Gluten free guide

492 views
392 views

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
492
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Gluten free guide

  1. 1. Your Wellbeing, LLC Gluten Free Guide The following are a list of educational material available to Your Wellbeing, LLC patients. This information (including diet plans) can be found on Your Wellbeing’s health portal under the Diet section tab. Please note that each educational listing is specifically designed to assist a patient’s eating habits based off the correlating condition specified in the diet. These diets may not be used by anyone and everyone. If you have other health related issues that might be affected by our diet plans please contact a doctor for further guidance. Gluten Free Diet Purpose: This diet is designed to provide adequate nutrition while eliminating foods that contain gliadin, which is the alcohol-soluble extract of gluten, a protein found in barley, oats, rye, wheat, and wheat derivatives. The dietary guidelines below are intended for people with celiac sprue (also known variously as "celiac disease," "celiac syndrome," "gluten-induced enteropathy," "gluten-induced sprue," "idiopathic steatorrhea," and "nontropical sprue") and/or dermatitis herpetiformis (DH or Duhring's disease), for whom a gluten-free diet will help to prevent such complications as abdominal cramping and bloating, diarrhea, fatigue, excess intestinal gas, and weight loss. People with celiac sprue and/or DH must follow a gluten-free diet for life. For tips and information on reading food products' ingredient labels and on avoiding gluten when dining out, see the following sections. Reading Labels If you must avoid gluten, you can still eat a variety of foods In fact, by experimenting with a range of gluten-free products, you will be better able to provide your body with the nutrients it needs both safely and enjoyably. In addition to shopping for gluten-free products at your local supermarket or health-food store, you can order foods directly from the manufacturer or through the Gluten-Free Food Vendor Directory.  However you choose to do your shopping, you will need to be very careful not only about reading food labels but also about verifying the ingredients of any medications you purchase. The tips and information below may be helpful:  • In addition to avoiding all foods that list barley, oats, rye, wheat, or wheat derivatives in the ingredients, avoid products containing gluten stabilizers, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), and texturized vegetable protein (TVP).   • Ingredients marked as additives, cereals and cereal grains, colorings, emulsifiers, excipients, flavorings, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), malts, preservatives, starches (including modified starch or modified food starch),  vegetable gum, and vinegar may be derivatives of gluten-containing grains  • If an ingredient list does not appear on a food product's label, contact the manufacturer for detailed information (the manufacturer's name and address must appear on the label). There are no laws requiring that a product label indicate the inclusion of food sources that contain gluten, and food manufacturers and processors may change a product's formula without announcement. When in doubt about the contents of any commercial product, do not use the product until you have obtained the necessary ingredient information from the manufacturer. Most food manufacturers will provide information about their products upon request.
  2. 2. • Before you take any medication, check with your pharmacist or the product manufacturer to make sure that the medication is gluten-free. All medications have fillers or dispersing agents, some of which may include wheat starch.  Dining Out Restaurant menus almost never provide explicit information about the inclusion of gluten in dishes If you must avoid gluten, order very carefully Always ask your waiter to list the ingredients in dishes, and follow these guidelines:   • Ask your waiter specifically whether the dishes that you are interested in contain any of the following ingredients: barley, bran, bulgur, cereal     additives or products, durham, emulsifiers, flour, graham, HVP or TVP, malt or malt flavoring, millet, oats, rye, starch (modified starch or modified food starch), wheat, wheat germ, vegetable gum.  • Inquire about the methods of preparation as well as about the foods themselves. Flour and cereal products that contain gluten are often used in the preparation of dishes. Order meat, poultry, or fish, for example, only if the dish is prepared without breading, gravy, or sauce.  • Beware of food that is grilled; a restaurant's grill may be contaminated with gluten from other foods. • Beware of fried foods; the grease in which a restaurant fries food may be contaminated with gluten from other foods.   GLUTEN FREE ADDITIVES This is only a short, partial listing • BHA • BHT • Beta Carotene • Biotin • Calcium Phosphate • Calcium Chloride • Calcium Pantothenate • Carboxymethylcellulose • Carrageenan • Citric Acid • Corn Sweetner • Corn Syrup Solids • Demineralized Whey • Dextrose-Dextrins • Dioctyl Sodium Sulfosuccinate • Extracts • Folic Acid-Folacin • Fructose • Fumaric Acid • Invert Sugar
