• Like


Flash Player 9 (or above) is needed to view presentations.
We have detected that you do not have it on your computer. To install it, go here.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. Exceptional Service to Exceptional PeopleEFMP Liaison OrientationEFMP CategoriesThere are six EFMP enrollment categories. These enrollment categories are based on: Type of Specialist required Frequency of requirements Availability of services Severity of medical and/or educational needsCategory I:Category I enrollment is for monitoring purposes with no limitation of assignment. This category isused to make the Naval Personnel Command (or NPC) aware that there are mild issues, or thatthere have been issues in the past that are no longer relevant (for example, greater than five yearscancer free). Category I enrollees will need to update their status every three years or if theircondition or issue worsens. Examples of Category I conditions:  Mild hypertension  Seasonal allergies  Easy to accommodate educational needsCategory II:Category II is used to identify and pinpoint duty stations and assignments where the Navy canensure that the EFM needs are met. Typically a Category II enrollee can be treated by a generalprovider (i.e. a regular medical doctor) and don’t require specialized services. This category mayalso indicate that there are uncomplicated educational needs that need to be addressed. Examples of Category II conditions:  Hypertension  Mild migraines  Eczema  Stable ADHD/ADDCategory III:Category III enrollees are typically ineligible for overseas assignments based on the level of carerequired by their condition. These enrollees require specialized services which require that they1 Professional Development and Training Team
  • 2. Exceptional Service to Exceptional PeopleEFMP Liaison Orientationlive within three hours of a major medical facility or treatment center. Category III may alsoindicate that the EFM has a complex or specialized educational need. Examples of Category III conditions:  Moderate disabilities  Diabetes Type II  Asthma  Most behavioral and dental health needsCategory IV:Individuals in the EFMP Category IV have conditions that require specialized care and treatment.Category IV requires that the EFM live in major medical areas in the continental United States andwithin 50 miles of a major medical treatment facility. Category IV EFM’s may require specialhousing needs such as living in single story housing. Like Category III, Category IV can also indicatecomplex specialized educational needs. There are eight Category IV locations in CONUS. Category IV Locations  Groton  Bethesda  Portsmouth  Charleston  Jacksonville  Pensacola  San Diego  Bremerton Examples of Category IV conditions:  Severe lupus  Cerebral palsy  Chronic heart disease  Major depression or other mental health conditionsCategory V:The needs of Category V enrollees are highly specialized, complex and severe and requirecontinuity of care best served at CONUS homesteading locations.2 Professional Development and Training Team
  • 3. Exceptional Service to Exceptional PeopleEFMP Liaison OrientationThis category includes provisions for homesteading in an area that can support both sea and shoreassignments. Homesteading will not preclude the requirement for sea/shore rotation of thesponsor, nor will it interfere in the unaccompanied assignment of a sponsor, providing the needsof the EFM member are addressed. There are five Category V locations. Category V “Homesteading” Locations  Norfolk, VA  San Diego, CA  Jacksonville, FL  Bremerton, WA  Washington, DC Examples of Category V conditions:  Multiple and/or severe disabilities  Most forms of cancer  Autism  Extensive care needsCategory VI:Category VI is for temporary enrollments for short durations. Typically the family will remain inone area during the duration of the diagnostics, evaluation or treatment. The need for enrollmentis updated between six and twelve months based on condition. Examples of Category VI conditions:  High risk pregnancy  Premature infant  Undergoing current short-term treatment or counseling3 Professional Development and Training Team