Pub355W: Test Preparation & Review


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Pub355W: Test Preparation & Review

  1. 1. Review & Test Prep Nov 22, 2013 Contact Details Monique Sherrett 778-837-9012 Office Hours TBA
  2. 2. Learning Objectives
  3. 3. You Should Know • Social Media Tools and Best Practices • Show you can write a tweet, email subject line, press release headline • Recommend, Improve or Reverse Engineer a company’s social media use • Write a pitch letter • Identify pitch angles, selling points, talking points, keywords • Write a persona • Show a grid view of a plan • Calculate CPC, conversion rate • Know reasonable budgets / costs for marketing activities
  4. 4. Assignments & Readings Review the readings, especially Friends with Benefits and Open Brand Review Cluetrain Manifesto and best practices for conversation, community, collaboration Review assignment feedback
  5. 5.
  6. 6. Write down what you know about these things or questions you have
  7. 7. What Makes a Good Tweet Define your goals. Know what you want to accomplish before you create your tweets: • • • • • • • Pass along news Offer discounts and promos Generate leads Build customer loyalty Answer customer service questions Shape opinions Sell products RT, #hashtags and URLs are important To be shareable (& discoverable) aim for 115 characters vs. 140. • 55-70 characters for the description • 18-20 characters for or • Up to 100 characters with hashtags • 25 reserved for RT
  8. 8. Good Email Subject Line Useful (promised msg is valuable to reader) Ultra-specific (know what’s being promised) Urgent (need to take action now) Approx. 50 characters
  9. 9. What makes a good pitch letter? • Dear Name (Name is spelled correctly, Name is the name of the blogger. It’s personalized, never Dear Blogger) • You’ve checked the About page and search for “Pitch Policy” or “Review Policy,” PR, publicist--confirmed the person is open to pitches. If not, be prepared to be embarrassed online with a rant. See Beauty in the Ruins blog. • The title is spelled correctly, i.e., Long Gone Man not Lone Gone Man. The author(s) name is spelled correctly. • You’ve included a link for more details: publisher detail page, author website, press release link, etc. • Call to action: You have included the “ask” or clearly articulated what you are offering and how you want them to respond. • You have provided a closing and signature with your contact details.
  10. 10. Pitch Angle (or Building the Hook) • So what? Why now? • Have they reviewed the previous title or this author before? • Do they regularly write about this topic? How is this book different? • What are the selling points of the book? Can you turn those into newsworthy talking points? • Look for bloggers with a social media presence in particular GoodReads and Amazon as they’ll likely post multiple places.
  11. 11. Headline Summary Date 1st Paragraph Link Body Boilerplate Contact Attachment
  12. 12. Tips for Writing a Good Media Release • Start Strong: You have a matter of seconds to earn attention. • Be Newsworthy: The headline, summary and 1st paragraph should clarify the news. The rest of the release provides the details. It’s not a marketing pitch or advertisement. • Use Keywords: The headline and summary use keywords people are likely to use when searching for this type of information. • Identify Yourself: Identify the company, brand or product in the headline and summary. • Economize Your Words: Be concise. Aim for 60 characters including spaces for the headline and 1-4 sentences for the summary. • Pick an Angle: Make sure your release has a good hook. • Proofread: No spelling or grammatical errors.
  13. 13. Common Traits: Media Release & Pitch Letter Headline  =  Email  Subject  Line   • Keyword  Rich,  En0cing,  Makes  You  Want  to  Read  the  Full  Thing) • 60-­‐170  characters 1st  Paragraph  Keyword  Rich,  En@cing,  Makes  You  Want  to  Con@nue  Reading • Includes  a  link  to  relevant  content Body   • 300-­‐800  words • Newsworthy,  Timely,  Factoids  that  Provide  Context  to  Bigger  Picture,  Reason  for   Other  People  to  Care Contact  Details  (with  phone  number)   Links  &  ALachments  (Valuable  Content)
  14. 14. Influencers: How trends & creativity become contagious
  15. 15. Developing Personas • Personas are character sketches of individual audience members who represent the intended audience for the book. • Think of it as “Playing Barbies” or G.I. Joe • Personas are sounding boards. They move you away from what you personally think and feel and towards what the persona wants. • Ideally, a project will have both primary personas – common audience types who are important to the success of the book – and secondary personas – audience types who are very different from primary users but whose needs still need to be addressed for the success of the book. This helps to ensure that all audience needs are outlined. i.e., a primary persona might be the book reader while the secondary is a media reviewer. • Personas are also used to make a better book, or promotion campaign, that is more relevant to the audience.
