Using cohort analysis to understand your SaaS business | Growth Hacking Brussels

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Learn how to use cohort analysis to better understand your SaaS Business with important KPI's like Churn rate, ARPU, Lifetime value & much more! We share the experience we had with several startups to help them grow, improve their product and get funding from VCs with cohort analysis.
Presentation done on April 30th at Growth Hacking Brussels.

Feel free to contact us on www.universem.be.

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  • Used a lot for Saas businesses with monthly subscription. A great analysis to understand/improve your business and go to VCs with strong figures
  • Using cohort analysis to understand your SaaS business | Growth Hacking Brussels

    1. 1. P0 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Using cohort analysis to understand your SaaS business Growth Hacking Brussels
    2. 2. P1 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014
    3. 3. P2 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Cohort Analysis?
    4. 4. P3 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 What?  Cohort analysis is a subset of behavioral analytics that takes the data from a given eCommerce platform, web application, or online game and rather than looking at all users as one unit, it breaks them into related groups for analysis. These related groups, or cohorts, usually share common characteristics or experiences within a defined timespan. Wikipedia
    5. 5. P4 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 What?  in practice First payment date Evolution over time # of paying accounts for MyStartup
    6. 6. P5 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 What?  in practice First payment date Evolution over time Accounts in December # of paying accounts for MyStartup
    7. 7. P6 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Cohorts to calculate KPI’s # of paying accounts for MyStartup Churn rate = % of people leaving the service month over month.
    8. 8. P7 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Cohorts to calculate KPI’s Monthly turnover for MyStartup Churn rate can be positive and applied to any metric like % of active users, # of users or turnover
    9. 9. P8 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Cohorts to calculate KPI’s ARPU for MyStartup ARPU = Average Revenues Per User = Turnover / # of users
    10. 10. P9 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Lifetime value = ARPU * Gross margin * 1 Churn rate Lifetime value = 60€ * 75% * = 2250€ A customer stays on MyStartup during 50 months on average 1 2% Cohorts to calculate KPI’s
    11. 11. P10 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014  Impact of marketing on your cash flow and months to recover your investments: Cohorts to calculate KPI’s
    12. 12. P11 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014  Months to recover your investments: Cohorts to calculate KPI’s -350,000 € -300,000 € -250,000 € -200,000 € -150,000 € -100,000 € -50,000 € - € 50,000 € 100,000 € 150,000 € December November October September August July June May April March February January Cash flow to finance
    13. 13. P12 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014  Two key guidelines for SAAS startups: Lifetime value > 3* CPA Months to recover CPA < 12 months  Max CPA for MyStartup = 540€ Inspired by http://www.forentrepreneurs.com/saas-metrics/ Cohorts to calculate KPI’s
    14. 14. P13 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Cohort tools
    15. 15. P14 GROWTH HACKING BRUSSELS – APRIL 2014 Let’s discuss some hacks over a drink! Contact Hubert de Cartier Co-founder +32 (0) 81 713 431 hubert@universem.be @hubcy Available on Slideshare as of tomorrow!

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