Technology Your Students Can Use

415 views

Published on

Kristin Carroll- Communities In Schools North Texas
Texas ACE conference 2013
Austin, Texas

Published in: Technology, Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Technology Your Students Can Use

  1. 1. Presented by: Kristin Carroll Site Coordinator Lakeland Elementary Lewisville, Texas
  2. 2. Getting Started  Voki http://www.voki.com/pickup.php?scid=8387386&heig ht=267&width=200  Weebly Website  www.weebly.com
  3. 3. Student Websites  Using www.symballo.com you can create a balloon that shows all the websites students are allowed to visit.  You can also access the websites that students can use for projects in the classroom.
  4. 4. Reading/ Writing Website Address Uses Story Starters http://www.scholastic.com/teac hers/story-starters/ Gives ideas for writers workshop Reading Brain http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.htm l Allowing students to read books online One true media http://www.onetruemedia.com/ Make a PDF book study or make a movie Starfall http://www.starfall.com/ Prek-1 books Time for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/ News for students BookFlix http://auth.grolier.com/login/bo okflix/login.php Books for grades k-5 StoryBird http://storybird.com/ Create and read visual stories
  5. 5. Student Ideas Story Starter Story Bird
  6. 6. Spelling Website Address Uses Wordle www.wordle.net/ Using words to create pictures Tagxedo www.tagxedo.com For older students using words to create pictures Spelling City http://www.spellingcity.c om/ Students are able to study their spelling words
  7. 7. Student Projects Wordle Tagxedo
  8. 8. Math Website Address Uses AplusMath http://www.aplusmath.com/ To help improve a students math skills Create a Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/crea teAgraph/default.aspx Students will be able to create different types of graphs AAA Math http://www.aaamath.com / Interactive math lessons divided by grade level
  9. 9. Create a Graph
  10. 10. Social Studies National Geographic Kids http://kids.nationalgeogr aphic.com/kids/ Allows students to study different countries U.S Government Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov /k-2/index.html Describes our government by grade level Prezi http://prezi.com/ Web connecting concepts
  11. 11. Science Website Address Uses Solar System Exploration http://solarsystem.nasa.g ov/kids/index.cfm Visuals and information about the solar system NASA’s Climate Kids http://climatekids.nasa.g ov/ To explain Earth’s Climate Science Kids http://www.sciencekids.c o.nz/experiments.html Easy experiments for students
  12. 12. Student Search Engines Website Address Uses Kids Click http://www.kidsclick.org/ Elementary Sweet Search http://4me.sweetsearch.c om/ Website designed for researching ideas Kidrex http://4me.sweetsearch.c om/ Elementary
  13. 13. Kristin Carroll carrollkd@lisd.net

×