• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Digital Technologies Symposium
 

Digital Technologies Symposium

on

  • 1,365 views

Presentation on software for learning to technology teachers in secondary schools at the Digital Techologies Symposium, Auckland, New Zealand, on 20 November 2008. I discussed young people's use of ...

Presentation on software for learning to technology teachers in secondary schools at the Digital Techologies Symposium, Auckland, New Zealand, on 20 November 2008. I discussed young people's use of software outside school and how we can adopt these practices and technologies in the classroom, with special reference to web 2.0 or social software, and the website http://softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,365
Views on SlideShare
1,365
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
1
Downloads
3
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Digital Technologies Symposium Digital Technologies Symposium Presentation Transcript

  • Software for Learning
  • http:// softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz
    • Technological practice
    • Undertaking technological practice has been shown to provide students with the opportunity to collaborate with others and make a difference to their own lives and developments in their immediate community.
    • This has resulted in high levels of student engagement and allowed students to take increasing ownership of their learning and feel empowered to make decisions regarding the nature of their outcomes.
    • p13 Technology Curriculum Support
    • http://www.techlink.org.nz/curriculum-support
    • 1. What’s happening outside school?
    • 2. How can we use software for learning?
  • http:// www.facebook.com/group.php?gid =21629585116
  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medieval_cuisine
  • http:// www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId =4110727509
  • http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v =pUnsKd4cw_U
  • http:// www.sellaband.com
    • 1. Take action
    • 2. Access information
    • 3. Connect with each other
    • 4. Create and publish
    • 5. Consume
    • While we use technology,
    • young people today live it.
    • Radio took 38 years to reach 50 million people. The telephone took 20 years. Television took 13 years to reach 50 million homes. Cell phones took 12 years. Cable TV took 7 years. The internet took 4 years. Blogging took 3 years. YouTube took 1 year.
    • (Larry Rosen, “Me, MySpace and I”)
    • 2. How can we use software for learning?
  • Scratch Alice
  • Google Sketch Up Blender
  • Bubbl.us Gliffy
  • Wikispaces Ning http://communityrights.wikispaces.com/Group+Five
  • Audacity iMovie
  • http://whsdtm8.blogspot.com
  • Voicethread http://room18tis.wikispaces.com /]
    • Your professional practice …
  • http://delicious.com/willowdale
  • http://rosetown.wikispaces.com
  • Atomic Learning Common Craft http://www.commoncraft.com
    • Support
    • Faculties of education at the universities
    • Auckland: Fiona Grant, f.grant@auckland.ac.nz
    • Waikato: Rochelle Jensen, rjensen@waikato.ac.nz
    • Massey: Heather Bell, h.bell@massey.ac.nz
    • Wellington: Jan Coleman, jan.coleman@vuw.ac.nz
    • Christchurch: Jocelyn Mackay, jocelyn.mackay@xtra.co.nz
    • Otago: David Young, david.young@dce.ac.nz
    • Teacher blogs http://www.nz-interface.co.nz/teacherblogs/
    • Netsafe http//www.netsafe.org.nz
    • Guidelines for Schools for the Online Publication of Student Images and School Work (on www.tki.org.nz)
  • Software for Learning http://softwareforlearning.tki.org.nz
    • Sarah Jones
    • e-Learning Team
    • Ministry of Education
    • [email_address]
    http://www.lunchbox.org.nz http://delicious.com/StudentDigitalWork