6910 week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm

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  • TODAYSearch results integrate product listings, social and local
  • ATLAS data integratedCan bid to a CPA due to ATLAS integration
  • RTS solved an industry-wide problem by integrating a flexible keyword-management console to a third-party ad serving and tracking platform.
  • A conversion is recorded - based on how it is defined (site visit, email submission, purchase / transation)(a purchase would be the confirmation page) once she gets to the “thank you” pageHere a “free kit” conversion is when someone signs up to receive a TP kit in the mail with a foam sample and info about their products
  • Speak to GA, Marin tracker and omniture types of productsGoogle & Bing conversion tracking products
  • Some considerations:Who is the audience?What might they search for?What is the goal & budget?
  • Would – COULDPhrase – close variations DO include misspellings and plurals
  • Campaign structures give you the ability to:Control budgets Separately control and report by: geographic regiondevice typedemographicsEnsure ad copy is relevant to keyword groupsSend users to their desired landing page*
  • Versus content or GDN (mention but don’t go into)
  • Tips & Guidelines:Headline 25 characters, 2 description lines of 25 charactersCan utilize dynamic keyword insertionInclude a call to actionMust be within character limitsEXCESSIVE CAPS are not allowed!!!! Can’t user superlatives like “#1” “largest”, etc. unless you can back it up
  • QS * Max CPC = rank / position
  • Started out by creating segments etc.Email started to get more sophisticated because you could do more with tracking
  • As more data is collected the theory is the more targeted marketers can get
  • Making CXM really happen is more than doable but there are a lot of technological and even more political hurdles to overcome to make it truly seamless to the customer.

Transcript

  • 1. Search & CRMISM 6910 – Week 4
  • 2. Schedule changes Reminder we are switch search and testing topics DATE TOPIC READING: Assignment Due: Kaushik Chapters Mar 28 Class introductions and Digital 1 Landscape Apr 4 Tagging, Digital Media, Site Metrics 3&5 Apr 11 Measurement Tools, Site Metrics Cont. 2 Measurement Tool Presentations Apr 18 SEO, SEM, and CXM 11 Apr 25 Social strategies 9 May 2 Social measurement Social Tool Presentations May 9 Building out a measurement plan 10 May 16 Testing and Optimization 6&7 May 23 Implementation, tag management tools, Big Data, Privacy Issues, Ethics May 30 Final presentations Measurement Plan Jun 6 Graduation Banquet No Class
  • 3. Week 4 Topics• SEM – Search Engine Marketing (Paid)• SEO – Search Engine Optimization (Organic)• Email –> CRM -> CXM
  • 4. What is Search Engine Marketing? “A form of internet marketing that involves the promotion of websites by increasing their visibility in search engine results pages (SERPs) through optimization as well as through advertising”
  • 5. The Evolution of SEM 1994 1995 1997 • Webcrawler, one of the • Yahoo! • GoTo.com launches first search engines launches, banners sold text based CPC launches on CPM basis targeting system search terms • 2003 bought by Yahoo! 1998 2000 2005 • Google launches a • Google begins selling • Microsoft launches different kind of search ads on a CPM model adCenter engine 2009 2010 2012 • Microsoft launches • MSN & Yahoo join adCenter is renamed - bing.com forces to create a Bing Ads Search Alliance
  • 6. Search Engine Traffic Share 3% 2% 14% 15% 66% Google Bing Yahoo Ask AOL Comscore qSearch Analysis, March 2012
  • 7. SERPSearch Engine Results Page 7
  • 8. The SERP: Google 8
  • 9. The SERP: Bing 9
  • 10. SEM - Pay Per Click (PPC): Paying to make your website‟s ads appear on the top or side of the page • Immediate impact • On/off quickly • Performance-based pricing • KW, landing page, and messaging flexibility 10
  • 11. Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Optimizing your website to make it appear in organic or natural search results • Low out of pocket cost • Typically lower cost traffic • Less on/off flexibility • Garners higher click-thru-rates than paid 11
