• Save
Binit VASA / MSc Design Management Dissertation preview
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Like this? Share it with your network

Share

Binit VASA / MSc Design Management Dissertation preview

on

  • 410 views

Masters Degree Dissertation project analysing the need of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format.

Masters Degree Dissertation project analysing the need of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
410
Views on SlideShare
405
Embed Views
5

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

2 Embeds 5

https://www.linkedin.com 4
https://twitter.com 1

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Binit VASA / MSc Design Management Dissertation preview Document Transcript

  • 1. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format.     1    University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08) 
  • 2. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 2      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  University of Salford Ecole de Management Euromed Toulon MSc International Business & Management for design Final dissertation Does a traditional full service advertising agency require a functional ‘design management’ department? Or Understanding the possible roles of functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. Binit VASA 2007 > 08
  • 3. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 3      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Preface + Acknowledgements 1: (C) United Features Syndicate, 1997  In the current Web 2.0 generation, advertising or more importantly communication effectively involves a strategic touch point, a crisp message and an appropriate timing. Reaching a participative audience (who will not only lend an ear to your message but also spread the message further if it pleases them) requires a simple idea, and a reticent budget1 which implies not spending a dime on the trio of traditional advertising (Print, outdoor and the wretched 30 sec. television commercial) In the current Web 2.0 generation, advertising or more importantly communication effectively involves a strategic touch point, a crisp message and an appropriate timing. Reaching a participative audience (who will not only lend an ear to your message but also spread the message further if it pleases them) requires a simple idea, and a reticent budget1 which implies not spending a dime on the trio of traditional advertising (Print, outdoor and the wretched 30 sec. television commercial) However, neither does this indicate the death of traditional advertising as expressed by Sergio Gyman2 or Lord Saatchi3 , nor are the world’s best ‘full services’ advertising agencies shutting shops. In his book (The death of advertising as we know it’ John Wiley & Sons, 1997, pg.2) Gyman himself says that marketing teams and brand managers in companies will have to broaden their scope beyond promotion and agencies will have to shift to executing strategy rather than creating one. However, neither does this indicate the death of traditional advertising as expressed by Sergio Gyman2 or Lord Saatchi3 , nor are the world’s best ‘full services’ advertising agencies shutting shops. In his book (The death of advertising as we know it’ John Wiley & Sons, 1997, pg.2) Gyman himself says that marketing teams and brand managers in companies will have to broaden their scope beyond promotion and agencies will have to shift to executing strategy rather than creating one. As on today, traditional full service advertising agencies seem to have flapped many a wings and survived the fee and reward based remuneration as compared to the commissions4 , tried to portray themselves as either highly specialised or one-stop-shops catering to communication needs across all platforms / channels and have witnessed a flurry of grouping and alignment on the global As on today, traditional full service advertising agencies seem to have flapped many a wings and survived the fee and reward based remuneration as compared to the commissions4 , tried to portray themselves as either highly specialised or one-stop-shops catering to communication needs across all platforms / channels and have witnessed a flurry of grouping and alignment on the global
  • 4. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 4      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  holding agency scenario for increased cost effectiveness and maintaining global clients. These transformations have led to the realisation of the importance of new roles like the Strategic account planners and the Media planners who are involved in ‘maximising resources by using effective design’ something that can be categorised as design management. However, unlike product design firms that have design / project managers assigned an important role, there is no clarity in the designation of a design manager or design management department in an ad agency. Every time I contacted an advertising agency head / Human resources for a job as a ‘design manager’, all I mostly solicited was a brief exclamation followed by a range of frequently asked questions: 1. Would you like to join as a strategic account planner? 2. Are you interested in the creative or the client servicing side of the business? Although don’t you think your profile is more about the intermediary between the client and the creative and thus client servicing? 3. What have you specialised in, as a design manager? Would you work as a designer in the art department of our creative business? 4. What experience do you have, if any and in which side of the business? etc. Freelance project managers are hired by the agency and/or the client for short term projects or design audits. But is there more to what a design manager can contribute on his own without being imbued as a strategic account planner or an account management executive in the agency setup? This project is essentially a quest to explore if a full time design manager can play a new role that can be an asset in this field / setup. As I was far away from my actual home while working on this project, I would like to thank a few for their contributions: My parents Dr. Hilary Collins, Catherine Davies and many more at the Grande Tourrache campus The Ho-Van-Truc family Zainab
  • 5. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 5      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Key to section wise bibliography I am aware that the referencing procedure for an MSc Dissertation should be in Harvard style and hence direct quotations are referenced next to the quote, as required. However, I am a little weary of using the ‘sequential format of referencing and bibliography’ because in the end it leads to a long list of unread text. I am aware that the referencing procedure for an MSc Dissertation should be in Harvard style and hence direct quotations are referenced next to the quote, as required. However, I am a little weary of using the ‘sequential format of referencing and bibliography’ because in the end it leads to a long list of unread text. With due apology for breaching strict guidelines, I wish to take a detour and use a section-wise bibliography. This would mean that all the literature used in each of the 5 sections of this report is referenced at the end of each section instead at the end of the report. In this way, after having thoroughly read one section, the reader can immediately glance at the organised list of sources used. This means that, referencing for each section is independent and not sequential till the end. With due apology for breaching strict guidelines, I wish to take a detour and use a section-wise bibliography. This would mean that all the literature used in each of the 5 sections of this report is referenced at the end of each section instead at the end of the report. In this way, after having thoroughly read one section, the reader can immediately glance at the organised list of sources used. This means that, referencing for each section is independent and not sequential till the end. Lastly, rather than ‘list viewing’ them (very unpleasing), I have organised them into tables as explained in the key below: Lastly, rather than ‘list viewing’ them (very unpleasing), I have organised them into tables as explained in the key below: 1. Textual bibliography (for printed material)1. Textual bibliography (for printed material) Sr.  No  Sr.  No  Reference  no.  Reference  no.  Name of the  resource  Name of the  resource  Type of  resource  Type of  resource  Author Author  Year of  publishing  Year of  publishing  Publisher Publisher  Page  no  Page  no  1  1  Design  Management  Book  Brigitte  Borza de  Mozota  2002  Sage  34                  2  ‐  DMI Journal  Journal  Franz  Josiasse  2001  DMI  3                                                  As I have used various resources, this  will be to distinguish the types.   Apart from in‐report referencing for  direct quotations, I have used the  superscript number referencing  which is listed in the end next to the  respective number  All the material used for information  and is not referenced anywhere will  be indicated in the same table with a  ‘‐‘mark.  
