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    Pub355W: Review Pub355W: Review Presentation Transcript

    • Pub 355: Review Online Marketing Campaigns Presented October 25, 2012
    • Good Email Subject Line Useful (promised msg is valuable to reader) Ultra-specific (know what’s being promised) Urgent (need to take action now) Approx. 50 characters
    • Email Subject Line Examples Order New Phyllis Smallman for Backlist Discount 20% Discount on Phyllis Smallman Backlist w/New Order Special Offer w/ New Phyllis Smallman Mystery 20% Off Award-Winning Series by Phyllis Smallman with New Title Order 20% Off Previous Phyllis Smallman Novels with Purchase of Long Gone Man Limited Offer! 20% Off Phyllis Smallman Titles Order Long Gone Man & Get 20% Off Sherri Travis Mysteries Hurry! 20% Off Bestseller Phyllis Smallman Titles Save Now: 20% Off Phyllis Smallman Sherri Travis Mysteries
    • What Makes a Good Tweet Define your goals. Know what you want to accomplish before you create your tweets: • • • • • • • Pass along news Offer discounts and promos Generate leads Build customer loyalty Answer customer service questions Shape opinions Sell products RT, #hashtags and URLs are important To be shareable (& discoverable) aim for 115 characters vs. 140. • Include a link • Use @ # or RT as appropriate
    • Tweet Examples Join @TouchWoodEd for the release of COCKTAIL CULTURE http://bit.ly/ccevent in #Victoria with @LiquidRev Master Mixologists Shawn Soole (@LiquidRev) & Nate Caudle launch #cocktail #book Cocktail Culture Sept 30 at Little Jumbo http://bit.ly/ccevent #yyj Spectacular #Cocktails & Hidden Talents at Little Jumbo in Victoria Sept 30 @6pm with @LiquidRev http://bit.ly/ccevent Join @LiquidRev & Nate Caudle at Little Jumbo #Victoria to promote #CocktailCulture book launch http://bit.ly/ccevent Hey #Victoria #foodies Join @LiquidRev & Nate Caudle Sept 30 to celebrate their new #cocktail recipe book http://bit.ly/ccevent Love #cocktails? Join @LiquidRev & Nate Caudle for a night at Little Jumbo Sept 30, 6 pm! http://bit.ly/ccevent Kickstart Monday with #cocktails at Little Jumbo Sept 30 as @LiquidRev & Nate Caudle celebrate their new book http://bit.ly/ccevent
    • Support Canadian Writer Phyllis Smallman Dear Monique, My name is Dwi Widjaja and I do marketing for Touchwood Editions, a local Canadian book publisher based in Victoria, B.C.. We are presently searching for bloggers to do blogger reviews for our Fall Mystery Books 2013. After reading the book reviews on your blog So Misguided, we realised that you enjoyed books by Louise Penny (we read your reviews on The Beautiful Mystery and A Trick of Light!). We think that you might also enjoy books by Phyllis Smallman, a Canadian mystery books writer. Her latest book Long Gone Man is a the first of her new Singer Brown Mystery Series. Long Gone Man is novel set in the Gulf Islands of British Columbia. The plot revolves around Singer Brown, a homeless street singer, who enters a world of jealousy, greed and murder as she tries to look for revenge for the death of her lover. Smallman is an award-winning author who is well-known for The Sherri Travis Series and the we want to continue supporting her works as a Canadian writer. We would like you to take part and work with us in supporting Smallman and her new series by writing a review about Long Gone Man on So Misguided! We will be offering all participating bloggers to join us for a night with Phyllis Smallman and other Canadian mystery book writers like Debra Purdy Kong and Sandy Frances Duncan on the 24th of November, 6:00 p.m. at the CBC Studio 700. Food and beverages will be provided and this event will be an opportunity for you to not only connect with book authors but also other local bloggers. If you would like to take up this opportunity, we would be more than happy to send you a copy of Long Gone Man as soon as you provide us the mailing address. Let us know if you are interested or have any questions. Hope to hear from you soon! Best...