  • 12. Paid Search User Journey She types „New She sees ads from She clicks on a Jane completes anJane is interested in Zealand Vacation‟ into TNZ pays Google for advertisers who Tourism New Zealand action on the site, Atlas taking a vacation that click Google “bought” the keyword ad records
  • 13. How SEM is ManagedGoogle AdWords & bing Ads (formerly Microsoft adCenter)• Publishers tools used to create & manage campaigns of keywords & ads• Provide reporting on traffic and conversions* 13
  • 14. The Integrated Search Toolset A unique search solution for enterprise marketing Ad Servers Bid Management Display impressions, clicks, conversions, cookie ID‟s Bidding algorithms and engine API and date/time stamps connectivity Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3
  • 15. How Razorfish Does ItAtlas – ad server• Allows for integrated tracking with display campaigns• Uploads data to Marin on a daily basis 15
  • 16. How Razorfish Does ItMarin Software – bid management• Centralized campaign management & reporting for all search engines• Automated bidding algorithms• Helps save time and improve efficiency 16
  • 17. Razorfish Tracking System (RTS) 1 2 3Allows us to manage Atlas conversions in Marin 1. Marin sends keywords to Atlas 2. Atlas creates placements, sends redirects back to Marin 3. Marin uploads keywords with Atlas redirects to engines
  • 18. Search can be tracked from Impression to Conversion Jane conducts a search, an Jane clicks on the ad to go Jane makes a purchase, thead appears, an impression is to the website, a click is conversion is recorded in recorded in Google recorded in Google & ATLAS ATLAS 18
  • 19. Data and Reporting Sources Google & Metrics Atlas Marin Bing Impressions   Clicks    Average Position   Cost   Conversions   19
  • 20. Search Components & OptimizationLevers 1. • Keyword selection 2. • Campaign segmentation 3. • Ad copy 4. • Landing page selection 5. • Bidding 20
  • 21. 1. The Keyword back pain Selection mattress pillow support pillow tempur pedic memory foam mattress mattress for lower back pain tempurcloud supreme twin 21
  • 22. Keyword Match Types Broad Ad shows on similar phrases and relevant variations• Would show up for: mattress, serta mattress, memory foam bed Phrase Ad shows for close variations of the phrase, word order matters •Would show up for: buy a memory foam mattress, memory foam mattresses •Wouldn‟t show up for: memory mattress, mattress foam Exact Ad shows for searches that that match your keyword exactly• Would ONLY show up for: memory foam mattress• Would not show up for ANY other search. 22
  • 23. Negative KeywordsEnables you to “block” your ads from appearing for certain searches 23
  • 24. 2nd Component- Campaign Structure CAMPAIGN AD GROUP KEYWORDS Mattress mattress, mattresses foam Mattresses Foam mattress, memory foam mattress ergo Ergonomic mattress, ergonomic mattresses 24
  • 25. Campaign Settings – Search Targeting• Language Targeting: target users based on language preference.• GEO Targeting: geographically target a specific region or location• Device Targeting: Desktop, Tablet or Phone and OS • Google – select carriers and / or wifi and even phone models!• Demographic Targeting: •bingAds - incremental bidding on gender & age ranges •Google - recently launched gender & age targeting
  • 26. Why Campaign Structure is Important Campaign structures give you the ability to: • Control budgets • Separately control and report by: • geographic region • device type • demographics • Ensure ad copy is relevant to keyword groups • Send users to their desired landing page* 26
  • 27. 3rd Component & Optimization Lever – Ad CopyAd Copy Creation & Testing:• Can utilize dynamic keyword insertion• Test different headlines, description lines, display URLs• Include a call to action• Determining factor is usually CTR vs. 27
  • 28. 4th Component & Lever – Landing Selection1.2.3. 28
  • 29. 4th Component & Lever – Landing Page TestingLanding Pages:• Test different images, copy, calls to action on landing pages• Test different landing pages along the purchase path• Determining factor is usually conversions or conversion rate 29
