, and actual results or outcomes could differ materially from those projected or assumed in the forward-looking statements. Alteryx’s future financial condition and results of operations, as well as any forward-looking statements, are subject to risks and uncertainties, including but not limited to the factors set forth in Alteryx’s press releases, public statements and/or filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, especially the “Risk Factors” sections of Alteryx’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q. These documents and others containing important disclosures are available at www.sec.gov or in the “Investors” section of Alteryx’s website at www.alteryx.com. All forward-looking statements are made as of the date of this presentation and Alteryx assumes no obligation to update any such forward-looking statements. Any unreleased services or features referenced in this or other presentations, press releases or public statements are only intended to outline Alteryx’s general product direction. They are intended for information purposes only, and may not be incorporated into any contract. This is not a commitment to deliver any material, code, or functionality (which may not be released on time or at all) and customers should not rely upon this presentation or any such statements to make purchasing decisions. The development, release, and timing of any features or functionality described for Alteryx’s products remains at the sole discretion of Alteryx.
  4. 4. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 4 With Alteryx, I can solve the unsolvable… JOSH HOWARD When I use Alteryx, anything is possible. A L T E R Y X U S E R S I N C E 2 0 1 6
  5. 5. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 5 TODAY’S AGENDA 1. The analytic journey Building a framework for enterprise decision making. 2. Embark on self-service analytics Go from data to insights in a fast and easy way 3. Unleash advanced analytics Going from BI to AI 4. Analytic governance Managing self-service at scale 5. Tools, technologies and processes Deliver & enable insights that drive transformation across your entire business 6. Case Study
  6. 6. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 WHAT IS CULTURE? 6 “the set of shared attitudes, values, goals, and practices that characterizes an institution or organization”
  7. 7. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 QUANTIFYING THE VALUE OF DATA & ANALYTICS 7 99% COMPANIES TRYING TO SHIFT TO A DATA DRIVEN CULTURE 33% OF THESE COMPANIES HAVE SUCCEEDED Source: HBR
  8. 8. # A L T E R Y X 1 9 8 A DATA LAKE IS NOT A STRATEGY START WITH A PROBLEM
  9. 9. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 9
  10. 10. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 10
  11. 11. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 26 HOURS 8 HOURS6 BILLION $60 BILLION DOLLARS Hours per year spent working In spreadsheets Per week wasted working In spreadsheets Per week wasted repeating the same data tasks Per year wasted on analysts doing repetitive manual work in spreadsheets Source: IDC: The State of Self- Service Data Preparation and Analysis Using Spreadsheets ANALYTIC WASTE
  12. 12. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 LEVERAGE SELF-SERVICE TOOLS TO DEMOCRATIZE ANALYTICS 12 • Powerful data & analytic workbench with 250+ tools • Enrich with Spatial, Demographic and Census data – including TomTom • Wide range of preconfigured statistical and predictive models
  13. 13. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 13 Save time and deliver higher-value insights Mitigate costly errors by automating workflows Answer more questions with greater transparency Conduct analysis in a single platform instead of disparate tools Demonstrate value and continue to develop professionally
  14. 14. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 14
  15. 15. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 Business User 300M Advanced Spreadsheet + SQL Users 20-30M DS ~1M Business Users >350m Citizen Data Scientists 50M+ Data Scientists 1.5-2M 2015 2025 IS TOMORROW’S CITIZEN DATA SCIENTIST TODAY’S PREP & BLEND USER
  16. 16. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 SOURCING & DEPLOYING ANALYTIC TALENT. 16 “Through 2020, the number of citizen data scientists will grow 5X faster than the number of expert data scientists.” – Gartner
  17. 17. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 DATA-DRIVEN TRANSFORMATION P R E D I C T I V E & P R E S C R I P T I V E A N A LY T I C S ( A I ) • Financial forecasting • Optimized staffing • Supply Chain Risk • Automated reporting • IT use monitoring • Accounting reconciliation • Quality correlations • Attrition forecast • Fraud identification • Cyber threat detection • Legal risk • Inventory management • Predictive maintenance • Pricing optimization • Customer targeting • Tax calculations • What player to draft • Shipping optimization • Next best offer • Churn analytics • Optimal pricing • Performance management Endless Possibilities • Candidate screening • Call center training • Customer satisfaction drivers • Route optimization • Estimated time of arrival • Energy optimization • Fuel use optimization • Target customer lists • Trade area performance • Store location analysis • Net promoter analysis Frequently the highest monetization comes from prescriptive models, automatically driving business actions and modeling to drive insights.