    • Invitation to review award-winning author’s Cocktail Culture recipe book Dear Monique, I am writing to you on behalf of TouchWood Editions regarding our newest title: Cocktail Culture by Shawn Soole and Nate Caudle. I was pleased to notice that you have previously reviewed similar cocktail recipe books in the industry, and thus, I was hoping that you would consider reading Cocktail Culture and providing a review. There are a number of reasons why Cocktail Culture is a unique recipe guide. To begin, it focuses on the trendy west-coast culture of cocktails. This sets the book apart from international competitors since it also compiles recipes ranging from the beginner mixologist to the experienced bartender. Furthermore, Cocktail Culture showcases a new and vibrant cocktail culture with the addition of esthetically pleasing and highly produced glossy colour photography. It is evident to the staff at TouchWood Editions that your reviews are always thoughtful and thorough. If this title is of interest to you, I would greatly appreciate if you would write a review for this book at your earliest convenience. In return, I believe that you will genuinely enjoy the informative recipes and entertaining content. If you are simply too busy at this point in time to read the entire book and provide a review, we would also greatly appreciate a mention on your popular Twitter and/or Facebook channels in order to bring attention to this new title. If for some reason this title does not appeal to you but you would be interested in learning about other titles, our catalogue can be mailed to you at your convenience. I truly thank you for your time and consideration. I look forward to hearing from you. For more information on the authors and Cocktail Culture please visit www.coktailculture.ca. Sincerely, Kayzia Wister TouchWood Editions 103 - 1075 Pendergast Street Victoria, BC V8V 0A1 Ph: (604) 616-1701 Email: Kayzia@touchwood.ca
    • Isn’t it time you cozy up with a good book? Dear Monique, Luckily for you, we have just the good book to cozy up with. Phyllis Smallman’s Long Gone Man may be the first in her new series, but if you recall, you’ve read and enjoyed earlier works by this same award-winning Canadian author. Your blog’s faithful followers “liked” your past review of Smallman’s book, so treat them to another dose of real Canadiana with a twist. If you’re willing, we will send you a complimentary copy of Smallman’s Long Gone Man for you to enjoy and all we ask in return is a short review on your blog. Just your honest opinion, which everyone who follows your popular literary blog has learned to respect. Just say the word, and I will personally FEDEX a new edition will be shipped to your doorstep that day. Sincerely...
    • Quench Your Thirst with Cocktail Culture by International Bartenders Shawn Soole and Nate Caudle Dear Monique Sherrett, As a litblogger and CEO of boxcarmarketing, living a double life must leave you no time for fun, parties or simply time to relax. Having recently come across your twitter post about “Reasons Why Mommy Drinks”, I’m sure you don’t need an explanation on why it’s nice to have a drink every once in awhile. I’m Adriel Tam, a public relations coordinator for Touchwood Editions (www.touchwoodeditions.com) who is promoting the recipe book Cocktail Culture written by 2012 International Bartender of the Year, Shawn Soole and his aspiring bartending partner Nate Caudle. Experienced bartenders and beginner mixologists alike will be able to quench their thirsts with 110 colour photo recipes and techniques from world-class bartenders. Cocktail Culture will also give insight upon the flourishing cocktail scene in Victoria, B.C that is on par with the world’s trendiest hot spots. This book will unveil the young and vibrant new cocktail culture. I would appreciate it if you would kindly review Cocktail Culture. With Halloween just around the corner, we could have a Halloween giveaway to the top 25 people with the best photo of their cocktail and costume. During Christmas, there will be a special Christmas cocktail recipe giveaway as well. As special thanks for considering this review, we will be sending you a free copy of Cocktail Culture and special holiday cocktail recipes. Please let us know if you would prefer a hardcopy or electronic copy. Also, if you are in the area, please do drop by Little Jumbo, Victoria, BC complimentary cocktails on us. Additional Links: Shawn Soole http://bit.ly/H2SwXm; contact: https://twitter.com/LiquidRev    •Publications in Chilled Magazine    •Features in New York Times (http://nyti.ms/dFDnuI) and EAT Magazine (http://bit.ly/Is0kh2) Nate Caudle (http://bit.ly/19H6yHd) Cocktail Culture Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CocktailCultureBook Bartending Team: http://www.mondaymag.com/news/172568021.html Blog Feature: http://ohvictoriasays.com/2013/10/10/behind-the-bar/ Attached, you will find Shawn Soole,Nate Caudle and the cover of Cocktail Culture. I hope to hear from you soon. Thank you again.
