Social Media Buyers Guide Preview
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Like this? Share it with your network

Share

Social Media Buyers Guide Preview

on

  • 9,275 views

This is the first public preview of the findings of the joins Social Media Buyers Guide project produced by Social Media Club and e-Storm. Further details on the project can be found on ...

This is the first public preview of the findings of the joins Social Media Buyers Guide project produced by Social Media Club and e-Storm. Further details on the project can be found on http://socialmediabuyersguide.com/

Statistics

Views

Total Views
9,275
Views on SlideShare
7,127
Embed Views
2,148

Actions

Likes
21
Downloads
209
Comments
0

35 Embeds 2,148

http://www.web2expo.com 760
http://www.socialmediaclub.org 737
http://socialmediabuyersguide.com 332
http://www.buildingwebapps.com 197
http://www.e-storm.com 29
http://blog.slideshare.net 18
http://racetalkblog.com 14
http://feeds.feedburner.com 12
http://www.slideshare.net 7
http://prmachine.blogspot.com 5
http://socialmediabuyersguide.org 4
http://www.thedailyanchor.com 3
http://buildingwebapps.com 3
http://meenachopra.blogspot.ca 3
http://www.alaindelcroix.com 2
http://translate.googleusercontent.com 2
http://jaredroy.blogspot.com 2
http://www.cathrynhrudicka.com 1
http://meenachopra.blogspot.com 1
http://jaredroy.blogspot.com.es 1
http://www.prmachine.blogspot.com 1
http://meenachopra.blogspot.ch 1
http://socialmediabuyersguide.com. 1
http://www.newsblur.com 1
http://localhost 1
http://www.brandhackers.com 1
http://cz.multiversestudios.pl 1
http://pop.socialmediabuyersguide.com 1
http://imap.socialmediabuyersguide.org 1
http://smtp.socialmediabuyersguide.org 1
http://conversation.ecairn.com 1
http://74.125.45.132 1
http://74.125.93.104 1
http://feeds2.feedburner.com 1
http://theoldreader.com 1
More...

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

CC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike LicenseCC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike LicenseCC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Social Media Buyers Guide Preview Presentation Transcript

