Planets by khezar


Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Planets by khezar

  1. 1. Earth (or the Earth) is the third planet from the Sun, and the densest and fifth-largest of the eight planets in the Solar System. It is also the largest of the Solar planets. It is sometime by its Latin name, Terra.[note rmed 4.54 billion years ago, and life appeared on its surface within one billion Venus is the second planet from years.[21] The planet is the Sun, orbiting it every 224.7 home to millions Earth days.[9] The planet is of species, including named after Venus, the Roman goddess of love and beauty. After the Moon, it is the brightest natural object in the night Mercury is the innermost and sky, reaching an apparent smallest planet in the Solar magnitude of −4.6, bright System,[a] orbiting the Sun once enough to cast shadows. every 87.969 Earth days. The orbit of MercuryMars is thefourth planet from the Sun inthe Solar System. Theplanet is named afterthe Roman god ofwar, Mars. It is oftendescribed as the "Red
  2. 2. Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest planet within the Solar System.[13] It is a gas giant with mass one-thousandth that of the Sun but is two and a half times the mass of all the other planets in our Solar System combined. Jupiter is classified as a gas giant along withSaturn, Uranus and Neptune. Together, these four planets are sometimes referred to as the Jovian or outer planeSaturn is the sixth planet from the Sun andthe second largest planet in the SolarSystem, after Jupiter. Saturn is namedafter the Roman god Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun. It has the third-largest planetary radius and fourth-largest planetary mass in the Solar System. It is named after the ancient Greek deity of the sky Uranus (Ancient Greek: Οὐρανός), the father of Cronus (Saturn) and grandfather of Zeus (Jupiter).
  3. 3. The Sun is the star at the center of the Solar System. It is almost perfectly spherical and consists of hot plasma interwoven with magnetic fields.[10][11] It has a diameter of about 1,392,000 km, about 109 times that of Earth, and its mass (about 2×1030 kilograms, 330,000 times that of Earth) accounts for about 99.86% of the total mass of the Solar System.[12] Chemically, about three quarters of the Suns mass consists of Neptune is the eighth and farthest planet from the Sun in the Solar System. Named for the Roman god of the sea, it is the fourth-largest planet by diameter and the third largest by mass. Neptune is 17 times the mass of Earth and is slightly more massive than its near- twin Uranus, which is 15 times the mass of Earth but not as dense.[12] On average, Neptune orbits the Sun at a distance of 30.1 AU, approximately 30 times the Earth–Sun distance. Its astronomical symbol is ♆, a stylized version of the god Neptunes trident.Pluto, formal designation 134340 Pluto, is the second-most-massiveknown dwarf planet in the Solar System (after Eris) and the tenth-most-massive body observed directly orbiting the Sun. Originally classifiedas the ninth planet from the Sun, Pluto was recategorized as a dwarfplanet and plutoid due to the discovery that it is one of several largebodies within the newly charted Kuiper belt.[note 9]Like other members of the Kuiper belt, Pluto is composed primarily ofrock and ice and is r The Moon is Earths only known natural satellite,[nb 4][6] and the fifth largest satellite in the Solar System. It is the largest natural satellite of a planet in the Solar System relative to the size of its primary, having a quarter the diameter of Earth and 1⁄81 its mass.[nb 5] The Moon is the second