Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
  • Like
Zimbabwe Government
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Now you can save presentations on your phone or tablet

Available for both IPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Zimbabwe Government


This is a presentation about the goverment division in Zimbabwe and the official work of each district.

This is a presentation about the goverment division in Zimbabwe and the official work of each district.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads


Total Views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 2.  Provincial level:  Zimbabwe has ten administrative provinces.
  • 3.  Each province has a Governor (Resident Minister) who is appointed by the President.  The role of the Governor is four fold namely:  Political : He has the right and duty to consult any or all of the political leaders of his province in matters that affect the successful furtherance of his province in political matters.  Consultative: His main function is to coordinate development at provincial level through the consideration and approval of the Provincial Development Plans. (chairpersons and executive mayors & representatives and non-governmental organizations.
  • 4.  Developmental : He is expected to submit Provincial Plans for development to the Ministries through the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing, as well as monitor the progress of implementation of the Provincial Development Plan.  Co-ordinative: The Provincial Governor, as Chairman of the Provincial Council, ensures coordinated development within his province.  In addition:  Committee prepares long term plans (10-15 years); medium term plans (5 year); and short term plans that are produced annually.
  • 5.  Local government is concerned with local democracy and the decentralization.  Democratic rights.  In rural areas Zimbabwe has urban councils (that are not elected by the population).  General elections are held every four years (are made by a chairman).
  • 6.  The legislation governing the operations of urban councils confers on them a wide range of powers, which include:  Water for domestic, commercial or industrial areas  Hospitals, clinics, ambulances, maternity and child welfare  Schools, libraries, theatres and musical and scientific institutions  Provision of housing and transport facilities  Construction and maintenance of drains, sewers, bridges, parking  Cleansing and refuse removal disposal
  • 7.  Prevention of air, land and water pollution  Operation of fire brigades and municipal police  Street lighting  Public places  Provision of parks  Recreation grounds and open spaces
  • 8.  Capital: –and largest city- Harare  Government: semi presidential, parliamentary, consociationalist republic  President: Robert Mugabe  Independence: from the United Kingdom  Proclaimed: November, 11, 1965  Recognized: April, 18, 1980  Population: 13,349,000
  • 9.  References:  