  • 1. Social Media Buyer’s Guide @ Web 2.0 Expo http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif PREPARED BY William Gaultier, CEO - e-Storm International Chris Heuer AdHocnium • Founder of Social Media Club Short Description A Joint Project by: Month Year 1 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 2. What We Are Doing Today • Discussing the responses from organizational buyers to our survey and our podcasts • We will be providing a sneak peak of an ebook we will be releasing at the end of next week. • Earlier this week we launched http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif http://socialmediabuyersguide.com/ where we will continue the discussion • This presentation is available for download at http://slideshare.net/socialmedia/ A Joint Project by: 2 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 3. Our Panel of Organizational Buyers • Isabelle Christensen, REC Solar • Jeanette Gibson, Cisco • Michael Walsh, Social Media Club Seattle http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 3 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 4. Project Background http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 4 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 5. Why are we here? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 5 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 6. It’s time to stop selling and start helping people buy http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 6 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 7. What We Did? • Survey Monkey • Podcasts • Wiki • Blog http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif – http://bit.ly/buyersguide for links to everything – Tag for project is #SMBG A Joint Project by: 7 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 8. Total Survey Size • From March 4 – March 26, 2009 • 145 Total Respondents – 67 completed survey • 46 Organizational Buyers http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif – 27 completed survey A Joint Project by: 8 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 9. Geographical Location of Respondents http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=45 of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 9 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 10. Our Preliminary Findings http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 10 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 11. It’s Real. Social Media is Here to Stay. http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 11 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 12. Does your company have a defined http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 12 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 13. People in your organization who quot;getquot; http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 13 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 14. Does Senior Management Support http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 14 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 15. Does Senior Leadership Listen to Social http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 15 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 16. Do Corporate Buyers have an annual http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 16 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 17. Percentage of your total budget http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif N=19 of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 17 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 18. so lets stop presenting and start talking… http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 18 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 19. The Buying Process • Discovery of Need • Definition of Need • Survey the Land • Identify Potential Vendors http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ • Proposals and Negotiations f/logo_smc-1.gif • Decision Making • Follow Through A Joint Project by: 19 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 20. What are the top 3 Questions you http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif n=21of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 20 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 21. What are the top 3 Questions you should ask social media vendors? • “What is your commitment to our brand to make sure it works?” – Paula Drum. H&R Block • “Do you understand the business I am in well enough to be a strategic partner in my communications efforts? How will you help me achieve my business http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ objectives? How will you measure the results you have promised?” f/logo_smc-1.gif – Joel Postman, Intridea • “What needs does your tool/service specifically meet? What training will my users require to be able to use this effectively? Where would your tool work best, and in which situations would not be the best choice?” – Jeff Moriarty A Joint Project by: 21 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 22. So what are your top questions to ask? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 22 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 23. Key Finding: ROI is Everyone’s Favorite Acronym http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 23 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 24. Top Social Media Objectives http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 24 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 25. Do you currently produce reports? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif N=16 of 46 org buyers A Joint Project by: total respondents 145 25 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 26. What type of metrics do you use to http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: n=27 26 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 27. What's the ROI? It depends on what the tactic is that you are using online. It can be very difficult ROI means a few things to us. We track how much content we’re growing, how much traffic we’re getting. We try as hard as possible to http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ drive it back to some metric we can measure on, f/logo_smc-1.gif especially from a goal-setting perspective. • Luc Levesque, from Travelpod A Joint Project by: 27 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 28. What's the ROI? What I do internally is for the type of business that we do, we track two things for all of our marketing efforts. Number one is the cost per lead. That is something we can track. Secondly, is the payback for this investment to launch this campaign? We don’t have any fancy http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ tool at this moment to track the lead generation f/logo_smc-1.gif and the payback. Basically, we use Google Analytics and Excel spreadsheet to track that information. – Isabelle Christensen from RECsolar A Joint Project by: 28 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 29. What's the ROI? It’s on more of a brand and even vehicle level than the entire experience somebody has with General Motors from end to end. [...There are...] multiple kinds of measures of success – Christopher Barger, Directorhttp://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ GM of Social Media Communications, f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 29 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 30. So how you look at ROI? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 30 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 31. Key Finding: The Foundation for Social Media Strategy http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 31 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 32. Are you focused on the short term bottom line or building brand http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ preference over time? f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 32 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 33. Is it an impulse buy or a considered purchase? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 33 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 34. Short Term Revenue Driving For 2009, the marketing objective for the company really is more short term than long term. It’s mostly for lead generation; therefore, based on those criteria, the social media advertising really doesn’t support our objective. http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif I would use social media advertising when my marketing objective is for long term demand generation and branding. – Isabelle Christensen from RECsolar A Joint Project by: 34 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 35. Long Term Brand Preference How do you impact the consideration of your products? Are there people who, prior to their interaction with you, weren’t even going to be willing to consider an American vehicle or a GM vehicle, who are now looking differently at it. Have you shifted the tonality of their conversations on their sites? Have you shifted the tonality of the http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ conversations in whatever platform you’re engaging? Are f/logo_smc-1.gif you increasing the consideration? Are you increasing the brand affinity? Are you increasing the number people who are just willing to say, “I’ll give you a chance, where I wouldn’t have before the engagement”? – Christopher Barger, Director of Social Media Communications, GM A Joint Project by: 35 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 36. Long Term Brand Preference One of my big measurements is how do I increase consideration in my brand. You might have to look at different ways to get to a bigger brand building measure, such as changing consideration. Definitely, the micro measurements of ‘did I increase search rankings, how http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ many people, and what activity has happened’ is one of f/logo_smc-1.gif them. PR mentions would be another one, but then you might have to put something in or alter your brand tracking studies or your product tracking studies to be able to get to something that might be a higher level metric. – Paula Drum VP of Marketing Digital Division H&R Block A Joint Project by: 36 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 37. So which approach is best suited for Social Media with your strategy? Why? http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 37 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 38. What is the Most Important Advice for Other’s Buying Social Media Services, http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ Technologies and Advertising? f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 38 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 39. Further Advice From Your Peers http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 39 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 40. beware of firms that • use fear of not being out there to try to motivate you • use an excessive amount of bells and whistles • only focus on what they do http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ – Christopher Barger, GM f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 40 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 41. flexibility Again, something unexpectedly good or bad happens; how willing are they to help change directions, to accommodate your goals? You have to adjust to things on the fly that you just have no ability to see into the future what might come up http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ every project is a little bit different f/logo_smc-1.gif – Paula Drum, H&R Block A Joint Project by: 41 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 42. inefficient silos There is the Digital Marketing Group that literally sits in one tower and there’s the communications social media group that sits in another tower. Unfortunately, we’ve kind of been experimenting in separate and often different directions without really coordinating with each other. http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ As we are going about the kind of reorganization that f/logo_smc-1.gif we’re doing right now, one of the big things that we’re trying to figure out is how to better connect these. These are not things that can happen separately, any longer. – Christopher Barger, GM A Joint Project by: 42 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 43. seek out vendors demonstrating native like familiarity measured objectives they have accomplished for others familiarity with KPIs/benchmarks http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ – Isabellef/logo_smc-1.gif Christensen from RECsolar A Joint Project by: 43 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 44. With Special Thanks To: • Isabelle Christensen, REC Solar • Jeannette Gibson, Cisco • Michael Walsh, Social Media Club Seattle http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 44 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 45. There is so much more to discuss... http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif A Joint Project by: 45 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009
  • 46. So join the conversation at http:// socialmediabuyersguide.com/ Chris Heuer chis@adhocnium.com http://socialmediaclub.pbwiki.com/ f/logo_smc-1.gif Gaultier William william@e-storm.com A Joint Project by: 46 SocialMediaBuyersGuide.com Friday, April 3, 2009