  • 6. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 6      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources)2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources) Sr.  No  Sr.  No  Reference  no.  Reference  no.  Internet link Internet link  Type of  website  Type of  website  Date accessed Date accessed  Time  accessed  Time  accessed  1  7  Hwww.adsoftheworld.comH Blog  22nd  September  12.30 am  GMT                                                              3. Visual bibliography (for internet resources)3. Visual bibliography (for internet resources) Lot of students use images taken from the internet without accurate referencing. Being a designer myself, I thought that it is unfair to the rightful owners or free stock imagery proprietors and hence, where the need be I have a visual bibliography too. Lot of students use images taken from the internet without accurate referencing. Being a designer myself, I thought that it is unfair to the rightful owners or free stock imagery proprietors and hence, where the need be I have a visual bibliography too. Sr.  No  Reference  no.  Internet link  Type of  website  Date accessed  Time  accessed  Copyright  1  7  Hwww.adsoftheworld.comH Blog  22nd  September  12.30 am  GMT                                                                          For internet sources, the format is  similar except for these 3 columns.  
  • 7. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 7      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Index Section oneSection one 1. Abstract1. Abstract 2. Section 1 bibliography (References used in the Preface included)2. Section 1 bibliography (References used in the Preface included) Section two (3000 words)Section two (3000 words) 3. The dissertation criterion3. The dissertation criterion 3.1 Introduction to the topic – Statement of learning objective.3.1 Introduction to the topic – Statement of learning objective. 3.2 Choosing the research paradigm3.2 Choosing the research paradigm 3.3 Choosing the research methodology3.3 Choosing the research methodology 3.4 Choosing the research techniques3.4 Choosing the research techniques 3.5 Other aspects3.5 Other aspects 3.6 Section 2 bibliography3.6 Section 2 bibliography Section three (5000 words)Section three (5000 words) 4. Findings from the literature review4. Findings from the literature review 4.1 Section 3 bibliography4.1 Section 3 bibliography Section four (5000 words)Section four (5000 words) 5. Research (interview) findings5. Research (interview) findings 5.1 Section 4 bibliography5.1 Section 4 bibliography Section five (2000 words)Section five (2000 words) 5.1 Analysis and recommendations5.1 Analysis and recommendations 5.2 Conclusion5.2 Conclusion 5.3 Section 5 bibliography5.3 Section 5 bibliography
  • 8. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 8      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Section one Abstract
  • 9. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 9      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  1. Abstract Katherine Best (Design Management, Ava Publishing 2006, pg. 06) asserts that design management is essentially a leadership role and says that the work profile of the design manager requires ‘explaining, inspiring, persuading and demonstrating how design can positively contribute to an organisation in many ways’. st (Design Management, Ava Publishing 2006, pg. 06) asserts that design management is essentially a leadership role and says that the work profile of the design manager requires ‘explaining, inspiring, persuading and demonstrating how design can positively contribute to an organisation in many ways’. As of today, the major leadership roles in an ad agency rest in the hands of the senior management followed by the various department heads i.e. account planners (communication strategy), creative heads (design execution), Studio managers (design implementation) and media planners (media investment). All of the above could be classified as design managers as they in various ways confirm to the above mentioned profile of a design manager. Besides in theory and practice, there is no universally agreed definition of design management 5. As of today, the major leadership roles in an ad agency rest in the hands of the senior management followed by the various department heads i.e. account planners (communication strategy), creative heads (design execution), Studio managers (design implementation) and media planners (media investment). All of the above could be classified as design managers as they in various ways confirm to the above mentioned profile of a design manager. Besides in theory and practice, there is no universally agreed definition of design management 5. When I used the term ‘design manager’ in the context of this dissertation, I wish to connote freshly graduated design managers like me, who: When I used the term ‘design manager’ in the context of this dissertation, I wish to connote freshly graduated design managers like me, who: 1. neither belong to the senior management of an ad agency (or will generally not be allowed to play a eminently directional/leadership or vision oriented role due to lack of experience), 1. neither belong to the senior management of an ad agency (or will generally not be allowed to play a eminently directional/leadership or vision oriented role due to lack of experience), 2. nor are keen on merging with one of the existing departments of the agency which may or may not require the skills of a design manager. 2. nor are keen on merging with one of the existing departments of the agency which may or may not require the skills of a design manager. The aim is to discover the purpose for which such managers would associate themselves in the day- to-day functioning by contributing at the level of operations / tactics / strategy (Katherine Best, 2006) for the agency and its clients, with their versatile profile. I am not suggesting the creation of a design management profile in an agency for the sake of it. Instead I am proposing the identification of loop holes in the current fortified departments of an agency and then having them fixed by such a versatile person(s). The aim is to discover the purpose for which such managers would associate themselves in the day- to-day functioning by contributing at the level of operations / tactics / strategy (Katherine Best, 2006) for the agency and its clients, with their versatile profile. I am not suggesting the creation of a design management profile in an agency for the sake of it. Instead I am proposing the identification of loop holes in the current fortified departments of an agency and then having them fixed by such a versatile person(s).