    • Free review copy of award-winning author's new mystery "Long Gone Man" Dear Monique, Hello, I am very excited to be working on the promotion of award-winning Canadian author Phyllis Smallman's new book, Long Gone Man.  This is the first novel in her new and highly anticipated Singer Brown Mystery Series, which is set in the Gulf Islands of British Columbia.  Full of secrecy, revenge, and of course, murder, her new book is sure to keep you guessing.  We very much enjoyed your review of her Sherri Travis Mystery Series, and would like to work with you again on the promotion of Long Gone Man.  In exchange for a review including a link to our publisher page on your blog SoMisGuided.com, we would like to offer you a free review copy of Long Gone Man in the format of your choosing.  We value your opinion as a Canadian book lover, and look forward to working with you again. Yours Truly, Katie Albertson Marketing Executive TouchWood Editions www.touchwoodeditions.com
    • Pitch Angles 1) Huffington Post (National Newspaper) Huffington Post has a ‘Taste’ section and recently posted an article “Can't Miss Cocktails You Have To Drink This Fall (PHOTOS)” by Rebecca Orchant. I would send an email pitch to her and send her a copy of the book and invite her to a taste testing. Or, I can send the book to a book reviewer at the Huffington Post who specializes in food and drinks and who already mixes drinks himself and can review the book. 2) CBC Books (http://www.cbc.ca/books/2011/07/literary-­‐ cocktails-­‐contest-­‐your-­‐recipes.html & Twitter: cbcbooks) CBC Radio has a segment on “Your Recipes” within CBC Books and “Canada Reads”. I would try tweeting about Cocktail Culture to CBC Books twitter account and or send them a more formal email too. I would ask if they could include some recipes and a link to where people can buy the book, or if possible have the actual authors speak on air to promote the book. 3) Cocktail Deeva http://www.cocktaildeeva.coms This Canadian blogger is an award-winning author of Libations of Life, A Girls Guide to Life One Cocktail at a Time; she hosts cocktail events and blogs about recipes and cocktail news. She is also an avid Facebook and Twitter user so I would probably direct tweet about the new book and see if she re‐tweets or posts about it in the next few days. 4) Canadian Magazine: Canadian Living Magazine (print and online) http://www.canadianliving.com It would be great to have a feature spread on the authors themselves and their story on Cocktail Culture. Many people who read Canadian Living are most likely into hosting parties so to have a book like Cocktail Culture would be perfect. There was even an article by Kenney Pires called, “25 Awesome BBQ-­‐friendly cocktails.” I would send an email to the Publisher about the feature idea, or directly to Kenney Pires to review the book. If not either, I will also pitch about having an ad about the new book within the magazine.
    • Pitch Angles 4) Canadian Magazine: Canadian Living Magazine (print and online) http://www.canadianliving.com It would be great to have a feature spread on the authors themselves and their story on Cocktail Culture. Many people who read Canadian Living are most likely into hosting parties so to have a book like Cocktail Culture would be perfect. There was even an article by Kenney Pires called, “25 Awesome BBQ‐friendly cocktails.” I would send an email to the Publisher about the feature idea, or directly to Kenney Pires to review the book. If not either, I will also pitch about having an ad about the new book within the magazine. 5) National Television: CTV News “The Social” (http://www.ctv.ca/TheSocial/Food/Food/Celebrity-­‐inspired-­‐ champagne-­‐ cocktails.aspx) There is an article on their website and a TV segment with The Social: Food called “Celebrity-­‐inspired champagne cocktails” where the hosts reviewed cocktails on TV. We could get Shawn and Nate to make the cocktails and promote their new book Cocktail Culture. I would most definitely use Twitter and Facebook and an email to make sure they take notice as I would suspect they have an agenda to follow and are pitched to all the time. I would mention they have done a similar segment on cocktails before but now this is a distinctly Canadian book written on the Victoria scene as it has now become the go to place for nigh-­‐life culture. CTV can bank on that and make it “news”.