  16. 16. Persona Worksheet • Name & Title • Basics: Demographics (age/life stage, gender, location), psychographics, likes or dislikes, leader or follower (adoption curve) • Professional & persona background: Employment, leisure, hobbies • Quote: Encapsulate the persona’s attitude towards the book or author(s) • Consumer experience: How do they currently interact with brands, Social Technographics Ladder—comfort with online activities • Top 3 Favourites: Websites, stores, experiences • Goals: What do they want to do? Motivations or desired outcomes? • I need / I want: What do they need or want in relation to the above goals?
  17. 17. Things that lead to sales Acquisition Goals related to creating awareness Activation Goals related to generating leads / potential customers Retention Goals related to keeping those prospects Referral Goals related to sharing, word of mouth, referrals, recommendations Sales Goals related to making $$$
  18. 18. Grid View Goals Goals should be specific and measurable. Show target # or % Marketing Actions This is an overview of what tactics you plan. Desired Audience Response Think about the customer life cycle and all the macro and micro actions that would show intention towards the goal KPIs Metrics should relate to the goal and desired response. Show alignment.
  19. 19. Online Advertising: Cost per Click • Pay per Click (PPC) advertising or Cost per Click • Cost per Click (CPC) is the amount you pay each time someone clicks your ad • If you spend $5,000 on ads and get 10,000 clicks, this is a CPC of $0.50 Cost ÷ Clicks = CPC $5,000 ÷ 10,000 = $0.50
  20. 20. Conversion Rate % of visitors who convert to a desired action: buy, sign-up, download In ecommerce, it’s % of Visits that convert to a purchase (make an order) Number of Orders ÷ Number of Visits = Conversion Rate (E-commerce) Say you run a Facebook ad sending people to your book detail page. You get 1500 impressions and 125 clicks on the ad. That’s 125 ÷ 1500 = 0.083, as a percentage 8.3%. Of the 125 people who click on the ad, 5 buy the book. What is the ecommerce conversion rate? 4%
  21. 21. Marketing & Publicity • Budgets. You don’t have one. Most marketing budgets are eaten up by co-op (merchandising with Amazon or Indigo). • $500-2500 is a common book marketing budget • Find cheap & smart ideas • $1000 at Amazon. Good because it’s a sales channel. You want the placement at retail channels. • Goodreads is the 2nd best place. Target audience when they are ready to buy or interested in books • Selling point: make it clear what is important about this book. 1st sentence of jacket copy, email, press release etc. is important. • Media needs the So What & Why Now: talking points/selling points/pitch angles • Identify the competitors: Similar pricing, comparable in terms of author reputation, subject matter, used to establish target #s, market research
  22. 22. Budgets, Costs and Time • Approximately 2 hours per channel per week in maintenance mode • 50-100 hours for a 2-week contest or in active campaign mode • $200 for contest badge or ad design • Facebook contest using 3rd party app, $100-500 (extra for promotion) • Facebook ads, est. $1000-5000 • Media release, est. $300-600 • Publicity $3-5000 per city • Landing page: $1500-4000 • Microsite: design $2500, programming Wordpress $5-7000 • Display Ads on blogs: per ad $750-1500+ • Video: $3-5000
  23. 23. Merchandizing Program: Major Retailers To gain greater visibility for titles: • Category promotion: $1500 • Seasonal Booklists: $500 • New & Notable (w/in 60 days of pub): $1500 • Paperback Picks (w/in 60 days of pub): $500 • Single Title Campaign: $7500 • Spotlight: 100+ • Email Blast: $4500 • Exclusive Landing Page, Books Homepage (1 week): $10-20,000
  24. 24. Contests • Like-Gate the Contest • Photos & Video can be a barrier to entry, aim for text that you can re-purpose • Add an incentive, share for more votes • Add a secondary action like sign up for newsletter. Don’t make it mandatory. • Don’t run the contest too long or too short • Most votes for random draw; grand prize for best entry based on jury selection • Provide a contest name, details
  25. 25. Ok, questions.