  • 10. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 10      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Before starting the actual assignment, I researched extensively on books guiding Master’s Level dissertation. Section 2 of this report (Dissertation Criterion) reflects the guidelines I learnt from such literature. In the first part, it was crucial for me to review existing literature on two principal subjects: 1. Design management a. Understand the concept of design management in further detail as compared to what we learnt during the course. This includes mostly understanding the aspects of design management in practice. b. Comprehend the strengths and limitations of the profiles of a design manager in theory. c. Exposure to the current topics discussed and debated by industry endorsed organisations like Design Management Institute (DMI) and work and practices of fully fledged design management firms like PARK Netherlands. 2. Advertising agencies d. Learn the structure of an existing full service agency in theory; understand the roles of the various divisions and the aptitude required to work in these divisions. e. Find information about internal functioning and reasons for common conflicts between the various divisions if any. f. Understanding the unbundling taken place in the format of existing full service agencies in order to cater to the needs of the IT generation. g. The strengths and weaknesses of a current full service agency as well as the advantages and limitations of their structure/hierarchy/operations. h. The remuneration models of full service agencies. i. The reasons for which a lot of big clients prefer an in-house advertising department and then hire specialised agencies for difficult executions. The research question deals with issues that are more practical in nature, add to which not much has been documented about the role of a design manger in an ad agency setup. Hence from the knowledge gathered during the literature review, I conducted a qualitative research in forms of
  • 11. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 11      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  extensive interviews with some of the stalwarts of the advertising industry and practitioners of design management. The outcome was thoroughly analysed and after having fully understood the theoretical ideas and practical limitations, I have attempted to briefly identify new responsibilities and a new strategic position held by a design manager that form the last segment of conclusions and recommendations.
  • 12. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 12      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  1. 1.2 Section 1 bibliography 1. Textual bibliography (for print resources)1. Textual bibliography (for print resources) Sr.  No  Sr.  No  Ref Ref  no. no.  Title of the resource Title of the resource  Type of  resource  Type of  resource  Author Author  Year  published  Year  published  Publisher Publisher  Page  no  Page  no  1  2   The end of advertising  as we know it.   Book  Sergio  Zyman  1997  John Wiley  & Sons  ‐                  2  ‐  Ogilvy on advertising  Book  David Ogilvy  1983  Prion Books  Limited  ‐                  3  5   Design Management  Book  Katherine  Best  2006  Ava  Publishing  6                  2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources)2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources) Sr.  No  Ref   no.  Internet link  Type of  website  Date of  access  Time  of  access  1  1   http://www.businessweek.com/investor/content/mar 2007/pi20070320_707262.htm  e‐magazine  14/07/08  10.30 GMT              2  3   http://blogsurvey.backbonemedia.com/archives/2006 /06/lord_saatchis_d.html  Website  14/07/08  10.30  GMT              3  4   http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/catalyst/2004/ 10/28/stories/2004102800090100.htm  e‐newspaper  21/08/08  21.00  GMT                          3. Visual bibliography (for internet resources)3. Visual bibliography (for internet resources) Sr.  No  Internet link  Website  Type of  website  Date of  access  Time of  access  Copyright  1  http://adsoftheworld .com/blog/ivanlim/20 07/mar/20/dilbert_o n_advertising    adsoftheworld.com  Online  community  31/08/08  20.35  GMT  (C) United  Features  Syndicate, 1997               
  • 13. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 13      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Section two The dissertation criterion Statement of learning objective Assumptions & Initial research questions Choosing the research paradigm (Ontology, Epistemology) Choosing the research methodology Choosing the research techniques Other concerns
  • 14. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 14      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.1 Statement of learning objective Considering the time constraints, limited resources and word limit of this dissertation, I had very specific learning objectives. They are: the time constraints, limited resources and word limit of this dissertation, I had very specific learning objectives. They are: 1. An in-depth, all encompassing comprehension of design management using the knowledge of academicians and practitioners alike. 1. An in-depth, all encompassing comprehension of design management using the knowledge of academicians and practitioners alike. 2. An exhaustive analysis of the past, present and the future of a full service ad agency with the help of a wide range of authoritative theory on the subject, opinions of current professionals and personal experiences alike. 2. An exhaustive analysis of the past, present and the future of a full service ad agency with the help of a wide range of authoritative theory on the subject, opinions of current professionals and personal experiences alike. Back home in India, a lot of my friends have venture into entrepreneurial activities; most of the times without an accurate assessment of their ventured field. Since I wish to start my own agency in the near future, I needed to create a resource that would help me identify the need for inducting ‘effective design oriented’ management for the maximal utilisation of resources, something that is rarely practiced and certainly not formally acknowledged in most agencies. Back home in India, a lot of my friends have venture into entrepreneurial activities; most of the times without an accurate assessment of their ventured field. Since I wish to start my own agency in the near future, I needed to create a resource that would help me identify the need for inducting ‘effective design oriented’ management for the maximal utilisation of resources, something that is rarely practiced and certainly not formally acknowledged in most agencies.
  • 15. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 15      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.2 Assumptions and Initial research questions The research undertaken, in order to validate the research premise was more inductive in nature. Hence at every stage, I had prior assumptions based on my ‘nature of reality’. Such assumptions were altered, amended or completely discarded depending on the insights solicited during the research process. Listed below are the approximate assumptions: undertaken, in order to validate the research premise was more inductive in nature. Hence at every stage, I had prior assumptions based on my ‘nature of reality’. Such assumptions were altered, amended or completely discarded depending on the insights solicited during the research process. Listed below are the approximate assumptions: 1. There is a logical and financial possibility of creating a design management department in full service ad agencies. 1. There is a logical and financial possibility of creating a design management department in full service ad agencies. 2. Qualified and experienced design managers are willing to work in the ad agencies as compared to other communication organisations like Brand Identity firms, PR firms, 2. Qualified and experienced design managers are willing to work in the ad agencies as compared to other communication organisations like Brand Identity firms, PR firms, 3. There are loopholes in the functioning of an agency that can be fixed using effective design oriented processes and management. 3. There are loopholes in the functioning of an agency that can be fixed using effective design oriented processes and management. 4. The outbursts of new communication mediums are making the full service ad agency rethink their traditional stand on the advertising industry. 4. The outbursts of new communication mediums are making the full service ad agency rethink their traditional stand on the advertising industry. 5. All full services ad agencies across the globe have similar departments and more or less similar issues of operation. 5. All full services ad agencies across the globe have similar departments and more or less similar issues of operation. 6. Clients are willing to keep their agency of record for all their communication needs and are seeking a wholesome communication plan from their agency. They are willing to create a partnership relation with an agency rather than just hiring them for sundry executions. 6. Clients are willing to keep their agency of record for all their communication needs and are seeking a wholesome communication plan from their agency. They are willing to create a partnership relation with an agency rather than just hiring them for sundry executions. Initial research questions:Initial research questions: 1. Are full service ad agencies becoming complacent? 2. Why don’t ad agencies see the need for hiring design managers? 3. How have ad agencies evolved with time? Have they identified new leadership positions? 4. Why do more and more clients have more than one ‘Agency of Record’ (AOR)? 5. Can an ad agency do away with the traditional Client Servicing department? 6. How do ad agencies deal with ‘idea management’ related issues? 7. Are design managers refraining from joining agencies due to the poor remuneration as compared to the industry norms for fresh graduates?