  18. 18. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 CODE FRIENDLY TOOLS 18 • Developed to bridge the gap between the analyst and data scientist • R, Python code support • New machine learning tools and assisted modeling
  19. 19. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 19 Leverage code free and code friendly tools to inform strategy Improve collaboration between data science and line of business teams Access predictive/forward-looking analysis in the line of business Maximize value of existing analytic talent and use every model to its full potential Create more citizen data scientists across the organization
  20. 20. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 20
  21. 21. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 QUANTIFYING THE VALUE OF DATA & ANALYTICS 21 19% CEO’s SATISFIED WITH THE VALUE GENERATED FROM INVESTMENTS IN DATA & ANALYTICS 25% OF EMPLOYESS HAVE ACCESS TO DATA AND ANALYTICS FOR DECISION MAKING Source: Gartner
  22. 22. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 DON’T SACRIFICE CONTROL FOR SELF-SERVICE. OR VICE-VERSA. 22 DISCOVER Disparate Data / Apps CATALOG Lineage / Governance COLLABORATE Crowdsource / Visibility I N S I G H T S
  23. 23. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 ACCESSIBLE, CURATED CONTENT 23
  24. 24. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 24 Uncover answers with cross-functional expertise Reduce overall resources and automate processes Access data and analytics at any time Empower employees to make decisions with less oversight Break down data silos and provide a centralized platform for decision making
  25. 25. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 25
  26. 26. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 ALTERYX MISSION UNIFY DATA & ANALYTICS PROCESSES within enterprises Continue to EMPOWER ANALYSTS BRIDGE THE GAP between data science & business value Create more CITIZEN DATA SCIENTISTS BREAK DOWN BARRIERS with IT
  27. 27. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 27 1. LEVERAGE OFFICE HOURS. 2. GET YOUR USERS ALTERYX CERTIFIED. 3. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF FREE INTERACTIVE LEARNING. 4. LEARN FROM OTHERS AT ALTERYX USER GROUPS. START ONE. 5. PARTICIPATE IN AN ALTERYX LUNCH- N-LEARN DRIVE TRANSFORMATION THROUGHOUT
  28. 28. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9©2018 Alteryx, Inc. 28 Build the right data foundation Embed analytics into every layer of the organization Scale analytic talent as the organization transforms Explore innovation outside the enterprise Reduce the overall time to value
  29. 29. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 29 JOHN TULLIS A L T E R Y X U S E R S I N C E 2 0 1 1 John.Tullis@ed.ac.uk
  30. 30. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 EDINBURGH STUDENTS
  31. 31. UID First Name Surname Date of Birth Gender Email Course Date Applied Postcode 1000001 Maksymilian Paterson 11/05/1994 M maksymilian.paterson@optusnet.com.au Geology 14/02/2018 EH4 6NT 1000002 Evie Simpson 17/10/1996 F evie.simpson@yahoo.com Ornithology 13/03/2018 G12 9TT 1000003 Olivia Wallace 14/12/1988 F olivia.wallace@gmail.com Religion 21/03/2018 PH1 4QG 1000004 Gary Jones 19/01/1996 M gary.jones@web.de Law 27/09/2017 EH54 8AU 1000005 Lucy Johnson 13/06/1989 F lucy.johnson@yahoo.com Religion 