EA maturity models


Published on

A comparsion and review of EA Maturity Models

Published in: Technology, Business

EA maturity models

  1. 1. Enterprise Architecture(EA) Maturity Models<br />
  2. 2. What EA Maturity Models exist?<br />There is no standard model for EA Maturity<br />TOGAF refers to US Doc ACMM <br />As of July 2011, I found the following EA Maturity Models in the following categories: -<br />This presentations focuses on these models<br />
  3. 3. Common Traits for all EA Maturity Models<br />Most are modelled on the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)<br />The model has a number of levels(from 4-7) of maturity<br />Each level has an attribute or characteristic that can be rated based on the maturity of the activities performed by the EA function<br />Some models make recommendations in what are the areas of improvement<br />Some provide tools to help assess your maturity<br />
  4. 4. US Government - Doc US ACMM<br />Open<br />Downloadable for free, recommended by TOGAF<br />Levels<br />Six – None, Initial, Developing, Defined, Managed and Optimizing <br />Attributes: -<br />Uses 9 characteristics<br />Architecture Process<br />Architecture Development<br />Business Linkage<br />Senior Management Involvement<br />Operating Unit Participation<br />Architecture Communication<br />IT Security<br />Governance<br />IT Investment and Acquisition Strategy<br />Provides a means to do the measurement by not a tool as such. However enterprise-architecture.com provides a tool to assist in assessment called Eavaluator.<br />Comment : Very good, easy to follow<br />
  5. 5. ITScore for Enterprise Architecture <br />Measurement<br />Closed <br />Only for Gartner clients<br />Levels<br />Initial, Developing, Defined, Managed and Optimizing <br />Attributes: -<br />Stakeholder support and communication, team resources, EA development method, process integration, deliverables, disclosure and compliance, metrics, and stakeholder perceptions <br />Provides a tool<br />ITScoreDiagnostic Tool is used to evaluate your EA maturity<br />Comment : Very good, easy to follow<br />
  6. 6. Forrester EA Maturity<br />Measurement<br />Closed <br />Only for Forrester clients<br />Levels<br />1,2,3,4,5<br />Attributes: -<br />Uses Archetype-Based Approach<br />Orientation ( Business or Technology )<br />Focus ( Project or Strategy )<br />Provides a tool<br />Comment: A different take but too lightweight <br />Has an Excel Spreadsheet to ask questions that will feed into an assessment<br />
  7. 7. US Government General Accounting Office - A Framework for Assessing and Improving Enterprise Architecture Management<br />Open<br />Downloadable for free<br />Levels<br />Seven– Create EA awareness, Establish Commitment and Direction, Create a management foundation, Develop initial EA Versions, Using EA for targeted results, Use EA for transformation and Continuous Improvement<br />Attributes: -<br />Uses 4 success criteria<br />Demonstrates Commitment<br />Provides Capability to Meet Commitment<br />Demonstrates Satisfaction of Commitment<br />Verifies Satisfaction of Commitment<br />No Tool available<br />Very detailed and thorough, possibly too heavy<br />
  8. 8. The Levels of Maturity<br />Comparing Maturity Levels of the 4 different types of models – Gartner's and ACMM very similar<br />
  9. 9. The Attributes of Maturity<br />Comparing Attributes of the 4 different types of models – Gartner's and ACMM very similar, however Gartner has simplified the model<br />
  1. A particular slide catching your eye?

    Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.