  3. 3. • Lactose • Lecithin • Magnesium Hydroxide • Malic Acid • Microcrystallin Cellulose • Mono- & Di-glycerides • MSG - Monosodium Glutamate • Niacin • Polyglycerol • Polysorbate 60 and 80 • Potassium Citrate • Potassium Iodide • Propylene Glycol Monostearate • Propylgallate • Pryidoxine Hydrochloride • Riboflavin • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate • Sodium Ascorbate - Ascorbic Acid • Sodium Benzoate • Sodium Caseinate • Sodium Citrate • Sodium Hexametaphosphate • Sodium Nitrate • Sodium Silaco Aluminate • Sorbitol – Mannitol • Sucrose • Sulfosuccinate • Tartaric Acid • Thiamine Hydrochloride • Tri-Calcium Phosphate • Vanillan • Vitamins & Minerals • Vitamin A (Palmitate) INFORMATION ON FLOURS AND THICKENING AGENTS GLUTEN FREE FLOURS 1. Acorn Flour (and commercial acorn bits) 2. Amaranth 3. Corn Flour
  4. 4. 4. Cornmeal 5. Cornstarch 6. Pea, Bean, Mung, Bean, Lentil Flours 7. Potato Flour 8. Potato Starch Flour 9. Rice Flour 10. Sago Flour 11. Soy Flour 12. Sweet Rice Flour 13. Tapioca Flour Substitutions for 1-Tablespoon wheat flour • 1/2 Tablespoon arrowroot starch • 1/2 Tablespoon cornstarch • 1/2 Tablespoon potato starch flour • 1/2 Tablespoon rice starch • 1/2 teaspoon Quick cooking tapioca • 1/2 Tablespoon rice flour • 1/2 Tablespoon sago (sago palm starch) • 1/2 Tablespoon gelatin • 2/3 Tablespoon tapioca flour Substitutions for 1 cup wheat flour: • 1 cup corn flour (if finely milled) • 3/4 cup coarse cornmeal • 1 scant cup fine cornmeal • 5/8 cup (10 Tablespoons) potato starch flour • 7/8 cup (14 Tablespoons) rice flour • 1 cup Soya flour plus 3 Tablespoons potato starch flour • 1 cup (purified) wheat starch • 1/3 cup soy flour, 1/3 cup potato flour, plus 1/3 cup rice flour • 1/2 cup soy flour plus ½ cup rice flour • 1 cup Soya flour plus ¼ cup potato flour Gluten free flour substitute mix • Can be substituted for wheat flour in any recipe except yeast bread. • 1 cup cornstarch • 1 cup brown rice flour • 1 cup white rice flour • 3 cups soy flour • 3 cups potato starch (not flour)
  5. 5. Mix together and sift 8 times (it is important to sift 8 times.) Mixture must be kept refrigerated. Suggestions for use: • Good thickening agents starch- Arrowroot starch, cornstarch, tapioca starch, rice • Good when combined with other flours - Cornflour, cornmeal potato flour, potato starch flour, rice bran, rice flours (plain, brown, sweet), rice polish, soy flour • Best combined with milk and eggs in baked product - Cornflour, cornmeal, potato flour, potato starch flour, rice flours (plain, brown, sweet) rice polish, soy flour • Grainy-textured products - Cornflour, cornmeal, sweet rice flour • Drier product than with other flours - potato flour, potato starch flour plain and brown rice flours • Moister product than with other flours - sweet rice flour • Adds distinct flavor to products: use with moderation-rice polish, soy flour. Problems: There are some problems in the use of substitutes for wheat flour. The following suggestions will improve the quality of the final product: • Rice flour and cornmeal tend to have a grainy texture. A smoother texture may be obtained by mixing the rice flour or cornmeal with the liquid called for in the recipe. Bring this mixture to a boil and then cool before adding to the other ingredients. • Soy flour must always be used in combination with flour, not as the only flour in a recipe. • When using other than wheat flour in baking, longer and slower baking is required. This is particularly necessary when the product is made without milk and eggs. • When using coarse meals and flours in place of wheat flour, the amount of leavening must be increased. For each cup of coarse flour use 22 tsp. of baking powder. • Substitutes for wheat flour do not make satisfactory yeast bread. • Muffins or biscuits, when made with other than wheat flour are of better texture if baked in small sizes. • Dryness is a common characteristic of cakes made with flours other than wheat. Moisture may be preserved by (a) frosting or (b) storing in closed containers. SAMPLE MENU FOR GLUTEN FREE DIET BREAKFAST Orange juice (3/4 Cup) Cream of rice cereal (1/2 Cup) Banana (1/2) Gluten-free toast (2 slices) Margarine (2 tsp.) Jelly (1 tbsp.) Milk (1 cup)
  6. 6. LUNCH Grilled hamburger (3 oz) French fries Gluten-free bread (2 slices) Pure mayonnaise (1 tbsp.) Tomato and lettuce Milk (1 cup) Coffee or tea SNACK Rice Krispie bar (1) Fruit juice (3/4 Cup) DINNER Tossed green salad (1 cup) Pure oil and vinegar dressing (1 tbsp.) Grilled chicken breast (3 oz) Roasted garlic potatoes (1/2 Cup) Steamed carrots (1/2 cup) Gluten-free bread (1 slice) Margarine (2 tsp.) Gelatin (1/2 cup)

×