  • 30. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding Some bidding definitions: • Max CPC: • The absolute highest you‟re willing to pay for a click • Actual CPC: • What you actually end up paying, usually lower than max CPC • Quality Score influences this cost • Min CPC / Min Bid: • The minimum you have to bid to be part of the auction for a keyword • For competitive keywords, this can be pretty high30
  • 31. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding Quality Score X Max CPC = Position Quality Score factors: CTR Historical Keyword Performance $5.00 x 9 = 45 Ad Text Relevance $7.00 x 6 = 42 Other Relevancy Factors Landing page quality & relevancy31
  • 32. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding• Bids can be changed manually or automatically by using Marin algorithms• Normally updated on a daily basis.• The auction happens in real time• The auction is “blind” 32
  • 33. Switching gears over to SEO… 33
  • 34. SEO – AKA Organic Search 34
  • 35. Top SEO Engines Google: •Largest index •Favors “authority” sites (domain age, back links, type of domain). •Personalizes search results based on search history and user location Bing: •Places emphasis on on-page elements (keywords in page titles, content, anchor text, URLs). •Integrates with Facebook, Twitter and social media within search results Yahoo: •Powered by Bing algorithm. •Format varies from Bing, but majority of listings are the same. 35
  • 36. Recap… What’s the difference? Paid Search •Advertisers pay for placement in search results •Some control over rank and frequency within search listings •Control of ad copy and landing pages •Commonly referred as “Pay-Per-Click” and “PPC” Organic Search •Unpaid listings (FREE) •Advertisers/websites appear based on relevancy •Less control over copy and landing page •Also known as “Search Engine Optimization”, “SEO” and “Natural Search” 36
  • 37. What is SEO? • Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of improving the volume and quality of traffic to a web site from search engines via the natural/organic/non-paid search results. • As an internet marketing strategy, SEO considers how search engines work and what people search for. Optimizing a website to both increase its relevance for specific keywords and to remove barriers to the indexing activity of search engines involves editing its: • Content • Architecture • Link profile 37
  • 38. Why Do SEO? Recent eye-tracking studies show searchers spend more time looking at organic search results Compare: •10.7 – 14.7 seconds viewing organic listings •0.7 – 2.9 seconds viewing everything elseSource: “Eye Tracking Bing vs. Google: A SecondLook”, UserCentric.com, January 27, 2011 Why Do SEO? 38
  • 39. Why Do SEO? 39
  • 40. Importance of Rankings in Organic Results 40
  • 41. Search Engines:What Are They? How Do They Work?• Crawling the Web – Search engines crawl the web using “search engine spiders” or “bots.”• Indexing Documents – Search engines Indexcrawled documents into database storage.• Processing Queries - All relevant URLs are retrievedfrom the index when a search is performed.• Ranking Results - A ranking algorithm is applied onthe above to determine which are most relevant to thequery terms. 41
  • 42. Influence of Search Engines• Every page is now a landing page • The home page is no longer the main entry point • On a well-optimized site, more traffic will enter on the deeper, more focused pages• Every page must meet multiple objectives • Establish / build brand • Drive visitor to the desired action • Communicate value proposition • Deliver the relevant content to the searcher (product, service, or information) 42
  • 43. Approach to SEO
  • 44. What Do Search Engines Look For? 44
  • 45. Organic Search Factors 45
  • 46. The Formula for SEO Success
  • 47. Organic Optimization Core Elements Optimization is complex and requires a multi-disciplined team
  • 48. Technical Factors
  • 49. What an Engine Sees is Not What We See Search engines work to the lowest common denominator • Crawlers do not fully support images, flash, javascript or ajax • Content needs to be in format accessible and crawlable to search engines
  • 50. Navigation – Image Navigation • Site navigation is the main access point for search engines and users to deeper site pages • Navigation should be crawlable; image based navigation and drop downs should be avoided.