  • 16. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 16      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.3 Choosing the research paradigm   A quick glance at the research philosophy and execution decision Research Paradigm: Constructivism6 Types of research method: Qualitative Research methodology/approach: Inductive Research techniques: Secondary data (Books, first tier journals, internet resources, case studies, Interviews) In order to help people identify with my background and establish a structured philosophical base, I chose to agree with Ebon Guba and Yvonna Lincoln (Handbook of Qualitative Research, Sage, pg.105), who assert that the type of research method (qualitative/quantitative) does not govern the research paradigm. For them, it’s the paradigm that decides the type of research and not vice versa. Choosing a paradigm was crucial for me, as I do not wish to compel people, to buy my analyses on the basis of indisputable evidence gathered during the research process. Instead, I wanted to be persuasive and convince people about the utility of my position. After having understood their work on the Competitive paradigms in Qualitative research7 , I have chosen to align my work/research on this subject as something that reflects the constructivist paradigm. Ontology for Constructivist paradigm (Guba & Lincoln) Relativist:  Realities are apprehendable  in the form of multiple, intangible  mental constructions, socially and  experientially based, local and specific  in nature and dependent for their form  and content on the individual persons  or groups holding the constructions.  Constructions are not more or less  "true," in any absolute sense, but  simply more or less informed and/or  sophisticated.  Constructions are alterable, as are  their associated "realities."  Choosing the research ontology Ontology involves choosing involves describing the reality that I have come across and explaining the tone and perspective of the dissertation. (Reva Brown, Doing your Dissertation in Business & Management, Sage 2006, pg.14). When it came to choosing the 'nature of reality' for this assignment, my choice wasn't a difficult one. First of all, despite my limited experience in advertising and my eventful design management study for the last one year, I did not have an ‘emic’ prerogative on the assignment. In addition to this, my research topic has a more
  • 17. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 17      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  qualitative bent, i.e. it also involves knowing the subjective opinion of people who are well established in the practical processes of arriving at strategic decisions and the evident execution. Hence I admit to have seen the reality with tinted glasses, which is to say that it is evidently subjective. qualitative bent, i.e. it also involves knowing the subjective opinion of people who are well established in the practical processes of arriving at strategic decisions and the evident execution. Hence I admit to have seen the reality with tinted glasses, which is to say that it is evidently subjective. Having said that Abbas Tashakkori and Charles Teddlie's proposition about 'Pragmatism'8 (as a possible reality seems very appealing to me for various reasons. Moreover because they ensure a sense of freedom in the existing reality and allow the researcher to shy away from any barrier of not knowing information that does not belong to the chosen ontology. Having said that Abbas Tashakkori and Charles Teddlie's proposition about 'Pragmatism'8 (as a possible reality seems very appealing to me for various reasons. Moreover because they ensure a sense of freedom in the existing reality and allow the researcher to shy away from any barrier of not knowing information that does not belong to the chosen ontology. In their words, they justify this reality with the following: 'Study what interest you and is of value to you, study in different ways in which you deem appropriate and use the results in ways that can bring about positive consequences within your value system'. (Tashakkori and Teddlie, Mixed methodology, Sage 1998, pg.30) In their words, they justify this reality with the following: 'Study what interest you and is of value to you, study in different ways in which you deem appropriate and use the results in ways that can bring about positive consequences within your value system'. (Tashakkori and Teddlie, Mixed methodology, Sage 1998, pg.30) In this statement, they also echo my sentiments of affirmative action in the chosen value system as compared to making inconsequential judgements based on the findings. In this statement, they also echo my sentiments of affirmative action in the chosen value system as compared to making inconsequential judgements based on the findings. Choosing the research epistemologyChoosing the research epistemology Research methodology involves three strands9 : consideration about what is real, what is knowledge or knowable and what values underpin research. Taking this statement into consideration, we have just seen that for this project: what is real (ontology) is could be contextual and biased. Assuming that my reality is subjective in nature, the knowledge (Epistemology) ‘out there’ quite obviously cannot be observed/obtained with an objective point of view. Epistemology for Constructivist paradigm (Guba & Lincoln) The investigator and the object of  investigation are assumed to be  interactively linked so that the "findings"  are literally created as the investigation  proceeds.   Constructivism’s broader transactional/subjectivist assumption that sees ‘knowledge’ (epistemology) as created in interaction among investigator and respondents.
  • 18. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 18      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  1 Fig. 2.1: Alternative Inquiry paradigms, Guba and Lincoln, Handbook of Qualitative Research, 1994.
