Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
  • Like
Symbols In Buddhism
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Now you can save presentations on your phone or tablet

Available for both IPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Symbols In Buddhism



Published in Spiritual
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
  • it rlly helped me on my essay thnx :)
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
No Downloads


Total Views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. Symbols in Buddhism Aim: To identify the main symbols used in Buddhism.
  • 2. Why Buddhism uses symbols?
    • Like all religions, Buddhism includes many ideas which are difficult to explain.
    • Using symbols helps to make things clear without having to use words.
    • In Buddhism, a symbol can express ideas about The Buddha and beliefs about life and enlightenment.
  • 3. The Three Jewels
    • The three jewels sum up the most precious part of Buddhist belief.
    • The 3 jewels represent:
    • The Buddha
    • The Dhamma
    • The Sangha (Buddhist community)
    • These remind Buddhists to follow the example of The Buddha and support others who are following the same path.
  • 4. The 8 Spoke Wheel
    • This is often used to represent Buddhism.
    • The 8 spokes represent the Noble Eightfold Path.
    • The wheel also looks like an ornate navigation wheel - a way to steer through out life.
  • 5. The Lotus Flower
    • A symbol of purity & goodness.
    • A lotus begins life in the mud at the bottom of a pond and rises to the surface to blossom.
    • It symbolises the passage from darkness to light, the passage from ignorance to wisdom – it represents enlightenment.
  • 6. Mandala
    • The mandala symbolizes the totality of existence, inner or outer.
    • It is a specially designed pattern made up of circles, squares and triangles – some include images of the Buddha.
    • Mandalas are used for focus in meditation.
  • 7. Stupa
    • The stupa is similar to an urn.
    • It is a symbolic grave monument where relics or the ashes of a holy monk are kept.
    • Stupas may also contain the ashes of lay Buddhists.
    • It also symbolizes the universe.
  • 8. Vajra
    • Translated as either Diamond or Thunderbolt.
    • Represents something hard and unbreakable like a diamond and also something sudden and powerful like a thunderbolt.
    • This symbolizes all that is powerful and determined about the Buddhist path. It is also a symbol of the indestructible state of enlightenment.
    • Often used in worship and ritual in Tibetan Buddhism.
  • 9. Symbolism on The Buddha
    • There are lots of symbols found on The Buddha himself (32)
    • The hand positions, mudras , and also the position of his body are significant.
    • A few of the most common symbols are…….
  • 10. Urna: Sometimes called the 3 rd eye in centre of forehead – this is a sign that Buddha can see things ordinary people could not. Flame above head (Ush nisha) : Illustrates enlightenment. Elongated Ears : Sign of wisdom. Half closed eyes : Sign of calmness. Curled hair: Represents a holy man.