Peninsular plateau


Published on


Published in: News & Politics, Travel
No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Peninsular plateau

  1. 1. Peninsular Plateau of India by Sidharth p. Grade-9
  2. 2. The Peninsular plateau <ul><li>The peninsular plateau is a tableland composed of the old crystalline, igneous and metamorphic rocks. It was formed due to the breaking and drifting of the Gondwanaland and thus making it a part of the oldest landmass. </li></ul><ul><li>This plateau consists of two broad divisions: </li></ul><ul><li>Central highlands </li></ul><ul><li>Deccan plateau. </li></ul>
  3. 3. The central Highlands <ul><li>The part of Peninsular plateau lying to the north of the Narmada river covering a major area of the Malwa plateau is known as the Central Highlands. </li></ul><ul><li>The Vindhyan range is bounded by the central Highlands on the south and the Aravalis on the northwest. </li></ul><ul><li>The further westward extension gradually merges with the sandy and rocky desert of Rajasthan. </li></ul>
  4. 4. Continued... <ul><li>The flow of rivers draining this region, namely the Chambal, the Sind, the Betwa and Ken is from southwest to northeast, thus indicating the slope. </li></ul><ul><li>The central Highlands are wider in the west but narrower in the east. </li></ul><ul><li>Eastward extention: 1. Bundelkhand </li></ul><ul><li>2. Baghelkhand </li></ul><ul><li>3. The Chotanagpur plateau drained by </li></ul><ul><li>Damodar river. </li></ul>
  5. 5. The Deccan Plateau <ul><li>The Deccan Plateau is a triangular landmass that lies to the south of the river Narmada. </li></ul><ul><li>Northern Deccan: 1. Satpura Range flanks. </li></ul><ul><li>Eastern Deccan: 1. The Mahadev </li></ul><ul><li>2. The Kaimur hills </li></ul><ul><li>3. Maikal range </li></ul>
  6. 6. Continued... <ul><li>It extends over eight Indian states and encompasses a wide range of habitats, covering most of central and southern India. </li></ul><ul><li>It is located between three mountain ranges: the Western Ghats form its western boundary, and the Eastern Ghats its eastern boundary. </li></ul><ul><li>An extension of the plateau is also visible in the northeast- locally known as the Meghalaya, Karbi-Anglong Plateau and North cacher hills. It is separated by a fault from the Chotanagpur Plateau. Three prominent hills ranges from the west to east are the Garo, the Khasi and the Jaintia hills. </li></ul>
  7. 7. Western Ghats <ul><li>Western Ghats lie parellel to the western coast </li></ul><ul><li>They are continuous and can be crossed through passes only. </li></ul><ul><li>Western Ghats are higher than Eastern Ghats. </li></ul><ul><li>The average elevation is 900 – 1600 mts. </li></ul>
  8. 8. The Eastern Ghats <ul><li>The Eastern Ghats stretch from the Mahanadi valley to the Nilgiris in the South </li></ul><ul><li>The Eastern Ghats are discontinuous and irregular and dissected by rivers draining into the Bay of Bengal. </li></ul>
  9. 9. Peaks.... <ul><li>Anai Mudi – 2695mts [Western Ghats.] </li></ul><ul><li>Doda Beta – 2637mts [Western Ghats.] </li></ul><ul><li>Mahendragiri – 1501mts [Eastern Ghats.] </li></ul>
  10. 10. Hills... <ul><li>Shevroy hills </li></ul><ul><li>Javadi Hills </li></ul><ul><li>These are located in Southeast of Eastern Ghats. </li></ul>Hill stations... <ul><li>Kodaikanal </li></ul><ul><li>Ooty [Udagamandalam] </li></ul>
  11. 13. A TableLand
  12. 14. A plateau
  13. 15. THANK YOU
  1. A particular slide catching your eye?

    Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.