  • 19. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 19      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.4 Choosing the research methodology Choosing between inductive or deductive researchtween inductive or deductive research My research question does not propose a hypothesis; evidently I will not be involved in dealing with the relationship (cause-link) between two elastic variables. Hence deduction is not my preferred choice. Besides in the paradigm chosen; data is collected as we progress to more informed/sophisticated decision. Hence, it implies a strong inductive approach. An interpretative approach suggests an emphasis on human understanding (social sciences), which is the strength of the inductive approach. Inductive approach also allows the freedom of change in the research emphasis as the research progresses. Thus all the above reasons and my refrain from generalization make an Inductive inquiry the most suitable for the research methodology. Through the literature review, I will induct myself to the theoretical position of my two chosen variables. Then through means of extensive reading and interviewing, I will slowly and steadily figure out the prospects of my proposal, the validity of my assumptions and the credibility of my judgements and recommendations.
  • 20. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 20      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.5 Choosing the research techniques During my pre-research reading I came across this small diagram10 explaining the key components of a research dissertation. I immediately decided that this would be more or less the blueprint of my final assignment. reading I came across this small diagram10 explaining the key components of a research dissertation. I immediately decided that this would be more or less the blueprint of my final assignment. 3 2 1  Figure 2.2: Key Components of a project, Dr. Hilary Collins, Tutorial material, University of Salford, 2008 1. All the information in this section (that includes the choice of paradigms) forms the first part of my assignment. The goal is to guide the reader through the backdrop of the researcher as well as his surroundings. 1. All the information in this section (that includes the choice of paradigms) forms the first part of my assignment. The goal is to guide the reader through the backdrop of the researcher as well as his surroundings. 2. I would certainly commence by an 'Exploratory study' that helps me review the existing literature on the two primary subjects as mentioned in the ‘Abstract’ at the very beginning. Such data would include newspapers, books, journals, internet, indexes, abstracts, catalogues, encyclopaedias, and more and more design related manuals to commence my research. 2. I would certainly commence by an 'Exploratory study' that helps me review the existing literature on the two primary subjects as mentioned in the ‘Abstract’ at the very beginning. Such data would include newspapers, books, journals, internet, indexes, abstracts, catalogues, encyclopaedias, and more and more design related manuals to commence my research. 3. As I will be employing a multi-technique methodology, after sufficient data collection, I would be beginning my research of industry practice. As I had assisted the International Relations department of Ecole de Management-Euromed Toulon, I had mobilised the resources to attend the numero uno symposium of the advertising/marketing/branding/communication industry which will be attended by the key decision makers and strategists of the industry. Along with assisting the various 3. As I will be employing a multi-technique methodology, after sufficient data collection, I would be beginning my research of industry practice. As I had assisted the International Relations department of Ecole de Management-Euromed Toulon, I had mobilised the resources to attend the numero uno symposium of the advertising/marketing/branding/communication industry which will be attended by the key decision makers and strategists of the industry. Along with assisting the various
  • 21. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 21      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  seminars and crystal ball gazing activities during the week of the festival, as a participant of the Roger Hatchuel Academy, we will be able to meet such influential people in person for networking and specific insights pertaining to the research topic. This will be my extensive source for the interviews. Also, during this academic year, we were representing the school for the prestigious PARK European Scouts Network. This platform ensured interaction with the people who were in the forefront of giving a face to the design management industry. During the two sessions organised by PARK, we were given a 360 degree exposure to the design management practices of PARK (Advanced design management) as well as students of Design management courses across Europe. These students broadened my perspective about their subjects of study and their future career choices. The live project took place in the campus of a client where we were given a hands-on experience concerning the design, production and marketing processes of the Oxyllane Group who is the parent company of Decathlon - a successful sports goods brand in France. These interactions ensured a deep entrenched and current perspective on the critical reflection of practice. With the closure of this section, is an indicative flow chart of the guiding structure of this assignment. These serve as thumb rules, avoiding any change of perspective during the finding and analysis as we will see in the next sections.
  • 22. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 22      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.6 Other aspects Time considerationration The project was undertaken over the period of 4 months starting June 2008. Initially, I was occupied with the issues in the field of Brand design and Identity, an area of study which deeply interests me. However, after an extensive amount of time spent on creating a research problem, I realised that accomplishing such a research would require plenty of resources and time, something that was not at my disposal after the refusal of the UK VISA. Hence, I then took up this subject which was my planned backup topic. All the interviewing for this research has been conducted at the 56th Cannes Lions Advertising Festival held at Cannes in June this year and hence technically the data collected was much before the official formulation of research topic. Although, all the interviews were aimed at finding an answer for the said question. Activity June 08  July 08  August 08    September 08  Week number 1  2 3 4 5  6 7 8 9  10  11 12 13  14 15 16 1 Holiday 2 Read methodology literature 3 Devise a research proposal 4 Finalise objectives 5 Draft literature review 6 Devise research approach 7 Draft research strategy and method 8 Formulate interview questions and issues 9 Collect data through interviews 10 Assort data that is project specific 11 Draft final literature review 12 Draft final findings sheet 13 Work on recommendations and conclusions 14 Revise draft, format for submission 15 Submit to tutor and await feedback 16 Submit
  • 23. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 23      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Limitations With every attempted research, come along a set of limitations that could bear impact on the research findings. Such limitations will plague my research process too and listed following are some that are foreseen by me at this stage: 1. Financial limitations (gaining access to resources that involve any form of travelling or other financial input) 2. Serious lack of research material in terms of books etc due to the refusal of access to the UK and a poor library at the Ecole International de Design Campus. 3. Lack of insider’s knowledge for practice related operations 4. Researchers bias or misjudgement Ethics related concerns As access to information becomes easier in this intertwined world, people do not realise when boundaries are breached individual’s rights are hampered. For the assignment, I have strictly abided by the following ethical code of conduct: 1. No copyright infringement on any data/resource/image or idea. All external data is referenced and indexed. 2. Interviewees have given their valid consent to incorporate their opinions in this assignment. 3. Comments and opinions of the interviewees are not tampered with and in most cases used verbatim. 4. Confidential data/information shared by interviewees only for the purpose of providing with the researcher with a broader spectrum has not been incorporated in the final draft of the research findings proposal.
