India Physical Features


Published on

The Northern Mountains
The Northern Plains
The Peninsular Plateaus
The Coastal Plains & Islands

Published in: Education, Travel, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

India Physical Features

  1. 1. Geography Physical Features of India Presented By : Meera & Hetashvi 6.A
  2. 2. • The Northern Mountains • The Northern Plains • The Peninsular Plateaus • The Coastal Plains & Islands
  3. 3. The Northern Plains The Northern Fertile Plain lies to the south of Himalayan Region. It is also called the Gangetic Plain. It is a vast plain and level land between the Himalayas in the North and Deccan Plateau in the South. From Punjab in the West to Assam in the East, this plain is about 2400 km long and its width varies from 150 km in the East to about 300 km in the West. It includes the States of Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, some parts of Assam and the Union Territory of Delhi. The soil of this plain is built of the sediments brought down by the rivers from Himalayas.
  4. 4. The Northern Mountains The Northern mountains include the Himalaya and the Karakoram mountain ranges. The Himalaya is the highest mountain range in the world. It stretches from Jammu Kashmir in the west Arunachal Pradesh in the east. The 8,848 metres high Mount Everest, in the Himalaya mountains, is the highest peak in the world. It is in Nepal. The Himalaya mountains consist of three parallel ranges. They are: The Great Himalaya
  5. 5. The Peninsular Plateau  The peninsular plateau is the largest and the oldest of all the physiographic divisions. Its north-west limit is marked by the Aravalli range and its northern extreme has the raised Bundelkhand. At its western and eastern ends are the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats respectively. It has the shape of an inverted triangle. The plateau can be divided as follows. • The Central Plateaus
  6. 6. The Coastal Plains And Islands The Coastal Plain is divided into 2 parts  The Eastern Ghats &  The Western Ghats
  7. 7. The Eastern Ghats The Northern part of eastern coastal plain is called The Northern Circars and the southern part is called the Coromandel Coast . Rivers such as the Mahanadi , Godavari , Krishna and Kaveri have formed fertile deltas along the Eastern
  8. 8. The Western Ghats The Northern part of the western coastal plain is called Konkani coast and the Southern part is called the Coromandel coast . Rivers such as Mahanadi , Godavari ,Krishna Kaveri have formed fertile deltas along the Eastern coastal plain.
  9. 9. Islands Apart from several islands found along the coast of India there are two main groups of islands. One of them is the Lakshadweep islands in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal. Minicoy, with an area of about 5 sq. km, is the largest island in the Lakshadweep group. The Andaman and Nicobar group stretches for a distance of about 600 km.Most of these islands are mountainous and are covered with thick forest