Alessio Workshop: Building great adult programs handout 1

677 views

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
677
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
2
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
9
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Alessio Workshop: Building great adult programs handout 1

  1. 1. Building Great Adult Programs Amy Alessio amyalessio@sbcglobal.net What kills great programs? You can’t control these!  Change in funding  Competition in community  Change of staff with no replacement, or added on to already busy staff  Key participants change  Change in administration  Perception of same old thing Book and Programming Trends  Multimedia  Digital engagement  Popular subjects  Not just for summer or at the library  Multigenerational  Low cost, short prep time Multimedia: Motivated by Movies (or TV)  Ideas  Themed Book/Popular movie party  Watch movie, then trivia (kids or YA movies/books)  Discuss movie, make books available  Take adults to movie or meet, trivia quiz online Issues  Not enough copies  Getting license for movie  People would rather watch movie than have book discussion  Timing is hard with programming planning deadlines Example: John Green Party  Purchased used copies, pbks for prizes  New adults: met at theater  Teens: John Green party with trivia, book prizes, sparkling grape juice, celebration  Bookmark for adults on TFIOS read-alikes (like Sparks) and John Green links
  2. 2.  Display with Kleenex  Book discussion before movie  Online trivia for all or poll on who is going to see it and what age range Multimedia: Book Trailers & Video Booktalks  Classes on short movie editing  Submit book trailers or short booktalks on themes  Feature trailers on social media  Guess the book from the trailer game  www.jameskennedy.com/90-second-newbery Digital Engagement: Easy, Visual, By Topic, Where They Are • Scrolling What’s New? • Email newsletters by topic (staff run) • Twitter • Original Goodreads shelves • Pinterest genres Facebook Party  Free to set up  Easy to run  Mail or email prizes  Reading kickoff  Guests host From Bellingham, MA: Our staff reads a wide variety of books. The genre that each staff person tends to read is listed below. Please click on the link to the staff person’s name to go to their Pinterest Board on the Library Pinterest Page! http://www.bellinghamlibrary.org/home/services/reading-groups-and-suggestions/staff-picks/ Digital Engagement: Book Discussions on Social Media?  Book suggestions on Facebook at a set time by inquiry  Twitter book stumper questions  Summer reading reviews: tweet with library hashtag  Email subscriptions such as Dear Reader  Quick comments
  3. 3. Digital Engagement: Low Tech  Polls  Surveys  Website summer reading  Book Club kits Beyond Summer  Read a Latte all year round  Reading challenges – no registration!  Winter reading?  Allow programs to count  Turn programs into further contests  Send photos wearing library shirt  How many items in library tote? Beyond the Library  Cafes  Restaurants  Movie theaters  Empty mall spaces  Park districts – stretch your mind  Outside Multigenerational: Storytelling about books  When older adults read favorites  Why everyone liked Harry Potter  Mark favorite read alouds by parents  Family reading programs Low Cost and Short Prep: Audio Showcase  Introduce and play clips from 7-9 titles in an hour  People vote on best readers  Review downloading audio  Raffle inexpensive MP3 player Low Cost: Regular Patrons are your Street Team • Mention programs on social media for drawing, count as reading titles • Photo on social media of self at library programs for entries
  4. 4. • Selfies of strangest place reading (G rated…) • Reading library brochure where? • Download and review for drawing Low Cost: Prizes  Book themed prizes: things to mark our places, light our pages, carry our piles, hold our beverage or keep it hot while reading, something to write new titles on, clear fines  Big prizes to raffle: gift certificates to book stores, coffee shops (places to read), players for audio  Donated coupons: easy to handle Low Cost and Short Prep: Book or Media Exchanges and Meet and Greet • Discuss favorites and trade (also works for staff break time) • Drop in • Host program and clean out book sale room at the same time • Possible charity fund raiser Book Tastings and Fairs  Great for book clubs as well as patrons  Run book trailers or audios for showcase  Feature state or local authors in person or their work Book Club Resources: Novel Treats  Book Club Cook Book  Sites o Reading Group Choices (several years) from http://www.readinggroupchoices.com o Reading Groups Cook Up Themed Meals …by Beth D’Addodano http://articles.philly.com/2013-01-25/news/36529229_1_book-club-book-groups-food- items o A Feast for Fiction: Donna Hay’s Book-Club Meeting Menu by Kara Zuaro http://www.epicurious.com/articlesguides/entertaining/partiesevents/bookclub o Reading Group Guides http://www.readinggroupguides.com Ideas for Meetings Food  Themes, Appetizing Reads
  5. 5.  Finger Foods  Eating Out Before/After  Recipe Exchange  Books with Recipes  Healthy Choices  Beverages  Ironic Choices Books  Book Club in a Bag  By genre or author instead of title  Favorite recent read, audio  Favorite Childhood Read, Classic  E-reader title  Nonfiction – even cookbooks  Virtual Book Clubs/Recipe Exchange Selections About Clubs  Bunco Babes titles – Geraci  Bunco Babes mysteries – Oust  Something on the Side– Weber Bad Food is Good Memories, from In the Castle of the Flynns, by Michael Raleigh “A typical dinner was chicken or pork chops, potatoes, sometimes soup, a vegetable. And jello. In the years we were together she served me jello perhaps two thousand times, and it was always lemon; perhaps she found the color soothing, or had heard lemon jello had magical properties.” Ideas for Re-Using Restarting and Resusictating • Give it a chance • Tweak it • Make one program work over and over • Librarian exchange or different staff • Recycle programs and prizes Popular Theme: 50 Shades of Racy Reading • Mood music
  6. 6. • Raffled candles, chocolate, books • Tasted bits of chocolates from drug stores, voted • Served bubbling grape juice • Varied subjects • Variation: Put list online with atmosphere suggestions Remember These? Madame Bovary, Peyton Place 50 Shades Readalikes: 50 Shades of Chicken by F.L. Fowler Recycle the Theme  New Adults: Pair junk food with wine during presentation  Not Classics but Banned Book Bonanza  Retro Books and Candies by Decade  Guess the Decade online game  Delicious Reads with same chocolate tasting  Sweet reads Delicious Reads Sample: Caterers, critics, collectors Delicious Reads Samples: Authors with Cookbooks Sweet Reads Samples: All Time Classic Romances Sweet Reads Samples: Cooking Your Way to Romance Sweet Reads Samples: Fun and Easy Cupcake & Cookie Decorating Techniques  Snowballs  Tie-Dye  Stencils  Frosting Flowers ‘Tis the Season to be Reading : Yule Love These too!  Any popular program can have a seasonal or regional variation (include cookbook, history and craft titles on themes as well)  Example: Scary Vintage Reads and Treats  Christmas Carol and Variations Each Successful Program Leads to More Ideas
  7. 7.  Holiday: Resolutions or New You Programs; Regional, International or Historical Programs  Crafts: Crafty Reads; Craft Showcase to gauge interest in more Long Running Themes WWI & WWII  Teas for different ages  Reading by Decade New You:  Money Smart  Online fitness fair Travel:  Read around the country or world  Online language learning resources Crafty Reads Samples: Crafting is Big Business Crafty Reads Samples: Vintage fashions Putting Together Presentations & Programs Quickly  Use older media titles  Existing lists  Theme music, prizes, snacks  Show trailers or movies, library photos  Short lists Add Humor  Strangest books in library or steamy covers as themes  Holidays gone wrong  Offshoots – 50 shades cookbook  Nonfiction or fiction to mix up themes

×