    • Questions • 1 minute. Talk to your neighbour. At least 1 question.
    • Conversion Rate % of visitors who convert to a desired action: buy, sign-up, download In ecommerce, it’s % of Visits that convert to a purchase (make an order) Number of Orders ÷ Number of Visits = Conversion Rate (E-commerce) Say you run a Facebook ad sending people to your book detail page. You get 1500 impressions and 125 clicks on the ad. That’s 125 ÷ 1500 = 0.083, as a percentage 8.3%. Of the 125 people who click on the ad, 5 buy the book. What is the ecommerce conversion rate?
    • Quiz • Imagine you’re running an online advertising campaign promoting a bestselling novel. • The goal is 2,000 pre-orders. • The cost of the book is $29.99 • You’ve spent $5,000 on ads. • Your ads have received 400,000 impressions and generated 200 pre-orders to date. • What is the conversion rate for pre-orders from this ad campaign? • What is the net income (total revenue - expenses) this ad campaign generated?
    • A simple Contest • Reach a new audience or reinforce our connection to an existing audience Goal Reach a new audience Reinforce our connection to existing audience Lifecycle Acquire Activate Retain Retain Referral Revenue Action Listen Introduce Talk Pitch Thank Reaction Metrics Response Visit to the site Subscribe Return @ / RT / Comment Visitors Subscriptions (email/RSS) Fan/Follower Account sign-up Return Visits Response Visit the site Act Refer @ / RT / Comment Repeat visits Email opens CTR / Goal Funnel Mentions Referrals Referrals who convert
    • A simple campaign to increase Online Sales • Use Twitter or Facebook to inform prospects about special promotions. • Exclusive, limited-customer/limited time offers. Goal Metrics Increase monthly sales monthly sales attributable directly to SMM Increase % value from new customers Segment & Funnel: new customers attributable directly to campaign Increase conversions from Twitter traffic Segment & Funnel: monthly revenue generated from customers from Twitter Retain X% of new customers Repeat customers from that group Unsubscribe rates
    • Social Media Measurements Platform Email Twitter Facebook Peak Conversion Content Resonance Opens Day Time of Day Opens CTR Unsubscribes RTs Day Time of Day RTs @ Recos Interactions Day Time of Day Like Share Comment Ratio of Posts to X Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
    • Readings Darren Barefoot and Julie Szabo, “Chapter 6: Measuring Success: How to Monitor the Web,” Friends With Benefits, 99-114. Boxcar Marketing, “How To Develop An Online Marketing Strategy: The 7-Sentence Marketing Plan,” http://www.boxcarmarketing.com/blog/item/how-to-develop-anonline-marketing-strategy-the-7-sentence-marketing-plan/ Boxcar Marketing, “How To Use Social Media For Events,” http:// www.boxcarmarketing.com/blog/item/how-to-use-social-media-for-events/ Boxcar Marketing, “How To Use Social Media for Events Part 2,” http:// www.boxcarmarketing.com/blog/item/how-to-use-social-for-events-part-2/ Jay Baer, “6 Social Media Success Metrics You Need to Track,” Social Media Examiner, http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/6-social-media-success-metrics-youneed-to-track/ Olivier Blanchard, “Basics of Social Media ROI,” http://www.slideshare.net/ thebrandbuilder/olivier-blanchard-basics-of-social-media-roi Social Media ROI: Socialnomics, http://youtu.be/QzZyUaQvpdc
    • Other Questions?
    • Contact Info Monique Sherrett monique@boxcarmarkting.com 604-732-6467