Video Email Marketing: Statistics, Best Practices & Case Studies

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Playable in preview & full message viewsAutomatically muted video (click to add sound)Senders can use the same video player technology they already use

Email Is Rapidly GrowingEmail volumes near 840 billion messages by 2013Small and medium-size businesses will ramp up email marketingEmail is cost effectiveEmail is environmentally-friendly

All respondents reviewed two random selections from the four target video eMail examples. Approximately 900 respondents for each video eMail. The video eMails from Target, PetSmart, and Live Nation were modified from initial tests of Goodmail’s video eMail capabilities. The VISA Mobile video was adapted from materials on the company’s website

True video in emailNo increase in load times or file sizesWorks with leading video players and ad servers Create unique use models for online video that generate maximum plays and high-CPM advertising opportunities

Top Customers who use Goodmail’s CertifiedEmail

Creators of CertifiedEmail and CertifiedVideo Industry’s standard class of email. Bringing safe, reliable, and authentic email messages from legitimate commercial and nonprofit email senders.Partnered with the following ISPs: AOL, AT&T, BT, Comcast, Cox, MySpace, Time Warner Road Runner, Telus, Verizon and Yahoo CertifiedEmail ValueFor consumers: safe and reliable means to easily identify authentic email messages from legitimate commercial and nonprofit email senders For Senders: Assured delivery, Images are rendered and links are active, CE messages stand out

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Video Email Marketing: Statistics, Best Practices & Case Studies - Presentation Transcript

