• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Sri Chakra

Sri Chakra



http://srividyasadhana.com ...

The Sri Chakra ("holy wheel") is a yantra formed by nine interlocking triangles that surround and radiate out from the central (bindu) point, the junction point between the physical universe and its unmanifest source. It represents the goddess in her form of Shri Lalita Or Tripura Sundari, "the beauty of the three worlds (Heaven, Earth, Hell)". The worship of the Sri Chakra is central to the Shri Vidya system of Hindu worship. Four isosceles triangles with the apices upwards, representing Shiva or the Masculine. Five isosceles triangles with the apices downward, symbolizing female embodiment Shakti. Thus the Sri Yantra also represents the union of Masculine and Feminine Divine. Because it is composed of nine triangles, it is known as the Navayoni Chakra.[1] "These nine triangles are of various sizes and intersect with one another. In the middle is the power point (bindu), visualizing the highest, the invisible, elusive centre from which the entire figure and the cosmos expand. The triangles are enclosed by two rows of (8 and 16) petals, representing the lotus of creation and reproductive vital force. The broken lines of the outer frame denote the figure to be a sanctuary with four openings to the regions of the universe".[2]

Together the nine triangles are interlaced in such a way as to form 43 smaller triangles in a web symbolic of the entire cosmos or a womb symbolic of creation. Together they express Advaita or non-duality. This is surrounded by a lotus of eight petals, a lotus of sixteen petals, and an earth square resembling a temple with four doors.[1]

The Shri Chakra is also known as the nav chakra because it can also be seen as having nine levels. "Nine" comes from "Nau or Nava" of Sanskrit. Each level corresponds to a mudra, a yogini, and a specific form of the deity Tripura Sundari along with her mantra. These levels starting from the outside or bottom layer are:[1]

Trailokya Mohan or Bhupar, a square of three lines with four portals
Sarva Aasa Paripurak, a sixteen-petal lotus
Sarva Sankshobahan, an eight-petal lotus
Sarva Saubhagyadayak, composed of fourteen small triangles
Sara Arthasadhak, composed of ten small triangles
Sarva Rakshakar, composed of ten small triangles
Sarva Rogahar, composed of eight small triangles
Sarva Siddhiprada, composed of 1 small triangle
Sarva Anandamay, composed of a point or bindu

The Sri Chakra (called the Shri Yantra) is the symbol of Hindu tantra, which is based on the Hindu philosophy of Kashmir Shaivism. The Sri Yantra is the object of devotion in Sri Vidya.

Sri Chakra, popularly mistaken to be a symbol of Lakshmi, is actually a representation of Lalita Mahatripurasundari, an aspect of Parvati Devi.[3] Shri does not mean Wealth in this context. The Shri Chakra is often referred as the Chakra Raja which means King of all Chakra which makes it a supreme instrument in the path of spiritual advancement.



Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



1 Embed 3

http://www.slashdocs.com 3



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.com

Sri Chakra Sri Chakra Presentation Transcript

  • http://www.srividyasadhana.com
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comSri Yantra is used in the Shodashi mahavidya known as Sri Vidya. Sri Yantra is also called Sri Chakra or Lalitha Chakra. The worship of Sri Yantra, the method of constructing it, and its complete explanation are given is Saundariya lahiri.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comShri yantra is constructed with an intersection of nine triangles. Four of these triangles are pointing upward and five downward.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comThe four upward-pointing triangles are Shiva triangles, and the five downward pointing triangles are Shakti triangles. A combination of these nine triangles makes Sri Yantra the most dynamic of all yantras.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comThe five downward-pointing triangles, or shakti triangles, are manifested as five tanmatras(sound, touch, sight, taste & smell), five mahabhutas(akash, air, fire, water & earth), five sense organs(ear,skin,eyes,tongue, & nose), and five organs of action(hands, feet,mouth,genitals,&anus).
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comIn human body these five elements are skin, nerves, flesh, fat, and bones. The four upward pointing triangles, which are Shiva triangles, represent the male energy and exist as chitta(being), buddi(intellect), ahamkar(ego), and manas (mind).
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comAs the five downward-pointing and four upward- pointing triangles intersecting and overlapping one another, producing forty-three visible triangles, similarly the male and female forces intersect in the cosmos, producing various objects of the phenomenol world.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comAs the bindu in the centre represents the Divine mother, so there is bindu in the sahasrar Chakra representing the individual consciousness, which is the self(jiva), soul, spirit, or atman
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comIf we construct a similar figure by intersecting eight triangles- four pointing upward and four pointing downward – it becomes balanced and static. The imbalance created by the addition of one more triangle makes the yantra dynamic and more powerful. Sri yantra is asymmetrical diagram, and the beauty of it is that when you look at it, it appears symmetrical.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comFor the purpose of worship, a Sri Yantra is engraved on copper, silver, and gold plates as a flat line drawing, or sculpted from stone and precious gems(quartz, crystals, etc.). This form of sri yantra looks like a pyramid, and there are many such yantras available from ancient times.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comSri yantra usually represents the body of the goddess Tripurasundari. Also it is known as yantra of cosmos. In the Bhairavayamal tantra it is clearly said that the yantra of Tripurasundari is of the shape of the cosmos.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comIn Kamakalavilas it is said that Sri Yantra is constructed on the same principles on which the human organism is constructed. Just as the body has nine chakras(psychic centres), so a Sri Yantra has nine chakras(groups), as follows,1. Bindu2. Trikon – central triangle which contains the bindu3. Astar – a group of eight triangles outside the trikon
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.com4. Antar Dashar – a group of ten inner triangles5. Bahir Dashar – a group of ten outer triangles6. Chatur Dashar – a group of fourteen triangles7. Ashta Dal – a ring of eight lotus petals8.Shodashi Dal – a ring of sixteen lotus petals9.Bhupar – the square form with four gates
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comThe word chakra in Sri Yantra means a group, not a psychic centres of Kundalini Yoga, but there is a definite relationship between the nine figures of Sri Yantra and the nine psychic centres.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comThe Kamakalavilas Agama states that it is very necessary to understand the true form of the goddess Tripur Sundari, and the only way to understand it is to understand Sri Yantra, which is symbolic form.
  • http://www.srividyasadhana.comThus it becomes clear that Sri Yantra isThe cosmic form (the diagram of evolution and development of the cosmos)The form of the human organism(the diagram of inner circuit of the body)The form of goddess Tripur Sundari(because the goddess energy, which pervades the entire phenomenal world)
  • For more details on Sri Yantra and SriVidya Sadhana visit at :http://www.srividyasadhana.com