  • 24. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 24      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  2.7 Section 2 bibliography 1. Textual bibliography (for print resources)bibliography (for print resources) Sr.  No  Sr.  No  Ref  Ref   no. no.  Title of the resource Title of the resource  Type of  resource  Type of  resource  Author Author  Year  published  Year  published  Publisher Publisher  Page  no  Page  no  1  6   Competing paradigms in  qualitative research   Book  chapter  Egon Guba  Yvonna Lincoln  1994  Sage  109                  2  7   Competing paradigms in  qualitative research   Book  chapter  Egon Guba  Yvonna Lincoln  1994  Sage  109                  3  8   Mixed Methodologies  Book  Tashakkori and  Teddlie  1998  Sage  30                  4  9   Doing your dissertation in  Business & Management  Book  Reva Burman  Brown  2006  Sage  13                  5  10  Key components of a  project   Presenta tion  Hilary Collins  2008  Univ. Of  Salford  ‐                  6  ‐  Research Methods for  Business students  Book  Mark Saunders,  Philip Lewis and  Adrian Thornhill  2003  Prentice  Hall,  London  ‐  2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources)2. Textual bibliography (for internet resources) Sr.  No  Ref   no.  Internet link  Type of  website  Date of  access  Time  of  access  1  -   http://www.canneslions.com/festival/about.cfm  Corporate  22/07/08  11.00  GMT              2  ‐   http://www.park.bz/people/scouts/workshop/Decathl on/  Corporate  22/07/08  11.02  GMT             
  • 25. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 25      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Section three The literature review Highlighting the literature review process Reviewing Design Management Reviewing the Full service ad agency
  • 26. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 26      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  further valuated. lly adds to the relevance of he study/findings. e agency functions during my internship in Mumbai, they proved to be a good source too. further valuated. lly adds to the relevance of he study/findings. e agency functions during my internship in Mumbai, they proved to be a good source too. 3.1 The literature review process Luckily for me, the clarity in the purpose of surfing through the literature ensured that I was not hoarding unnecessary data and then trying to make it relevant to my chosen subjects. me, the clarity in the purpose of surfing through the literature ensured that I was not hoarding unnecessary data and then trying to make it relevant to my chosen subjects. The process of the review was simple and much on the lines of the Fig 3.1 alongside. To put it in my own words, I started by asking myself a question that was relevant to my research topic. Since the first question pertains entirely to the basics of design management, I started looking for all the relevant books and journals that we used during the course lectures. As I progressed in finding data, newer questions emerged and it was The process of the review was simple and much on the lines of the Fig 3.1 alongside. To put it in my own words, I started by asking myself a question that was relevant to my research topic. Since the first question pertains entirely to the basics of design management, I started looking for all the relevant books and journals that we used during the course lectures. As I progressed in finding data, newer questions emerged and it was ee After an exhaustive research, all the data was accumulated and then structured and arranged in a way that it eventua After an exhaustive research, all the data was accumulated and then structured and arranged in a way that it eventua 3 Fig 3.1: The Literature review process: Mark Saunders, Philip  Lewis and Adrian Thornhill, Pearsons 2003 tt Similar process was used in dealing with theoretical research for the ‘agency’ part of the review. Since I had studied advertising as a fulltime subject for my Bachelors’ level study and had extensive exposure to th Similar process was used in dealing with theoretical research for the ‘agency’ part of the review. Since I had studied advertising as a fulltime subject for my Bachelors’ level study and had extensive exposure to th rere
  • 27. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 27      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  3.1 Design management Defining design managementDefining design management Prior to have chosen to pursue Design Management studies, I used to find it difficult to explain many of my relatives, what design management is all about. The two words are paradoxical in the ense that they cover the vastness of the field and the specificity of a task. person in charge is the design manager. She elaborates the role ign policy alongside corporate identity and strategy and using design information and ideas (a design network and interdisciplinary ent is not alien as a concept to advertising agency professionals, yet it is performed in isguise. arious organisations about using design as an important means to achieve strategic objectives. W s In her industry-wide acknowledged book i , Brigitte Borja de Mozota assigns an entire chapter compiling various opinions of academicians and practitioners with the aid of her own understanding. In lay terms, design management is the planned implementation of design in a company to help the company achieve its objectives. The of a design manager as following: 1. Contributing to corporate strategic goals by developing and auditing a design policy, articulating the des to identify needs. 2. Managing design resources 3. Building a network of information resources) In the rather simple version explaining Design Management, Katherine Best ii , in her book expresses that there is no single definition of design management in particular. Although, she does second the definitions of various academicians like Alan Topalian and Peter Gorb. She thinks that the role played by a design manager varies as per the organisation and accordingly the person responsible for managing design could be called a brand manager, project manager, client-account handler, account director, design consultant or an advertising planner. This indicates that design managem d Both of them are in agreement to the fact that in today’s times there is a growing awareness in v
  • 28. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 28      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Sr.  No  Ref   no.  Title of the resource  Type of  resource  Author  Year  published  Publisher  P g  n o  1  i   Design Management,  Using brand design to  build brand value and  corporate innovation.   Book   Brigitte Borja de  Mozota  2003  Allworth Press  ‐                 2  ii   Design Management,  Managing design  strategy, process and  implementation  Book  Katherine Best   2006  Ava Publishing  ‐                 3  iii   Ogilvy on advertising  Book  David Ogilvy  1983  Prion Books  ‐ 
  • 29. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 29      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Limited                 4  iv   Truth, Lies and  Advertising – The Art  of account planning  Book  Jon Steel  1998  Wiley & Sons  ‐                 5  v  The Advertising  agency Business  Book  Eugene  Hameroff,  Herbert  Gardener   1998  Tata McGraw  Hill  ‐                 6  vi  The Fall of advertising  and the rise of PR  Book  Al Ries, Laura  Ries.   2002  Harper Collins  ‐                 7  vii  Proceedings of the 1st   D2B Conference,  Shanghai 2006  Conference  Proceedings  Various  2006  University of   Salford                   8  viii  Innovation, Branding  and Organisation:  What International  Design Managers think  about their  performance  Journal  article  Frans Joziasse,  Tim Selders et al  June 2005  DMI                   9  ix  Management of  creativity & design  within the firm  Research  thinkpiece  Jennifer Whyte,  John Bessant et  al.  Dec. 2005  Advanced  Institute of  Management  research                   10  x  Design Managers as  company strategists  Journal article EunSook Kwon,  Michael Cooper,  Joe Synan  Spring  2007  DMI                   11  xi  Solving the right  problem: A Strategic  approach to designing  today’s workplace  Journal  article    Arnold Craig  Levin  Spring  2007  DMI                     12  xii  Integrating design into  Strategic Management  processes  Journal  Article  Ron Sanchez  Fall 2006  DMI                    13  xiii                              14  xiv             
  • 30. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 30      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)                 Sr.  o      ebsite  ccess    N Ref  no. Internet link  Type of  w Date of  a Time  f o access 1  xv   http://www.canneslions.com/lions/2008_masterclass es  (6 full video sessions)   Festival  16/08/08  22.00 GMT              xvi  2  http://www.park.bz/people/scouts/workshop/Decathl Corporate  22/07/08  11.02  on/  GMT            
