SugarCon 2013: Inbound Marketing: A Love Story

1,105 views
1,053 views

Published on

Mike Volpe, HubSpot

We all know the balance of power has shifted and the buyer now holds all the cards. What does this really mean for marketing? How can you sell to today's buyer? What's love got to do with it? This presentation will try to change your view of marketing and your approach to generating more revenue through a lovable approach to engaging your customers.

5 Comments
4 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Packers and Movers Gurgaon goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/ Packers and Movers Hyderabad goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Delhi goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Packers and Movers in Hyderabad @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html Packers and Movers in Pune @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html Packers and Movers in Bangalore @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html Packers and Movers in Mumbai @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html Packers and Movers in Delhi @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html Packers and Movers in Gurgaon @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Packers and Movers Pune goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Bangalore goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Australian Swingers Contacts
    Australian Swingers Contacts is the number 1 swinging resource for Australian Swingers in Australia! Here you can meet, chat, find friends and like minded couples or singles for partner/wife swapping fun. We have been growing fast in the Cities, why not have a look at some of the latest members in these cities Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Townsville, Cairns, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, Sunshine Coast, Hobart Geelong.
    Join Now Here:>> http://australianswingerscontacts.com/
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,105
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
88
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
34
Comments
5
Likes
4
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • http://www.gallup.com/poll/151460/record-rate-honesty-ethics-members-congress-low.aspx
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDS2Xpglk1Q
  • http://twitter.com/meaghano/status/1767991757
  • http://offers.hubspot.com/marketing-benchmarks-from-7000-businesses
  • http://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/34132/How-to-Improve-Email-Clickthrough-Rate-by-583.aspx
  • http://www.gallup.com/poll/151460/record-rate-honesty-ethics-members-congress-low.aspx
  • SugarCon 2013: Inbound Marketing: A Love Story

    1. 1. INBOUNDMARKETING:A LOVE STORY.SugarCon 2013Mike Volpe, CMO @ HubSpot@mvolpe | mvolpe@hubspot.com
    2. 2. MARKETING HAS A LOVABILITYPROBLEM.stockbrokers lawyerscar salespeople lobbyistsmarketersLess Lovable More Lovable
    3. 3. PEOPLE USED TOLOVE ME. (right?)WHATHAPPENED?
    4. 4. HUMANS HAVE CHANGED.
    5. 5. HUMANS HAVE CHANGED.1990 2000 2010Hours Worked 9-5 8-6+ WheneverOffice 4 walls Open Cubicles iPhoneInternet None Email & Web ResearchEverythingin the CloudLearn aboutproductsTradeshows, Ads,Print Publications,Sales RepsTradeshows &GoogleSocial Media, Google,FreemiumBuying processSales Rep inOffice & Golf CourseSales Rep onPhone / WebNo Sales Rep
    6. 6. MOBILE UBIQUITY.VS.
    7. 7. SOCIAL & COLLABORATIVE.VS.
    8. 8. CONSUMERIZATION OF B2B.VS.
    9. 9. CHANGES IN CONSUMER ATTENTION.86%skip TV ads91%unsubscribe200mSay DO NOTCALL44%of direct mail isnever opened
    10. 10. HUMANS HAVE CHANGED.Social / Collaboration+ Mobile Ubiquity+ Cloud / SaaS+ Consumerization of B2B+ Changes in AttentionCustomer is in Control
    11. 11. HOW CAN YOUDO MARKETINGTHAT TODAY’SHUMANS WILLLOVE?
    12. 12. MARKETERSHAVE BEENBAD.
    13. 13. HOW NOT TO GET SOMEONE TO LOVE YOU.Love me!!!
    14. 14. 1% OF COLD CALLSWORK.THE OTHER 99%HATE YOUR GUTS.#INBOUND-- @MVOLPE
    15. 15. THE MARKETING PLAYBOOKIS BROKEN.86%skip TV ads91%unsubscribefrom email200Mon theDo Not Call list44%of direct mail isnever opened
    16. 16. VS.Cold CallingCold Emails (SPAM)Interruptive AdsMarketer - CentricSEOBloggingAttractionCustomer - CentricINBOUNDTRADITIONAL
    17. 17. NO ONE WAKES UPAND SAYS “I WANT TOSEE AN AD.”WHY DO MARKETERSWAKE UP AND SAY“LET’S MAKE AN AD”?#INBOUND-- @MVOLPE
    18. 18. CREATEMARKETING PEOPLELOVE.
    19. 19. INBOUND   $.*$65 million in revenue from inbound leads (blog, social, SEO)
    20. 20. INBOUND MARKETING= CONTENT +CONTEXT.
    21. 21. INBOUND MARKETING= CONTENT +CONTEXT.Content
    22. 22. http://twitter.com/meaghano/status/1767991757YOU DON’T FIND CUSTOMERS ANYMORE.THEY FIND YOU.
    23. 23. THINK LIKE A MEDIA COMPANY.“WHATWOULDOPRAHDO?”
    24. 24. DON’T INTERRUPTWHAT PEOPLE WANTTO CONSUME,BE WHAT THEY WANTTO CONSUME.#INBOUND-- @MVOLPE
    25. 25. BUILD MARKETING ASSETS.Blogs InteractiveToolsPhotos &InfographicsVideos &PodcastsPresentations& eBooks
    26. 26. 70%of ourblog leads arefromOLD articlesvsDO YOU OWN OR RENT YOURMARKETING?
    27. 27. Title Goes Here
    28. 28. INBOUND MARKETING= CONTENT +CONTEXT.
    29. 29. INBOUND MARKETING= CONTENT +CONTEXT.
    30. 30. KNOW THE CONTEXT.FriendsPC / iPhone / iPadIn PersonOnline quoterequest for SUV
    31. 31. IGNORE CONTEXT AT YOUR PERIL.3 days later the“marketingautomation” systemsends me this…(not anSUV)
    32. 32. CONTEXT IS MORE THAN EMAIL.5 days later Igo back to thewebsite and tryto rememberwhere theSUVs are…(not personalizedwebsite)
    33. 33. CONTEXT IS PERSONAL,NOT ONE SIZE FITS ALL.
    34. 34. ENGAGEMENT THROUGH CONTEXT.
    35. 35. THE AVERAGE UNSUBSCRIBE SCREEN.
    36. 36. GROUPON’S UNSUBSCRIBE HASCONTEXT.
    37. 37. HUMANS HAVE CHANGED.
    38. 38. MARKETING NEEDS TO FIXITS LOVABILITY PROBLEM.marketersLess Lovable More LovableYOU
    39. 39. Help Make Marketing a Noble ProfessionContent:• Blog• Social Media• SEO• OffersContext:• 360 view of contacts• Segment emails• Personalize websiteInbound Marketing
    40. 40. DO IT FORTHECHILDREN.
    41. 41. FOR THE LOVEOF MARKETING.Mike Volpe, CMO @ HubSpot@mvolpe | mvolpe@hubspot.com
    42. 42. AUGUST 19-22 2013HYNES CONVENTION CTRBOSTON, MATHE LARGEST GATHERING OFINBOUND MARKETERS.SAVE 50% OFFUSE PROMO: SUGARCONWWW.INBOUND.COM

    ×