  1. Video and Email Opportunities
    October 6, 2009
    Mike Rogers, Senior Vice President
    Dori Thompson, Senior Director
  2. Range Of Products
    CertifiedEmail
    CertifiedVideo
    CertifiedCommerce
    CertifiedEmail Postmarked
  3. Now Introducing CertifiedVideo
    First product to deliver assured video within consumer email
  4. CertifiedVideo Benefits
    With CertifiedVideo you can:
    • Create an interactive experience
    • Increase viewers & views
    • Make email a more effective marketing channel
    Use CertifiedVideo to:
    • Email sneak previews of hit shows to drive ratings
    • Monetize email with merchant sponsored video
    • Grow inventory of pre-roll and interstitial video ads
    • Stimulate list growth & consumer engagement
  5. Email Is Alive And Thriving
  6. Email Is Rapidly Growing: US Email Marketing Forecast, 2007-2012
    Email volumes near 840 billion messages by 2013
    Small and medium-size businesses will ramp up email marketing
    Email is cost effective
    Email is environmentally-friendly
    Source:
    US Email Marketing Forecast, 2007 to 2012 Forrester Research, David Daniels
    US Email Marketing Forecast, 2008 to 2013 Forrester Research, Julie Katz
  7. When The Going Gets Tough – Marketers Depend On Email
    When The Going Gets Tough—
    Marketers Turn To Email
  8. Effectiveness of Video Email
  9. Amazing Growth of Video Online
    • Key Facts:
    • 72% of Internet Users Watch Video (144MM)
    • 90% of Users 18 to 29 Watch Online Video
    • 14 billion streams / month
    • 3.4 minutes (avg. video length)
  10. Era of Search- Video Is Becoming King
    “Videos are 53 times more likely than text pages to appear on the first page of search results.”
    Forrester Research
  11. Marketers In Every Industry Are Using Video
    Consumer Products
    Technology Hardware & Software
    Financial Services
    Travel, Tourism, & Recreation
    Non-profit
    Higher Education
    Healthcare and Life Sciences
    Government
    Professional Services
    Media Companies
    Publications
    News Portals
    Publishers
    Premium TV Channels
    Record Labels
  12. Certified Video Is Live!
    Email Faring Well In the Media Mix
    Launch partners include:
    • Target
    • Fox Digital
    • Daily Candy
    • Thrillist
    • LiveNation
    • UrbanDaddy
  13. Forecast: US Online Video Streams Audience, 2008-2013
    Source: JupiterResearch Internet Advertising Model (12.08)
  14. 2009 Consumer Research: Video Email
    Four Categories Studied:
    • Retail (Target)
    • Retail “Image” (PetSmart)
    • Entertainment (Live Nation)
    • Banking/ Technology/ Mobile Apps (Visa Mobile Banking)
    Independently designed and conducted by the Adams Company
    Respondent base of 1,893 drawn to match US census parameters – 900 for each video email
    Fieldwork was conducted during the last two weeks of August, 2009
  15. High Consumer Interest in Certification
    71.5% Believe that the idea of guaranteed legitimate and safe eMailsis appealing
    61.8% Very Interested in the idea that eMails can be certified to be safe
    (7=“Very Interested” to 1=“Not at All Interested”)
    Base: 1,893
    Does the idea that your email messages from companies can be guaranteed to be legitimate and safe appeal to you?
    How interested are you in the idea that your emails can be certified to be safe?
    (7= "Very Interested" down to 1= "Not at All Interested")
  16. Video Increases Interest
    Respondents Interested in Product/ Service
    Base: 956/604, 882/421, 992/434, 956/458
    Did seeing the video email give you new ideas on how [company names] 's products/services could be useful to you?
  17. Target: Video Changes Attitudes
    Respondents Interested in Product/ Service
    Rated at “6” or “7” (7= “Agree Strongly”)
    Pct. Change
    +28%
    +31%
    +31%
    +19%
    Base: 956/604
    Prior to seeing the video eMail, how would you rate your perceptions about Target?
    (Rate your perceptions about the company on a scale of 7 to 1, where 7= "Very Positive" down to 1="Not at Positive or No Opinion".)
    After seeing the video eMail, how would you rate your perceptions about the company?
  18. Target: Video Positive Halo Effects
    Rated at “6” or “7”(Agree Strongly)
    Base: 956/604
    Thinking about the video eMail compared to other kinds of messages you may have seen from Target, how would you say it affects your impression of the company?
    (Please rate your agreement with each statement using a scale of 7 to 1, where 7= "Strongly Agree" and 1= "Strongly Disagree.")
  19. Live Nation: Video Positive Halo Effects
    Rated at “6” or “7” (Agree Strongly)
    Base: 992/434
    Thinking about the video eMail compared to other kinds of messages you may have seen from Live Nation, how would you say it affects your impression of the company?
    (Please rate your agreement with each statement using a scale of 7 to 1, where 7= "Strongly Agree" and 1= "Strongly Disagree.")
  20. VISA: Video Positive Halo Effects
    Rated at “6” or “7” (Agree Strongly)
    Base: 956/458
    Thinking about the video eMail compared to other kinds of messages you may have seen from VISA, how would you say it affects your impression of the company?
    (Please rate your agreement with each statement using a scale of 7 to 1, where 7= "Strongly Agree" and 1= "Strongly Disagree.")
  21. “Video email boosts email marketing campaign click through by as much as 2X – 3X” - Forrester Research
    Certified Video:
    • True Video Streaming in Email
    • Leverages Existing Video Inventory from Website
    • No Increase in load Times or File Sizes
    • The same flash based video technology used on the web