  • 31. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 31      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  The research findings from the interviews Section four Findings
  • 32. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 32      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  nterviews. Opinions from leading industry professionals are quoted verbatim and in some cases various opinions are lubbed together where the same question was asked to various interviewees. Is the traditional full service advertising agency becoming incompetent for the growing needs of he clients in the digital age? and hence I ould not refrain myself from adding it in the final draft of the assignment. commitment and a stronger motive. Which I think is not the case with a lot of the mployees’. 4.1 Research findings (For methodology, please refer to Section 1) Featured below is a structured arrangement of the findings from the extensive i c What do you understand by design management? t Agency politics, departmental conflicts, ego clashes in the agency David Droga’s answer to this was a broad smile, a shrug of shoulders and a nod of admittance. He thinks that that in a talent driven industry, such clashes are inevitable. But then we all have to take it with a pinch of salt. He absolutely recommends one of his colleagues article mocking the relationship truths of the various departments of an agency. It was a delightful read c In his own words Mahesh Chauhan, President of Rediffusion DY&R, Mumbai says this: ‘The problem with the working climate in Indian agencies is that it has always been the breeding ground of huge egos with two eyes and a mouth. Client servicing executives seemed to be least bothered about the client’s welfare and a lot of the creative’s are busy ogling at awards and glamorous rewards. You cannot build a great brand because your agency claims you can. People working on such brands need a strong e
  • 33. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 33      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  On trying to revolutionise the traditional agency setup At Rediffusion DY&R, Mahesh Chauhan did away with client servicing altogether as it was getting redundant. Instead their agency has put in place an account management team to provide strategic and business inputs to the creative process, as planners do. Their agency also plans to increase the level of interaction between the client and the creative department. The transformation of the agency with the unbundling that occurred in this generation Rick Boyko, Dean of VCU Adcenter and the Former Chief Creative officer of Ogilvy North America helped me explain this recent unbundling that took place in the portfolio of full service agencies like Ogilvy & Mather. He first described the traditional setup, wherein the agency itself handled and processed mainly print, television and radio commercials. Then outdoor agencies were outsourced all the hoardings and banners. However, with the internet boom of the 90’s, agencies found themselves to be incapacitated in coping with the diverse needs of the dotcom generation. Internet advertising was cost effective and had a better impact than traditional mediums; hence clients did suggest investing in the World Wide Web properties. Ogilvy and Mather (O&M), which had been a very adaptive agency found itself incompetent in terms of talent and manpower to cater to these emerging needs. Besides new activities like Public Relations and Direct Marketing required a lot of attention to planning and detail which wasn’t feasible along with working on the regular campaign.
  • 34. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 34      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  s.  y as    Slowly, like a stem that sprouts from a branch, Ogilvy & Mather’s board decided to branch out work for such highly specific fields of marketing communication into separate subsidiaries. For example O&M launched Ogilvy One (then Ogilvy Direct in 1972) which would provide solutions for the Direct Marketing needs of all their O&M clients. Initially, with the commission based system, clients were charged for the execution and were left to print and distribute such direct mailers. With the advent of the commission based payment system, such units became self regulating and self sufficient and clients were charged a la carte. Such activities could/could not be included in the bouquet services of O&M. As on today the parent group is no more Ogilvy & Mather. Our parent brand is called Ogilvy and we now have independent specialised creative subsidiaries that can be contacted by clients directly or through Ogilvy and Mather which is essentially the Agency of Record and deals with above the line Print, TV, outdoor and other below the line activities     The Ogilvy group now boasts of a  range of companies that cover the  entire spectrum of marketing service The companies work independentl specialists in their own disciplines or in  any combination necessary in pursuit  of seamlessly integrated campaigns for our clients.   Image courtesy: http://www.ogilvy.co.uk/index.php/com panies/#
  • 35. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 35      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  In the above 2 sections I have attempted to understand in detail, the nuances of a full service ad agency and the perspective that design management could add to the functioning of an organisation/process/strategy. This has immensely helped me augment my own knowledge and assumptions. In this last segment, however, I looked back at the initial research question which was pertaining to the need for a design manager in a full service ad agency. The answer however is not simple. During my literature study, I did realise that design management as a practice could exist in ad agencies and manifests itself in the functions of the various existing departments. Most global and renowned agencies manifest themselves as providers of 360O services or one-stop-shops which would mean that a lot of the employees in such agency multi- task. Whilst multi tasking, they could easily involve themselves with the maximisation of available resources with the help of design thinking. However my quest was also to find functions (if any) that are ignored or assigned to unqualified people and could be brought into affirmative practice by creating a design management department. I meditated on this question, and assorted specific insights, deducted from the interviewees responses in section 4. To test, answer and triangulate the viability of my research question, I decided to stay true to the Constructivist paradigm and came up with a fictional design management and then purview the agency functioning in new light. In his best seller series of books, the chairman of a globally renowned full service agency TBWA, Jean Marie-Dru explains that agencies need to adapt ‘Disruption days’ (Palgrave Macmillan, 2007), which are essentially brainstorming sessions held by the agency in the client’s presence and the goal is to challenge and/or debunk every single practice/brand philosophy/communication pattern in order to get fresh insights or a new perspective altogether on the brand’s essence. If ‘disruption’ can be a relevant strategy for a client, then why don’t we seek to disrupt the modern day confused traditional full service agency structure for a new point of view? In Figure 5.1.1, I have adapted the ‘Full service agency’ functioning model created in Section 3 and changed it for my analysis. This figure primarily indicates 2 important things:
  • 36. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 36      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  1. Implicit:1. Implicit: All the leadership positions in the existing format of an agency are marked in white, which implies that such positions could be design management oriented as per the roles they play or that future design manager graduates could assume this position if offered. (However, the initial assumptions discard this possibility.) 2. Explicit I am proposing the creation of a separate design management department. Let us now understand this in detail. What: The design management section in an agency will comprise of fully qualified design managers that have an in depth knowledge of operational, functional and strategic design management. Such a team of managers should be widely neutral and their actions are by no means sabotaged or influenced by any other department. Design ‘role’ managers are in-charge of their own agenda which could co-relate to an existing department but these managers do not align themselves to such divisions, enabling them to make honest, unbiased and un-favouring judgements or recommendations.
