Published on

Published in: Spiritual, Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide


  1. 1. Japan By: Amber C.
  2. 2. I Choose the topic of Buddhism because it is a very interesting teaching.
  3. 3. What is Buddhism? <ul><li>a religion represented by the many groups (especially in Asia) that profess various forms of the Buddhist doctrine and that venerate Buddha </li></ul><ul><li>the teaching of Buddha that life is permeated with suffering caused by desire, that suffering ceases when desire ceases, and that enlightenment obtained through right conduct and wisdom and meditation releases one from desire and suffering and rebirth </li></ul>
  4. 4. Hymns and Prayers On Opening the Sutra The Dharma incomparably profound and exquisite Is rarely met with, even in hundreds of thousands of millions of kalpas; We are now permitted to see it, to listen to it, to accept and hold it; May we truly understand the meaning of the Tathagata’s words! Confession All the evil karma ever committed by me since of old, On account of greed, anger, and folly, which have no beginning, Born of my body, mouth, and thought -- I now make full open confession of it. The Four Great Vows However innumerable beings are, I vow to save them; However inexhaustible the passions are, I vow to extinguish them; However immeasurable the Dharmas are, I vow to master them; However incomparable the Buddha-truth is, I vow to attain it.
  5. 5. The Four Noble truths <ul><li>1. Life is suffering; </li></ul><ul><li>2. Suffering is due to attachment; </li></ul><ul><li>3. Attachment can be overcome; </li></ul><ul><li>4. There is a path for accomplishing this. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Explanation of The Truths <ul><li>1. Suffering is perhaps the most common translation for the Sanskrit word duhkha, which can also be translated as imperfect, stressful, or filled with anguish. </li></ul><ul><li>2. Attachment is a common translation for the word trishna, which literally means thirst and is also translated as desire, clinging, greed, craving, or lust. Because we and the world are imperfect, impermanent, and not separate, we are forever &quot;clinging&quot; to things, each other, and ourselves, in a mistaken effort at permanence. </li></ul><ul><li>3. Perhaps the most misunderstood term in Buddhism is the one which refers to the overcoming of attachment: nirvana. It literally means &quot;blowing out,&quot; .Actually, it refers to the letting go of clinging, hatred, and ignorance, and the full acceptance of imperfection, impermanence, and interconnectedness. </li></ul><ul><li>4. And then there is the path, called dharma. Buddha called it the middle way, which is understood as meaning the middle way between such competing philosophies as materialism and idealism, or hedonism and asceticism. . </li></ul>
  7. 7. The Eightfold Path <ul><li>1. Right view is the true understanding of the four noble truths. </li></ul><ul><li>2. Right aspiration is the true desire to free oneself from attachment, ignorance, and hatefulness. </li></ul><ul><li>These two are referred to as prajña, or wisdom. </li></ul><ul><li>3. Right speech involves abstaining from lying, gossiping, or hurtful talk. </li></ul><ul><li>4. Right action involves abstaining from hurtful behaviors, such as killing, stealing, and careless sex. </li></ul><ul><li>5. Right livelihood means making your living in such a way as to avoid dishonesty and hurting others, including animals. </li></ul><ul><li>These three are refered to as shila, or morality. </li></ul><ul><li>6. Right effort is a matter of exerting oneself in regards to the content of one's mind: Bad qualities should be abandoned and prevented from arising again; Good qualities should be enacted and nurtured. </li></ul><ul><li>7. Right mindfulness is the focusing of one's attention on one's body, feelings, thoughts, and consciousness in such a way as to overcome craving, hatred, and ignorance. </li></ul><ul><li>8. Right concentration is meditating in such a way as to progressively realize a true understanding of imperfection, impermanence, and non-separateness. </li></ul><ul><li>The last three are known as samadhi, or meditation. </li></ul>
  8. 8. The Paramita <ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><li>1.  Generosity (P: dana) 2.  Moral discipline (P: sila) 3.  Patience and tolerance (P: khanti)  4.  Wisdom or (full-) consciousness (P: pañña) 5.  Energy (P: viriya) 6.  Renunciation (P: nekkhamma) 7.  Truthfulness (P: sacca) 8.  Determination (P: adhitthana) 9.  Loving kindness (P: metta) 10.  Equanimity (P: upekkha) </li></ul><ul><li>1.Generosity (dana) 2.  Moral discipline (shila) 3.  Patience and tolerance (kshanti)  4.  Energy (virya) 5.  Meditation (dhyana) 6. Wisdom or (full-) consciousness (prajña) 7.  Skilled methods (upaya) 8.  Vow or resolution (pranidhana) 9.  The ten powers or special abilities (dashabala) 10.  Knowledge (jñana </li></ul>The Perfections or Virtues -- noble qualities that we should all strive to achieve.  Here are two versions:
  9. 9. The Brahma Vihara The Brahma Vihara are the four &quot;sublime states&quot; to which we all should aspire.  They are the great signs of the Bodhisattva, who vows to remain in samsara -- this world of pain and sorrow -- until all creation can be brought into the state of Nirvana together. <ul><li>Maitri is caring, loving kindness displayed to all you meet. </li></ul><ul><li>2. Karuna is compassion or mercy, the kindness shown to those who suffer. </li></ul><ul><li>3. Mudita is sympathetic joy, being happy for others, without a trace of envy. </li></ul><ul><li>4. Upeksa is equanimity or peacefulness, the ability to accept the ups and downs of life with equal dispassion. </li></ul>
  10. 10. The four vices: 1.  The destruction of life 2.  Stealing 3.  Sexual misconduct 4.  Lying The four things which lead to evil: 1.  Desire, meaning greed, lust, clinging 2.  Anger and hatred 3.  Ignorance 4.  Fear and anxiety The six ways one dissipates ones wealth: 1.  Drinking and drugs 2.  Carousing late at night 3.  Wasting away your time at shows 4.  Gambling 5.  Keeping bad company 6.  Laziness Other Things Budda Believed …
  11. 11. A lesson on friendship -- how to distinguish good friends from the bad friends. There are four types that ar e not really your friends, but will ma ke your life miserable in the long run: 1.  The leech who app ropriates your possessions 2.  The bull-****** who manipulates you 3.  The boot-licker who flatters you 4.  The party-animal who encourages you to do the same A good friend, on the other hand, is one who... 1.  is always ready to help you 2.  is steady and loyal 3.  provides good advice 4.  is sympathetic
  12. 12. Finally… <ul><li>There are so many teachings to read and learn about, and its really true about how it affects every day life! </li></ul>