  • 51. URLs with Parameters URLs influence how a search engine crawls a site• Spiders have trouble with long, parameter- filled URLs, especially with: • Stop Characters: ? # & • Tracking codes and navigational parameters • Google thinks of each distinct URL as a distinct page• “Dynamic” sites are OK if URLs are short and persistent
  • 52. Duplicate Versions of WebsiteServing the same piece of content under different URLs can make itdifficult to rank for target keywords for three main reasons: • Internal competition • Indexing issues • Diluted link valueSame content, different URLs: • http://www.invescopowershares.com/ • http://invescopowershares.com/
  • 53. Dissecting the Organic Search Result
  • 54. KeywordsKeywords are words or phrases that people use in their onlinesearches • Keyword research is done to determine relevant keywords to target for a website • Properly identified keywords are the cornerstone to a successful SEO strategy • Several factors are considered to when choosing which keywords to target: • Keyword Popularity • Keyword Relevance • Keyword Competitiveness • Searcher Intent
  • 55. Title Tags Title Tags tells the search engines the subject of the page • The Tag is the first line of any search result and the title of the webpage • “Keywords” valued heavily in the algorithms • Should be unique to each page • Size & order are crucial
  • 56. Meta Description Tags Meta Description Tags will typically be used for the “snippet” under the organic search result‟s link (title tag) • The tag provides context to a search result • No value from the search engines, however it‟s important to be leveraged in reinforcing • Marketing call-to-action verbiage improves click rates • Should be unique per page
  • 57. Meta Keywords • Meta keywords are not a primary crawl data source • Google gives very little to no weight of these in their algorithm • Bing still factors it in at a minimal level • Good way to capture variants and misspellings of primary and secondary keywords • Avoid overstuffing keywords
  • 58. Header Tags • H1, H2…H6 tags are used to „format‟ headers • H1 and H2 tags carry weight in algorithm calculations • Like Title Tag, H1 is a good search term indicator
  • 59. Body Content Primarily paragraph content • Crawlers read from top to bottom, left to right • Balance writing for humans with keyword density • Without body content, the title tag and other factors must be strongly optimized in order to be relevant for primary keywords
  • 60. Images, ALT Tags, and Captions • Crawlers can‟t “see” picture files (.jpg, .gif, etc.) • Communicate search terms with: • HTML „near‟ images (captions, write-ups) • ALT and TITLE entities within IMG tags
  • 61. SEO Friendly URLs• URLs should incorporate relevant keywords and targeted terms.• Use at least one keyword phrase in your file/directory names, preferably at the beginning.• Use hyphens to separate the words in your file and directory names. Instead of using “InvestorCenter/” use “Investor-Center/”• Abbreviate directory name if it does not target keyword terms, in order to keep the URL length short.
  • 62. Internal Links• Internal Linking allows search engines to determine the relevancy of page topic and its relation to other pages• Use internal links within the content that is intuitive and guide visitors to the next step• Using keyword rich text (anchor text) improves the ability of target pages to rank for targeted keyword term
  • 63. LinksWhat is a “link”?• Any direct hyperlink from a web page pointing to your web page• Typical link sources include: • Directories, web sites, blogs, news sites, social network sites, etcBacklink (inbound link):• Link from one site pointing to another. Backlinks are an important part of SEO, and should be relevant to the content of your site in order to be effective.
  • 64. Link Popularity• The concept that made Google famous…• Inbound links have proven extremely valuable• Every link is a vote• Iterative process of determining page popularity through link statistics• Quality of the sites linking to yours is critical• Anchor text of links is also important
  • 65. Why is Link Building Important?• Building strong inbound links to your Web site is one of the best ways to gain high search rankings.• Search engines rank websites based on perceived value• High-ranked sites get more visits• Reputable, inbound links endorse the value of your site• Inbound links serve as an alternate path for spiders to access a site• Inbound links can increase the frequency a site is crawled• Inbound links have a high value in the Google algorithm• Search engines use links as a measurable indicator of search relevance and authority• Inbound links to your site from trusted web pages will build your site‟s authority and importance
  • 66. Link Development OverviewOff-site optimization is critical for search engine success Key Link Acquisition Tactics • Direct Request • Link Reclamation • Directory Submissions • Internal Link Optimization • Premium Content Syndication (Content Barter) • Link Baiting/Viral Campaigns • Optimized Press Releases • Optimized Articles • Site Sponsorships • Social Bookmarking