  • 37. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 37      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Why: The placement of the design management department in the chart is evidently strategic. Even though, such managers keep a close eye on the functional departments they are not entangled as arbitrators in the politics between the various departments. They are exclusive and yet ingrained. Also, since such a concept is fairly untried, agencies could hire such a team on a consultant basis and then induct their services into the formal structure as per their utility. In terms of hierarchy, such managers report to their Team leader as well as the Chief Executive officer. For functional duties, they would be responsible, in a certain extent to their respective department chief or the executives depending on the scenario. What for: During the research, I identified loop holes and functional deficiencies of full service agencies (only the main agency, without the inclusion of sub-divisions) and I have tried to incorporate leadership roles that rectify such loop holes. Such roles and functions are under: 1. Idea bank and innovation design manager / Direct Relation to the Creative Department (I had written extensively on the need for design managers to create idea banks that formed a part of the International Design Industry module of the course. Please refer to for the same or email me on vasabinit@gmail.com for the said report) The need: Renowned design management consultants PARK of Netherlands had introduced an open debate on their website on the subject of design management and the responsibility of nurturing creative ideas. Few design departments save, share and nurture all their creative ideas. Apart from the ideas that are taken forward all the way to the market, some may have enough potential to be usefully revived when the time is ripe. Others may have the potential to ignite new ideas. Still other ideas may help us decide not to go in a certain direction again. The failure to foster creative ideas represents a massive waste of time and money. By contrast, design managers now have a responsibility to be much more professional in systematising the capture, storage, access to and revival of design ideas. (www.park.bz) Hence, in the agency scenarios where every single day, hundreds of communication ideas are arrived at by brainstorming, but 95 percent of such ideas are either rejected by the client or are bottle-necked with the feasibility issue. Despite all this agencies could put in place a person who is
  • 38. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 38      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  responsible for the accumulation of such ideas, storage and access systems for their revival in the future. How: At the Decathlon Campus in Lille, Chief Design Director Philip Picaud explains us that they have put up a empty pin/sketch board for all their designers’ doodle ideas. “All our employees are free to write whatever they like (except for obscenities). This way whenever they take a break off work, they can relax and go through the crazy ideas and writings people generate. Besides even if someone does not have a great idea, it can be enhanced enormously with a new perspective that is not known to the original designer/creator. One of their most successful products, the Artengo Anytime Pingpong kit was an idea from an 'regular worker’ on the shop floor”. If I were in charge of this role, I would encourage all the creatives to jot their ideas down and put them in a box on a daily basis. At the end of the day, I would collect all the ideas and enter them in the special software created for Idea banking. Creatives could then withdraw such ideas as and when required or trade them for other benefits. If a random idea is considered to be useful for an agency campaign, then the person originating the idea would be suitably rewarded. Apart from that, as said by Paul Woolmington of Naked Communications, a lot of the times experiences encountered by agencies are not documented. Thus a design manager could archive such learning’s and experiences for future reference. Benefits: Most full service agency brands like Saatchi & Saatchi, Ogilvy, J. Walter Thompson etc have a global presence and more than often the same clients across continents. Such an idea bank would encourage the exchange of ideas on one client and also create a pool of idea resources that can be tapped by any of the global offices through the internet platform. Besides, trained design managers in Intellectual property rights could easily copyright path breaking/foresighted ideas giving the agency an edge in their services for clients. These ideas do not necessarily have to be communication ideas. They could be product ideas, game ideas, business ideas etc that could give mileage to the client or an agency for its non-portfolio businesses.
  • 39. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 39      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)  Human resources design manager Current example of such a role: Interestingly enough I have one example that will help me personify such a design manager. Noah Brier’s Brand tags were launched in May 2008. A simple and yet powerful idea if tactfully executed can indeed be very impactful, as it happened in his case. For the idea and innovation design manager, I am suggesting similar skills that exploit the germ of an idea for greater usage. 2. / Direct Relat role 3. Design and Brand DNA expertise manager Culture, ethics and content design manager design manager / Brian Collins ion to the Human Resources department The need: Human Resources departments in advertising agency play a very limited functional in many ways. Along with their routine tasks (involving employment and pay related formalities, appraisals and other such business, they dIDEO, 8’s, taking care of the smallest requirements 4. 5. Resources
  • 40. Binit VASA Role of a functional design manager in the traditional full service advertising agency format. 40      University of Salford / Euromed – Ecole de Management (Toulon) / MSc International Business and Management for design (07‐08)