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Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math

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Understanding online marketing numbers and data tracking

Understanding online marketing numbers and data tracking

Published in: Technology, Business

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  • 1. Why You Should Have Paid Attention in MathUnderstanding Online Marketing Numbers and Data TrackingSFU Summer 2011 Book Immersion July 22, 2011Twitter @boxcarmarketing
  • 2. Not everything that counts can be measured.Not everything that can be measured counts.Albert Einstein Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 3. There are 2 things we like to measure: Things that lead to sales Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 4. Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 5. What is a Conversion Rate• Number of visitors who perform a desired action / Number of visitors to a page• Desired action: buy a product, complete a form, etc.• If there are 100 visitors to a particular web page and 5 people buy a book, then the conversation rate is 5%• (5/100) * 100 = 5%• Abandonment Rate is calculated in the same way, but it’s the number of people who do not complete a task divided by the total number of visitors
  • 6. Sales
  • 7. Setting Up Goals • Admin Access • URL Destination Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 8. Things that lead to sales Twitter Followers Customer Feedback RTs Facebook Fans Email OpensWebsite Visitors Press Mentions Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 9. Did we make money means what is the ROI?• Return on Investment• Did I make more money than I spent?• Actually a tricky question: (Gross Profit - Marketing Investment) Marketing Investment• Gross Profit = Gross Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold <OR> Gross Profit = Gross Revenue * Profit Margin (% of revenue that is actually profit)• Invest $3,000 on marketing campaign and generate $30,000 gross revenue (1,000 copies sold at $30), if profit margin is 10%, then Gross Profit is $30,000 * 10% = $3,000 ($3,000 - $3,000) / $3,000 = 0%
  • 10. Things that lead to salesAcquisition Website Visitors, time on site Number of pageviews, repeat visits,Activation subscription (email, blog), account sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower Email Opens, Click-throughs,Retention Repeat visits Press Mention, RT, Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site; Refers 1+ visitors who activate Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 11. What is Click Through Rate?• CTR = Number of clicks on an ad / number of times the ad is shown• Applies to ads, buttons, banners, etc.• If banner ad is delivered 100 times (100 impressions) and receives 1 click, then the CTR = 1%
  • 12. If you don’t know where you’re going, any road willget you there.Misquote from Alice in Wonderland Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 13. A simple Contest • Reach a new audience or reinforce our connection to an existing audience Goal Lifecycle Action Reaction Metrics @ / RT / Comment Response Visitors Acquire Subscriptions Reach a new Listen Visit to the site Activate (email/RSS) audience Introduce Subscribe Fan/Follower Retain Return Account sign-up Return Visits @ / RT / Comment Response Repeat visits Reinforce our Retain Talk Email opens Visit the site connection to Referral Pitch CTR / Goal Funnel Act Mentionsexisting audience Revenue Thank Refer Referrals Referrals who convert
  • 14. Google Analytics: Annotations Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 15. Google Analytics: Title- or Author-Specific Searches
  • 16. Google Analytics: Audience Segments
  • 17. A simple campaign to increase Online Sales• Use Twitter or Facebook to inform prospects about special promotions.• Exclusive, limited-customer/limited time offers. Goal Metrics Increase monthly sales monthly sales attributable directly to SMM Segment & Funnel: new customersIncrease % value from new customers attributable directly to campaign Increase conversions from Segment & Funnel: monthly revenue Twitter traffic generated from customers from Twitter Repeat customers from that group Retain X% of new customers Unsubscribe rates
  • 18. Cost per Lead > Cost per Conversion• Cost per Lead = How much do I need to pay in order to get a visitor to my site who will take one of those micro actions that lead to a sale• Cost per Conversion = What does it cost me to acquire a customer? Total cost of a campaign / Number of Conversions
  • 19. Social Media Measurements Content Platform Ratio of Posts to X Peak Conversion Resonance Opens Day Email Opens CTR Time of Day Unsubscribes RTs Day Twitter RTs @ Time of Day Recos Like Day Facebook Interactions Share Time of Day Comment Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 20. Things that lead to salesAcquisition Website Visitors, time on site Number of pageviews, repeat visits,Activation subscription (email, blog), account sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower Email Opens, Click-throughs,Retention Repeat visits Press Mention, RT, Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site; Refers 1+ visitors who activate Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 21. $$$ $$$Investment Financial Impact Marketing Customer Non-financial Actions Reactions Impact Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 22. Ask me about this stuff.• Download this presentation Monique Trottier @boxcarmarketing monique@boxcarmarketing.com