Online Advertising & Analytics for the Writer

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    Online Advertising & Analytics for the Writer - Webinar Transcript

    1. Internet Advertising & Analytics Online Writing & Editing (PB 590C) Summer Session II 2010 Facilitated by Tom Haney haney270@gmail.com tomfinder.com
    2. Slideshare Audio This presentation has audio. This To listen, navigate with the play button below (rather than the hand on the right). i 1 2 3 4
    3. Agenda 1. Internet Business models 2. Advertising Deal Structures 3. Online Analytics 4. Implications for the Writer i 1 2 3 4
    4. Who Does Content Serve? Visitor Marketer (Reader) Publisher (Advertiser) Content Traffic Advertising Sources Agencies (search) i 1 2 3 4
    5. Old Media Versus New Media Internet 1.0 Web 2.0 Global Social Measurable Distributed Interactive Mobile Transactional Local i 1 2 3 4
    6. Topic 1 Internet Business Models Business, that's easily defined - it's other people's money. Peter Drucker
    7. Acquiring Traffic – SEO, SEM SEO = Search Engine Optimization SEM = Search Engine Marketing Costs of acquiring traffic • Paying writers and other staff • Paying for distribution “Hit” content versus “long tail” content Is SEO degrading the integrity of writing and journalism? i 1 2 3 4
    8. Primary Online Business Models Business Model = How a company makes money. Price Ecommerce Advertising Freemium Virtual Per Goods User One time – Merchandising CPM – cost Part free, Growing apps per impression part premium Transactions CPC – cost Recurring – per click Upsell Subscription CPA – cost (premium) per acquisition CPL – cost per lead i 1 2 3 4
    9. Traits of Successful Online Businesses Get Big or Get Expensive Get Big – grow the audience and sell advertising. Size and scale are key to success. OR Get Expensive – charge users. i 1 2 3 4
    10. Topic 2 Advertising Deal Structures A magazine is simply a device to induce people to read advertising. James Collins
    11. Advertising Acronyms i 1 2 3 4
    12. CPM – Cost Per Thousand Impressions $ Publisher Marketer Visitor (Advertiser) (Reader) Content Audience Page View = Impression M = Roman number for one thousand i 1 2 3 4
    13. eCPM CPM is the historical standard * Primary model for television * Cost per click and other models get translated to effective CPM to facilitate comparison across models e = effective eCPM = effective cost per thousand i 1 2 3 4
    14. Conversion Funnel Impressions LEAD MEASUR Clicks Is something we can Engaged influence. Conversions Clicks / impressions = Conversions / clicks = Click thru rate aka CTR Conversion rate Engage means the user didn't “bounce”. She viewed more than the one page. i 1 2 3 4
    15. Dollar Metrics Impressions 2000 Impressions clicks 10 MEASUR LEAD Clicks Click-thru .05% Engaged rate (CTR) Is something we can influence. Converted Converted 1 Conversion 10% Rate CPM $0.50 Cost $1.00 i 1 2 3 4
    16. Cost Per Click, Cost Per Acquisition Impressions 2000 Cost per Click = clicks 10 CostLEAD MEASUR / clicks Click-thru .05% $1.00 / 10 = $0.10 rate (CTR) Is something we can influence. Converted 1 Cost per Acquisition = Cost / conversions Conversion 10% Rate $1.00 / 1 = $1.00 CPM $0.50 Cost $1.00 i 1 2 3 4
    17. Cost Per Lead or other Action Acquisition can be any action for which the marketer is wiling to pay. LEAD MEASUR Cost per Acquisition = Is something we can Cost / conversions influence. For example: Sign-up for service $1.00 / 1 = $1.00 Purchase a Product Start a free trial Submit an e-mail address Become a qualified lead i 1 2 3 4
    18. Differences in the Models The main difference is how the advertiser pays for the marketing. CPM – is paid by the impression. Most risk to the advertiser. CPC – is paid by the click. Risk is shared. CPA – is paid by the action (or acquisition). Most risk to the publisher. eCPM – is the effective CPM if paid by click or action. The supporting key metrics are the same in each case. i 1 2 3 4
    19. Topic 3 Online Analytics People play differently when they’re keeping score.
    20. Why use online Analytics? Publisher Advertiser Writer Better serve the Optimize click Improve audience. thru and engagement. conversion Increase click- Understand thru rates rates. what readers CPM. Calculate dollar like. metrics. Evaluate traffic Better sell to sources. Evaluate publishers and Determine hit various advertisers. publishers. stories. i 1 2 3 4
    21. Google Analytics Traffic Engagement i 1 2 3 4
    22. Traffic Sources Organic = search terms that were not paid search. i 1 2 3 4
    23. Football Passing Tree i 1 2 3 4
    24. Keyword Sources i 1 2 3 4
    25. The Advertisers' View Campaign was run on the CPC model of Google Adwords. Cost per conversion is key. Cost per conversion needs to be lower than the lifetime value of acquiring the customer. LTV CPA i 1 2 3 4
    26. Demographics Demographics are key for advertisers (and agencies) Demographics on Emerson.edu from quantcast.com i 1 2 3 4
    27. Social Media Analytics Measures the effectiveness of tweets, re- tweets, follower strategies Engage your audience hootsuite.com socialoomph.com i 1 2 3 4
    28. Topic 4 Implications for the Writer That's not writing, that's typing. Truman Capote
    29. Key Takeaway Content is King i 1 2 3 4
    30. Challenges Church & State Content & Advertising i 1 2 3 4
    31. The Role of the Writer Drive traffic to create adverting dollars Bring value to the freemium model Engage and entertain users for repeat visits Justify premium pricing on subscription sites Build your reputation and personal audience i 1 2 3 4
    32. Building a Reputation * Write your own blog * Define your voice and showcase your talent * Contribute to higher profile sites, even if they don't pay much * Promote your own content on Facebook and Twitter You are your own brand and traffic generator i 1 2 3 4
    33. Crush It – Gary Vaynerchuck The key to monetizing online * Differentiation from others in a niche * Take advantage of genuine personality * The more developed one's personal brand is, the greater the awareness, the greater the business opportunities available. No longer need to play in traditional structures. Gatekeepers are being eliminated. i 1 2 3 4
    34. Recap of Topics 1. Internet Business models 2. Advertising Deal Structures 3. Online Analytics 4. Implications for the Writer i 1 2 3 4
    35. Questions? Don't hesitate to get in touch: Tom Haney haney270@gmail.com http://www.tomfinder.com 513-876-5439 i 1 2 3 4

    Tom HaneyTom Haney + Follow

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