information about Indian parliament


Published on

i hope it is use full for you

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

information about Indian parliament

  1. 1. Information about
  2. 2. Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses - Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha. The Constitution of India came into force on January 26, 1950. The first general elections under the new Constitution were held during the year 1951-52 and the first elected Parliament came into existence in April, 1952, the Second Lok Sabha in April, 1957, the Third Lok Sabha in April, 1962, the Fourth Lok Sabha in March, 1967, the Fifth Lok Sabha in March, 1971, the Sixth Lok Sabha in March, 1977, the Seventh Lok Sabha in January, 1980, the Eighth Lok Sabha in December, 1984, the Ninth Lok Sabha in December, 1989, the Tenth Lok Sabha in June, 1991, the Eleventh Lok Sabha in May, 1996, the Twelfth Lok Sabha in March, 1998, Thirteenth Lok Sabha in October, 1999, Fourteenth Lok Sabha in May, 2004 and Fifteenth Lok Sabha in April, 2009. More information on website:-
  3. 3. The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of people chosen by direct election on the basis of Universal Adult Suffrage. Maximum strength of the House is 552 members - 530 members to represent the States, 20 members to represent the Union Territories, and 2 members to be nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian Community. At present, the strength of the House is 545. The term of the Lok Sabha, unless dissolved, is five years from the date appointed for its first meeting. However, while a proclamation of emergency is in operation, this period may be extended by Parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time and not extending in any case, beyond a period of six months after the proclamation has ceased to operate. More information on website:-
  4. 4. List of member on website:- For watch online lok sabha go :-
  5. 5. State of India Andhra Pradesh-- 42 Arunachal Pradesh --2 Assam –14 Bihar-- 40 Chhattisgarh - 11 Goa-- 2 Gujarat-- 26 Haryana-- 10 Himachal Pradesh --4 Jammu & Kashmir --6 Jharkhand - 14 Karnataka --28 Kerala --20 Nagaland --1 State of India Orissa --21 Punjab --13 Rajasthan --25 Sikkim --1 Tamil Nadu --39 Tripura --2 Uttar Pradesh --80 Uttarakhand - 5 West Bengal –42 Madhya Pradesh --29 Maharashtra --48 Manipur --2 Meghalaya --2 Mizoram --1 Union Territories Andaman & Nicobar Islands --1 Chandigarh --1 Dadra & Nagar Haveli --1 Daman & Diu --1 Delhi --7 Lakshadweep --1 Pondicherry --1 Total number of State(1) member / Population of state(1) = Total number of state (2) member / population of state(2)
  6. 6. The Rajya Sabha should consist of not more than 250 members 238 members representing the States and Union Territories, and 12 members nominated by the President. Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years. The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The House also elects a Deputy Chairman from among its members. Besides, there is also a panel of "Vice Chairmen" in the Rajya Sabha. The senior most minister, who is a member of Rajya Sabha, is appointed by the Prime Minister as Leader of the House. More information on website:-
  7. 7. List of member on website:- For watch online lok sabha go :-