    • Works With Leading Video Players: Brightcove and thePlayer
    • Enables High-CPM Pre-roll and Advertising Overall Opportunities
  22. How Can You Best Leverage Video?
    • Effective in All Stages of The Customer Life Cycle
    • Engagement – Engagement – Engagement
    • Build Audience
    • Customer Database
    • Lock in Your Most Loyal Customers
    • Innovative Programs That Fully Leverage Channel Partners
    • Leverage Their Own Video Content
    • Add Powerful Demos to Increase Product Usage
  23. CertifiedVideo
    Bringing the Best of the Web to the Inbox
  24. CertifiedVideo Is Live!
    Launch partners include:
    Target
    Fox Digital
    Daily Candy
    Thrillist
    LiveNation
  25. Top Customers Who Use Certified Video
  26. Our Credentials
  27. Company Information
    Who We Are
    Creator of CertifiedEmail™, the industry’s standard class of email
    Provides a safe and reliablemeans for consumers to easily identify authentic email messages from legitimate commercial and nonprofit email senders
    Sent with a cryptographically secure token that assures authenticity
    Marked in the inbox with a unique blue ribbon envelope icon
    Available to email senders meeting strict standards for best practices and low complaint rates
    Only class of e-mail available that assures delivery of all opt-in e-mail messagesto the inbox
    Links and images automatically rendered intact
    Embedded multi-dimensional applications like CertifiedVideo™
    Adopted by seven of the nation's top 10 email mailbox providers
    In use by 500 commercial, government and non-profit senders
    Supported in North America and Europe by a wide network of email platforms and service providers
  28. Supported By 7 of the Top10 Mailbox Providers
  29. Top Five Challenges of Promotional Marketers
    Email Delivery Issues Are The Top Drivers
    What are your greatest challenges when conducting e-mail marketing? (Please select all that apply.)
    JupiterResearch/E-Rewards Goodmail Email Executive Survey (10/08), n = 202 (email marketers, US); n = 58 (email marketers responsible for B2C newsletter mailings, US), n = 73 (email marketers responsible for B2C promotional offer mailings, US) - Selected Responses – Top Five Business to Consumer Marketers
    Percentage of Segment
  30. CertifiedEmail Senders Earn More PROFIT
    Dollars Generated Per Month
    Campaign Performance Model
    Comparison of Monthly Revenue and Profits Based on E-mail Marketer Type
    +38%
    Metrics and salary costs based on JupiterResearch Executive Survey, CPM Overall and B-to-C $3.09, Accredited Email Marketer $5.59; assumes a $68 AOV with 40% product margin. Source: JupiterResearch 11/08 US only - JupiterResearch/E-Rewards Goodmail Email Executive Survey (10/08), n=202 (email marketers, US)
  31. The Opportunity
  32. Deliverability Issues
    Not every email gets delivered into the inbox
    20% is routed to the spam folder
    Consumers want to hear from you but can’t:
    Blocked Images
    Cluttered Inboxes
    Spoofers & Forgers
    Deliverability
    Wasted marketing dollars
  33. Offer Deliverability And Improved Business ROI
  34. Email Still Doesn’t Get Delivered
    Actual Delivery Statistics For 1.2 Million Messages Sent Over 30 days
    Source: Pivotal Veracity, June 2009
  35. CertifiedEmail Lets Brands Shine
    Images and Links On By Default and Fully Functional
    Non Certified CertifiedEmail
    Ensure All Images and Links Are Fully Functional
  36. Top Email Marketer Concerns for 2009
    Trust & Reliability-Related Challenges Top The List
    Trust and Reliability Issues Top the List
    What issues concern you the most as they relate to the success of your e-mail marketing initiatives over the next 12 months? (Select all that apply)
    Percentage of Email Marketers
    JupiterResearch/E-Rewards Goodmail Email Executive Survey (10/08), n = 202 (email marketers, US)
  37. Case Studies
  38. Benefits for E-Commerce Senders
    Boost sales directly attributable to email
    16% Increase Click-Through 36% Increase in Sales Tickets
    “We saw an increase in open rates, an increase in ticket sales, postings, everything.”Albert Lee, Associate Email Marketing Manager, StubHub
  39. Case Study: PETCO
    Improving email program results and lifting email revenue
    Increase of 38% in click-through rate during trial
    Increase of 40.5% in click-through rate after launch
    Increase of 3.54¢ in profit per email
    CertifiedEmail provides us with this flexibility because we can be sure that every message is delivered promptly and completely intactJohn Lazarchic, Vice President of e-Commerce, PETCO Animal Supplies, Inc
  40. Case Study: KeyBank
    Improving customer security and regaining trust
    Increased Average CTR
    Drove Improved Engagement Analytics
    Real Impact On ROI
  41. Case Study: Time, Inc.
    Improving customer service, higher log-ins & business results
    Increase of 30% in click-through rate
    Increase of 28% in site logins
    Trusted, authenticated CertifiedEmail messages resulted in higher click-throughs and improved program response rates.Ernie Vickroy, Marketing Director, Time Inc.
  42. NEXT ON THE HORIZON:
    CERTIFIED COMMERCE
  43. Coming Soon to an Inbox Near You
    If you can do it on the web, you can do it within a CertifiedEmail
    • Bill Pay, Subscription Renewals, Surveys & More
    • Put “one click” functionality into your email campaigns
    • Fewer clicks to commerce means more revenue to you
  44. Put The Cash Register in Your Email
    Dynamically update product offerings
    Saying “act now” has never been more immediate or compelling
  45. Revolutionizing email.
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