Political system of india


Published on

Published in: News & Politics
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Political system of india

  1. 1. Political System Of India Abad Agha 195-FSS/BSSOC/F12 Sociology International Islamic University Islamabad
  2. 2. The official name of India is Republic of India. New Delhi is the capital of India. The Republic of India has three principal short names, in both official and popular English usage, each of which is historically significant. These names are India, Bharat and Hindustan. It is the 17th largest country by area, the second largest country with population of 1.2 billion and the most populous democracy in the world. Bounded by Indian ocean on the south, Arabian sea on the south-west, and the bay of Bengal on the south-east. It shares land borders with Pakistan to the west, china, Bhutan and Nepal to the southeast. In the Indian ocean India is in the vicinity of Sri lanka and Maldives. India is the home of world Four religions- Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, Christianity, Sikhism. Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism are the religions which are originated here. It remained the colony of Britain from the mid of 19th century till it became an independent nation in 1947 after struggle for independence that was marked by nonviolent resistance that was led by Mahatma Gandhi.
  3. 3. Federal System:       Federal system of India is governed in terms of the constitution of India. India is also referred to as the Sovereign, Secular, Democratic and has a Parliamentary form of Government. The nation is basically the union of 28 states and 7 Union territories that works according to the Indian constitution, which was adopted on the 16th of November 1949. President is the head of the Executive union. The Prime Minister is the head of the council of ministers. The real political and social power resides in the hands of the Prime Minister.
  4. 4. President:       The president is elected by the members of both houses of parliament and legislative Assemblies of state. President term of office is five years. President has the power of proclaiming emergency in the country if he/she is not satisfied with the situation of the country. President can assume any of the functions of the government when there is a failure of constitutional machinery in the state. The president also appoints the Prime Minister of the country. The President of India also holds Executive, Judicial and Legislative powers. Vice President:  The Vice-President is elected in the same way as the President, and holds office for five years. The Vice-President is Ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
  5. 5. Council of Ministers:    The Council of Ministers comprises Cabinet Ministers, Minister of States (independent charge or otherwise) and Deputy Ministers. . The Cabinet Secretariat has an important coordinating role in decision making at highest level and operates under direction of Prime Minister. The Legislative Arm of the Union, called Parliament, consists of the President, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. All legislation requires consent of both houses of parliament. Rajya Sabha:    The Rajya Sabha consists of 245 members. Of these, 233 represent states and union territories and 12 members are nominated by the President. . Elections to the Rajya Sabha are indirect; members are elected by the elected members of Legislative Assemblies of the concerned states. The Rajya Sabha is not subject to dissolution, one third of its members retire every second year.
  6. 6. Lok Sabha:   The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of universal adult suffrage. the Lok Sabha consists of 545 members with 2 members nominated by the President to represent the Anglo-Indian Community. State Governments:    The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and seven Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him. Through a Constitutional amendment in Parliament, the Union Territory of Delhi is now called the National Capital Territory of Delhi from 1 February 1992. Political System:   A recognized political party has been classified as a National Party or a State Party. If a political party is recognized in four or more states, it is considered as a National Party.
  7. 7.  Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal, Communist Party of India and Communist Party of India (Marxist) are the prominant National Parties in the Country. Telugu Desam in Andhra Pradesh, Asom Gana Parishad in Assam, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha in Bihar, Maharashtrwad Gomantak Party in Goa, National Conference in Jammu and Kashmir, Muslim League in Kerala, Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, Akali Dal in Punjab, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in Tamil Nadu, Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh and All India Forward Block in West Bengal are the prominent state parties. Judicial System:      The Supreme Court is the apex court in the country. The High Court stands at the head of the state's judicial administration. Each state is divided into judicial districts presided over by a district and sessions judge, who is the highest judicial authority in a district. Below him, there are courts of civil jurisdiction, known in different states as munsifs, sub-judges, civil judges and the like. Similarly, criminal judiciary comprises chief judicial magistrate and judicial magistrates of first and second class.
  8. 8. Supreme Court:      The Supreme Court has original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. The Constitution gives an extensive original jurisdiction to the Supreme Court to enforce Fundamental Rights. The President may consult the Supreme Court on any question of fact or law of public importance. The Supreme Court of India comprises of the Chief Justice and not more than 25 other Judges appointed by the President. Judges hold office till 65 years of age. High Courts:    There are 18 High Courts in the country, three having jurisdiction over more than one state. The Chief Justice of a High Court is appointed by the President in consultation with the Chief Justice of India and the Governor of the state. Each High Court has powers of superintendence over all courts within its jurisdiction. High Court judges retire at the age of 62.
  9. 9.   The jurisdiction as well as the laws administered by a High Court can be altered both by the Union and State Legislatures. Most High Courts have only appellate jurisdiction.
  10. 10. Election Commission:        Established on 25 jan.1950 1st election was on 1952 1760 lakh people took part in which 85% are illiterate and 15% are literate Shiv Kumar sen was the 1st chief election commissioner. V.S Sampath is the current election commissioner of India. World’s busiest election commission. Average election per year-5.
  11. 11.      It is the only state in India which enjoys special autonomy under the article 370 of constitution of India. According to which no law can be enacted by the parliament of India excepts in field of defense, communication and foreign policy. Supreme court jurisdiction has been extended over J&K. Indians from other state can’t purchase property in J&K. Under armed forces act, Indian armed forces has been enforced.
  12. 12. Thanks For Attention Any Question!