Alallama2011

563 views
518 views

Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
563
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
94
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Alallama2011

  1. 1. Bridge to Somewhere:How to build a bridge<br />LLAMA Bridge to Somewhere<br />Stephen Abram<br />
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
  6. 6.
  7. 7.
  8. 8.
  9. 9.
  10. 10.
  11. 11.
  12. 12.
  13. 13.
  14. 14.
  15. 15.
  16. 16.
  17. 17.
  18. 18. The new bibliography and collection development<br />KNOWLEDGE PORTALS<br />KNOWLEDGE,<br />LEARNING,<br />INFORMATION &<br />RESEARCH<br />COMMONS<br />
  19. 19.
  20. 20.
  21. 21. List of content farms and general spammy user generated content sites:<br /><ul><li>All Experts (allexperts.com)
  22. 22. Answers (answers.com)
  23. 23. Answer Bag (answerbag.com)
  24. 24. Articles Base (articlesbase.com)
  25. 25. Ask (ask.com)
  26. 26. Associated Content (associatedcontent.com)
  27. 27. BizRate (bizrate.com)
  28. 28. Buzle (buzzle.com)
  29. 29. Brothersoft (brothersoft.com)
  30. 30. Bytes (bytes.com)
  31. 31. ChaCha (chacha.com)
  32. 32. eFreedom (efreedom.com)
  33. 33. eHow (ehow.com)
  34. 34. Essortment (essortment.com)
  35. 35. Examiner (examiner.com)
  36. 36. Expert Village (expertvillage.com)
  37. 37. Experts Exchange (experts-exchange.com)
  38. 38. eZine Articles (ezinearticles.com)
  39. 39. Find Articles (findarticles.com)
  40. 40. FixYa (fixya.com Helium (helium.com)
  41. 41. Hub Pages (hubpages.com)
  42. 42. InfoBarrel (infobarrel.com)
  43. 43. Livestrong (livestrong.com)
  44. 44. Mahalo (mahalo.com)
  45. 45. Mail Archive (mail-archive.com)
  46. 46. Question Hub (questionhub.com)
  47. 47. Squidoo (squidoo.com)
  48. 48. Suite101 (suite101.com)
  49. 49. Twenga (twenga.com)
  50. 50. WiseGeek (wisegeek.com)
  51. 51. Wonder How To (wonderhowto.com)
  52. 52. Yahoo! Answers (answers.yahoo.com)
  53. 53. Xomba (xomba.com)</li></li></ul><li>
  54. 54.
  55. 55. StrategicAnalytics<br />
  56. 56. What We Never Really Knew Before (US/Canada)<br />We often believe a lot that isn’t true.<br /><ul><li>27% of our users are under 18.
  57. 57. 59% are female.
  58. 58. 29% are college students.
  59. 59. 5% are professors and 6% are teachers.
  60. 60. On any given day, 35% of our users are there for the very first time!
  61. 61. Only 29% found the databases via the library website.
  62. 62. 59% found what they were looking for on their first search.
  63. 63. 72% trusted our content more than Google.
  64. 64. But, 81% still use Google.</li></li></ul><li>2010 Eduventures Research on Investments<br /><ul><li>58% of instructors believe that technology in courses positively impacts student engagement.
  65. 65. 71% of instructors that rated student engagement levels as “high” as a result of using technology in courses.
  66. 66. 71% of students who are employed full-time and 77% of students who are employed part-time prefer more technology-based tools in the classroom.
  67. 67. 79% of instructors and 86 percent of students have seen the average level of engagement improve over the last year as they have increased their use of digital educational tools.
  68. 68. 87% of students believe online libraries and databases have had the most significant impact on their overall learning.
  69. 69. 62% identify blogs, wikis, and other online authoring tools while 59% identify YouTube and recorded lectures.
  70. 70. E-books and e-textbooks impact overall learning among 50% of students surveyed, while 42% of students identify online portals.
  71. 71. 44% of instructors believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact on student engagement.
  72. 72. 32% of instructors identify e-textbooks and 30% identify interactive homework solutions as having the potential to improve engagement and learning outcomes. (e-readers was 11%)
  73. 73. 49% of students believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact on student engagement.
  74. 74. Students are more optimistic about the potential for technology.</li></li></ul><li>
  75. 75.
  76. 76.
  77. 77.
  78. 78.
  79. 79.
  80. 80.
  81. 81.
  82. 82.
  83. 83.
  84. 84. Take back the Strategy: Rebalance<br />
  85. 85.
  86. 86.
  87. 87.
  88. 88.
  89. 89.
  90. 90.
  91. 91.
  92. 92.
  93. 93.
  94. 94. Stephen Abram, MLS, FSLA<br />VP strategic partnerships and markets<br />Cengage Learning (Gale)<br />Cel: 416-669-4855<br />stephen.abram@cengage.com<br />Stephen’s Lighthouse Blog<br />http://stephenslighthouse.com<br />Facebook: Stephen Abram<br />LinkedIn / Plaxo: Stephen Abram<br />Twitter: sabram<br />SlideShare: StephenAbram1<br />

×