Branding On The Internet

491 views
455 views

Published on

Presentation I gave at Cornell University discussing branding on the Internet

Published in: Business, Technology
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
491
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Branding On The Internet

  1. 1. Branding on the Internet Improved! Now with extra brandiness!
  2. 2. Iconic Brands
  3. 3. Whose brand are we building here?
  4. 4. Pick a brand. Any brand…
  5. 5. Google is super helpful
  6. 6. Does this build a brand?
  7. 7. Google vs. TV Top 10 35 30 25 20 15 10 5 0 Weekly viewers/visitors (millions) TV Top 10 Google
  8. 8. Google vs. CBS 25 20 15 10 5 0 2007 revenue (billions) 2008 revenue (billions) CBS Google
  9. 9. How do customers find you? Direct Navigation Referred Email Search – Natural & Paid
  10. 10. Inbox overload
  11. 11. Not just a PC • 4.1 billion mobile phones worldwide – Over 50% market penetration worldwide - in 26 years • 22 million people use the mobile web every day 14
  12. 12. “The future is already here, it’s just not evenly distributed” – William Gibson
  13. 13. Helpful resources Online Marketing • Seth Godin’s blog: http://sethgodin.typepad.com/ – Mike Moran’s Biznology: http://www.mikemoran.com/biznology/ – Steve Rubel’sMicropersuasion: http://www.micropersuasion.com/ – David Armano’s Logic + Emotion: http://darmano.typepad.com/ – E-commerce • Grok Dot Com – Future Now’s Marketing Optimization Blog: http://www.grokdotcom.com/ – Get Elastic – Elastic Path’s blog: http://www.getelastic.com/ – Social media • Chris Brogan: http://www.chrisbrogan.com/ – Josh Bernoff/Forrester’s Groundswell: http://blogs.forrester.com/groundswell/ – Customer intelligence/market research • Hitwise blog: http://weblogs.hitwise.com/ – Compete blog: http://blog.compete.com/ – Web analytics • AvinashKaushik’s Occam’s Razor: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/ – Shameless plug • Tim Peter’s blog: http://www.timpeter.com/blog/ –
  14. 14. References TV Top10 Ratings (January 19-25, 2009) Retrieved from: • http://blog.nielsen.com/nielsenwire/tag/cbs/page/7/ Google 1.2 billion weekly searches (January 2009) Retrieved from: • http://www.comscore.com/blog/2008/03/universal_search_a_first_lo ok.html CBS 2008 financial information retrieved from: • http://seekingalpha.com/article/121341-cbs-corporation-q4-2008- earnings-call-transcript?page=4 Google 2008 financial information retrieved from: • http://www.google.com/intl/en/press/pressrel/revenues_q408.html Mobile phone usage: • http://www.comscore.com/press/release.asp?press=2752 Mobile phone penetration: http://www.itu.int/ITU- • D/ict/publications/idi/2009/material/IDI2009_w5.pdf

×