How to build a mobile business

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How to build a mobile business

  1. 1. Don’t Just Build a Mobile App.Build a Business.Wayne Pan, Software EngineerMay 10, 2011
  2. 2. Feedback? Scan the QR code and tell us what you think. Twitter? Use #io2011 and #Android. Questions? Ask them on Google Moderator @ http://goo.gl/mod/B8cG.http://goo.gl/l6tjC
  3. 3. I’ve built an app.How do I make money?
  4. 4. Many ways to earn moneyPaid downloads Freemium In-app purchase AdvertisingUser pays a fee User pays for User purchases User clicksto download additional goods within on ads functionality the app
  5. 5. Earning money with mobile advertising User launches User clicks on ad You get paid for your app. placed in your app. each click.
  6. 6. Show me the money!$0.10 Cost Per Click 1,500 Clicks (CPC) 120,000 100,000 Ad requests Impressions
  7. 7. Show me the money!CPC = $0.10 Click-through rate = Clicks  (CTR) ImpressionsAd requests = 120,000 = 1,500 Impressions = 100,000 100,000Clicks = 1,500 = 1.5%
  8. 8. Show me the money!CPC = $0.10 Revenue = Clicks x CPCAd requests = 120,000 = 1,500 x $0.10 = $150Impressions = 100,000Clicks = 1,500CTR = 1.5%
  9. 9. Show me the money!CPC = $0.10 eCPM = Revenue x 1,000 ImpressionsAd requests = 120,000Impressions = 100,000 = $150 x 1,000Clicks = 1,500 100,000 = $1.50CTR = 1.5%Revenue = $150
  10. 10. Show me the money!CPC = $0.10 Fill rate = Impressions Ad requestsAd requests = 120,000 = 100,000Impressions = 100,000 120,000Clicks = 1,500 = 83%CTR = 1.5%Revenue = $150eCPM = $1.50
  11. 11. Show me the money! Network A eCPM = $1.00 Fill rate = 83% Revenue per thousand ad requests = $1.00 x 83% = $0.83 Network B eCPM = $3.00 Fill rate = 25% Revenue per thousand ad requests = $3.00 x 25% = $0.75 Compare by eCPM: B > A Compare by revenue: A > B
  12. 12. I want to usemultiple ad networks.
  13. 13. eCPM fluctuations
  14. 14. eCPM varies across networks
  15. 15. Mediation helps reduce eCPM fluctuations
  16. 16. Mediation enables multiple ad networksAd network AAd network B MediationAd network C
  17. 17. Allocating inventory with AdWhirlUse unlimited Easily change ad networks allocations to maximize revenueFull control to turn on and off networks
  18. 18. I’ve built another app.
  19. 19. App user engagement over time
  20. 20. App user engagement over time
  21. 21. Build your audience faster
  22. 22. Leveraging your audience with house ads
  23. 23. Cross-promote your apps with house ads
  24. 24. There a lot going on.
  25. 25. It’s easy to measure downloads Download data and statistics are readily available in most marketplaces
  26. 26. Understanding engagement with Google Analytics
  27. 27. Getting started with Google Analytics 1.  Download and integrate the Google Analytics SDK for iOS and Android: code.google.com/mobile/analytics 2.  Setup a Google Analytics account: google.com/analytics 3.  Create a new profile for your app, UA-XXXXXXX-X
  28. 28. PotentialTracking app engagement Customers•  Ecommerce tracking•  Android referral tracking –  Referrals from your advertising campaigns –  Referrals from cross -promotion, including house ads Active Customers
  29. 29. Don’t just build a mobile app.Build a business.For more information on ourmobile advertising,monetization andmeasurement solutions visit:www.guidetotheappgalaxy.com
  30. 30. Feedback? Scan the QR code and tell us what you think. Twitter? Use #io2011 and #Android. Questions? Ask them on Google Moderator @ http://goo.gl/mod/B8cG.http://goo.gl/l6tjC

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