  • 67. Directory ListingsCheck top directories, submit if not listed• DMOZ, Open Directory Project• Yahoo! Directory• Business.com• Librarians‟ Internet Index (only informational)• BOTWCheck for topic-specific directories• Use searches like “topic” directoryFind sites with the specific purpose of listing andcategorizing the web
  • 68. Off-site OptimizationSearch engines are evolving to show universal results for per query, including social pages andreal-time content from social platforms. Distributing content off-site and optimize it gives it alarger chance of resulting in additional places on the SERP besides the website. Distribution Benefits: • Dominate the SERP • Increase Exposure • Build Incoming Links • Manage Reputation • Push Down Competitors
  • 69. Social Sharing OptimizationMake it easy for users to subscribe to Invesco content feeds, “votefor”, bookmark or share content with friends. This improves distribution andincreases exposure, making it more likely that: • Other sites will link to your content, helping natural search rank • The external content on your sites, Digg, Reddit, ect. ranks on the SERP
  • 70. Video Optimization• Optimize tags/body content around videos in order to help spiders understand what the video content is about and effectively rank it for targeted keywords• Video optimization could include the creation of a Custom YouTube Channel to better distribute your brand‟s video content and occupy more SERP real estate
  • 71. Common Misconceptions of SEO • SEO is code tweaks • SEO starts at wireframes • SEO starts after the product is launched, as an enhancement • SEO can be done post-launch, as clean-up • 1 conversation with SEO means “We did SEO” • SEO isn‟t part of my job • Organic optimization isn‟t a “set it-n‟-forget it” tactic
  • 72. Email, CRM, and CXM
  • 73. Email tracking At a minimum most email vendors should be able to set up tracking to record: • Delivery & Delivery Rate • Open & Open Rate • Email clicks • Unsubscribes
  • 74. Email metrics Common Email metrics: Delivery & Delivery Rate – Number of emails that were successfully delivered to their email recipients. This helps email marketers track how “clean” their lists are. Opens & Open Rate - Number of emails that were opened by an email recipient. This number is also typically used to measure the reach of a campaign. Can also indicate or test the effectiveness of a email‟s subject line. Case Study: For each campaign the Office team would send out several test emails to a small sample of the email list to see which subject line drew the most opens. The winning subject line would then be used for the fill list of customers.
  • 75. Email metrics (cont.) Common Email metrics: Clicks – Number of link or button clicks made within an email Click Through Rate (CTR) = Clicks / Emails Delivered – Used to track how effective an email campaign has been in driving conversions off of the email list. Click to Open Rate = Clicks / Open – Used to measure and optimize how effective the content within an email is. Unsubscribe Rate – Number of email recipients who clicked on the unsubscribed link and asked to be unsubscribed from the email list. Too many unsubscribes is a big red flag! Most people just ignore emails, unsubscribing is a very intentional act.
  • 76. Email end actions Note: most email vendors stop tracking after the click through, but a user‟s data can be passed to other tracking systems through redirect links or web analytics campaign IDs
  • 77. History of CXM Started out as database Became database marketing marketing for direct mail… for e- mail… (aka SPAM) (aka Junk mail)
  • 78. History of CXM (cont.)… Database marketing expanded to CRM is now becoming CXM, where other channels becoming CRM… brands and companies interact with you on a one-to-one basis… E-mail Purchase historyDirect mail Customer care CRM Website and email content along with sales promotions, and even customer care scripts are now tailored to a specific customer or customer profile.
  • 79. CRM OptimizationA lifecycle strategy approach focuses on individualizing experiences based on a user‟s currentneeds based on where they are in the customer lifecycle.Blending personalized content across email,social, and site side experiences creates aseamless, compelling, and satisfyingexperiences that compliments each developer‟sspecific needs.CRM is a key and integral component of theoverall targeting and optimization strategyalready mentioned in pervious slides.
  • 80. CXM case studyMicrosoft Office 365Razorfish worked with the Office CXM team to develop a customized, behavior-based framework with over 550email versions. The emails and their content are dynamically served based on a variety of behaviors, attributesand languages.
  • 81. CXM case studyMGM Resorts: Personalization & EfficiencyRazorfish worked across business units to create andimplement a scalable digital RM strategy and frameworkto serve the needs of all 17+ MGM properties.Collaborated with IT, marketing, and technology partnersto evolve platforms, data, and teams to sustain the RMstrategy and drive continuous improvement. 81
  • 82. Office CXM Platform