11/03/2018 DD1 5PE 1000006 Luna Reid 21/07/1998 F luna.reid@gmail.com Geology 24/11/2017 ML10 6NL 1000007 Rudransh Mckay 11/06/1992 M rudransh.mckay@rediffmail.com Religion 27/10/2017 EH53 0JQ 1000008 Zarah Martin 18/07/1998 F zarah.martin@aol.com Wildlife Management 26/12/2017 PA37 1PU 1000009 Zoe Gordon 14/07/1998 F zoe.gordon@gmail.com Architecture 11/09/2017 G52 2ED 1000010 Eden Johnston 07/11/1997 M eden.johnston@hotmail.fr Conservation 08/01/2018 KA11 4GZ 1000011 Stephen-Paul Galbraith 26/05/1995 M stephen-paul.galbraith@yahoo.com Ornithology 08/03/2018 AB12 3DB 1000012 Emilia Maclean 22/07/1989 F emilia.maclean@gmail.com Geology 30/12/2017 AB14 0WF 1000013 Lewis Rooney 03/08/1989 M lewis.rooney@yahoo.com Law 28/12/2017 PA2 8AU 1000014 Hayley Cameron 18/07/1996 F hayley.cameron@gmail.com Geology 12/11/2017 DG12 6QR 1000015 Ronni-Louise Mcguire 27/08/1996 F ronni-louise.mcguire@gmail.com Architecture 22/12/2017 AB24 5PT 1000016 Caroline Mcphail 09/03/1995 F caroline.mcphail@hotmail.com Architecture 14/03/2018 G82 5EP 1000017 Gracie Thomson 16/04/1998 F gracie.thomson@yahoo.fr Religion 23/01/2018 EH39 4QE 1000018 Louie Hampton 27/12/1996 M louie.hampton@gmail.com Architecture 25/11/2017 AB56 1QU 1000019 Jude Stewart 28/09/1987 M jude.stewart@yahoo.fr Law 24/11/2017 KY8 2JF 1000020 Ellie Herd 28/04/1992 F ellie.herd@gmail.com Economics 05/08/2017 KA1 3DZ 1000021 Lailla Mcbain 15/05/1997 F lailla.mcbain@gmail.com Engineering 02/02/2018 DD4 8XE 1000022 Ruairidh Harris 29/10/1994 M ruairidh.harris@yahoo.com Ornithology 03/11/2017 PA6 7HP 1000023 Emrys Goldie 25/12/1997 M emrys.goldie@gmail.com Law 12/12/2017 IV19 1GD 1000024 Ruben Allison 16/08/1992 M ruben.allison@frontiernet.net Ornithology 03/11/2017 ML9 3NJ 1000025 Daniel Elder 27/01/1998 M daniel.elder@hotmail.com Law 23/10/2017 AB45 3ZP 1000026 Tegan-Louise Harrower 09/03/1994 F tegan-louise.harrower@gmail.com Geology 30/09/2017 G3 7HD 1000027 Michael Taylor 20/01/1992 M michael.taylor@hotmail.fr Geology 01/09/2017 DG8 9HJ 1000028 Zara Macritchie 02/06/1997 F zara.macritchie@hotmail.com Religion 01/11/2017 ML3 0FG 1000029 Iris Walker 28/01/1997 F iris.walker@gmx.net Law 10/10/2017 EH8 7RA 1000030 Zachary Campbell 28/10/1997 M zachary.campbell@hotmail.co.uk Law 03/01/2018 KA5 6LA 1000031 Callan Moore 07/04/1997 M callan.moore@gmail.com Law 21/12/2017 KA3 3AW
  32. 32. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 CREATE YOUR CULTURE 33
  33. 33. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 YOU’RE NOT ALONE! 34
  34. 34. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 35 CREATING A CULTURE OF ANALYTICS IS POSSIBLE AND IT STARTS WITH YOU. FIVE KEY POINTS Leverage self-service tools to democratize analytics. Unlock the real value through advanced analytics Don’t sacrifice governance for self-service. Deliver & enable insights to all decision makers. Implement the right tools, technologies and processes. 1 2 4 5 3
  35. 35. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 QUESTIONS &ANSWERS jhoward@alteryx.com 36 @joshoward www.linkedin/in/joshoward JOSH HOWARD John.Tullis@ed.ac.uk JOHN TULLIS
  36. 36. # A L T E R Y X E U 1 9 COMPLETE SESSION SURVEYS ATTENTION 37 We want your feedback! Be sure to complete session surveys within the mobile app after this session. Surveys are anonymous, and we rely on your opinion for improvement

×