Averages lie. Look at distributions. ATTENTIONWhat’s better? Site A, which has 3 visits per visitor or Site B which has 1.67 visits pervisitor? Site A Site B Visits # of Visitors Total Visits Visits # of Visitors Total Visits 1 1000 1000 1 10000 10000 2 0 0 2 0 0 3 0 0 3 0 0 4 0 0 4 0 0 5 1000 5000 5 2000 10000 Total 2000 6000 Total 12000 20000 3.00 visits per visitor 1.67 visits per visitorRemember: As your influence grows, many averages will decrease.
ATTENTIONHow often do people come back? **only use Returning Visitors
ATTENTIONWho’s given you permission to talk to them? (Who’s engaging?)
Conversation Rate CONVERSATIONAm I talking to myself or having a conversation? • Comments per post • # comment words per post
Awesome How do you measure this? CONVERSATION post. I With a blog stats plugin of course. learned so much!What did youmean when you said…? I see your point, but what about… Here’s another great post Conversations build relationships and loyalty.about this… Loyalty builds OUTCOMES BABY!
Amplification AMPLIFICATIONWhat is your impact beyond your blog? • Citations • Ripple Effect
AMPLIFICATIONA site’s standing & influence in the blogosphere. Authority is calculated based on a site’s linking behavior,categorization and other associated data over a short, finite period of time.A site’s rank among the Technorati Authority of sites.
Cost MONETIZATIONWhat is the cost of creating a great blog? • Technology costs • Opportunity costs • Writer costs
MONETIZATION• Hosting ($200/yr)• Domain Renewal ($10/yr)• Special Tools like iStockPhoto or Hootsuite ($250/yr)• Time away from working/employee’s time ($50/hr) x 10 hrs/week = $500/week x 52 weeks = $26,000/yr• Payments to professional writers ($7000/yr)• Technology Costs ($460) + Opportunity Costs ($19,000) + Writer ($7000) = $33,460
Benefit MONETIZATIONWhat is the value of my blog? • Comparative Value • Direct Value • Non-traditional Value • Unquantifiable Value
MONETIZATION Value you gain from actions taken directly on your website. MACRO- MICRO-CONVERSIONS CONVERSIONS
Direct Value MONETIZATIONValue you gain from opportunities offline.
Non-Traditional Value MONETIZATIONValue you gain from reduced costs and bonus opportunities.
MONETIZATIONValue you gain that isn’t monetary.
Options, Not Requirements. KPIS Choose 3-5 Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) whose improvement would mean progress in this season.
What is a KPI? It’s a metric that helps you understand how you are doing against KPISyour objectives. Objective Become an influencer in the Stark County community
What is a KPI? It’s a metric that helps you understand how you are doing against KPISyour objectives. Objective Attract more customers
What is a KPI? It’s a metric that helps you understand how you are doing against KPISyour objectives. Objective Make more money
When you analyze a KPI, make sure to practice segmentation, benchmarking and SEGMENTATIONtrending. Not only do averages lie, cumulative numbers hide actionable insights. Free Consultations Scheduled 10 9 8 Consultations Scheduled 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun
When you analyze a KPI, make sure to practice segmentation, benchmarking and SEGMENTATIONtrending. Not only do averages lie, cumulative numbers hide actionable insights. Free Consultations Scheduled Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Pinterest 14 12 Consultations Scheduled 10 8 6 4 2 Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun
Instead of drowning in data, create Action Dashboards that will keep you focused on ACTION DASHBOARD what’s important to your business. Free Consultations Free Consultations Scheduled Key Trends & Insights Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Pinterest 14 • Free Consultations scheduled are trending upwards overall 12 • Only LinkedIn is trending upwards (+7 in the last 6 months). This correlates with increased participation in targetedConsultations Scheduled 10 groups. 8 • The most time and effort has been put into Facebook without great results. 6 • Twitter has been consistent at 1 per month without much interaction on our part. 4 • We’ve gotten 1 per month from Pinterest because of our 2 awesome infographic. • Out of the 42 total consultations in the last 6 months, 14 have signed up (33%) Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Impact on Bottom Line Actions/Steps to take to move the dial • Each sign up is worth $5000 to the business. We’ve • Further increase group participation on LinkedIn. Test added $70,000 to the bottom line in the last 6 some other areas like “Answers.” months. • Increase Twitter interaction with targeted local contacts. • We believe our consult-to-sign up conversion rate • Shift Facebook time and energy to LinkedIn and Twitter. should be 50%. We did not achieve this goal, costing • Create more material for Pinterest to see the effects there. the business $35,000 in revenue. • Invest in sales training for our associates. • Test our free consultation form on the site for better conversion rates.
Thank You! Find Us www.PolePositionMarketing.com