Walky-Talky Pres: Summer 2009


Published on

Presentation slides for Walky-Talky Summer 2009, 1st edition.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Walky-Talky Pres: Summer 2009

  1. 1. Introducing ... a brand new ESL book series by Donald Anderson and Yeoyoung Lim
  2. 2. Introducing WALKY WALKY represents exploration. Walk around, take a look. What’s this? What’s that? How does the world fit together? WALKY units are theme-based, focussing on different content areas. These include basic introductions to school subjects such as science, geography, and computers. It also includes fun stuff like movies and amusement parks, and everyday survival language for hospitals, banks, and the post office.
  3. 3. Introducing TALKY TALKY represents communication, one person talking to another. How does one express their feeling, their needs, and their goals? How does one describe how things function? TALKY units are based on a grammatical structure or a convenient talking-point. The intention is to put grammar in context, while showing through easily-understood situations how these structures open the way for communication. Efficient communication, rather than precise grammar for its own sake, is the aim.
  4. 4. Introducing the 5 Levels The series has five color-coded levels. 1. EASIEST 18 Walky-Talky Units Level 1 combines Walky’s themes and Talky’s talking points into one unit (18 units in total). 12 Walky Units + 12 Talky Units Levels 2 to 5 each have 12 Walky units and 12 Talky units. 12 Walky Units + 12 Talky Units Altogether, there are 114 units. Almost all the basic ESL points are featured, in a non-repetitive way. 12 Walky Units The tone of the books is neither childish nor adult- + 12 Talky Units like. The lessons should be well-received by students as young as grade 2 or 3 to early teenagers 5. HARDEST (grade 7 or 8), who have not lived abroad or have 12 + 12 not already been studying at an English school for years and years.
  5. 5. Introducing ... WALKY-TALKY CAMP VERSION - BOOKS A - D A special version of Walky-Talky has been compiled for English camps in Korea. Camp Versions Books A to D compile all five levels into one book, while spreading the content across four different books to cover four different camp sessions. Each book has six level 1 lessons and three Walky and three Talky units (6 total) for each of the other 4 levels. At an English camp, a large group of students arrives at once for a short- term program. Unlike a longer-term program at a year-round English school, it is difficult to get students into exactly the right level. Thus, a multi-leveled Walky-Talky book gives teachers some flexibility to mix and match levels. A teacher of a high-level class may teach from both level 4 and 5 units, while lower-level classes might do units from both levels 1 and 2.
  6. 6. LEVEL 1 WALKY + TALKY Walky-Talky’s Level 1 is not designed for students who have never studied any English before. It is a suitable starting point for students who have already studied phonics and are comfortable reading basic words. Students at this level should already be familiar with the most basic questions such as: “How are you?” “What’s your name?” and “What’s this?” In South Korea, English is a compulsory school subject from grade 3, while many students receive English lessons from as early as kindergarten. Thus, level 1 of Walky-Talky should be suitable for the typical grade 2-3 Korean student, exceptionally bright grade 1s and older elementary school students who started studying English late.
  7. 7. LEVEL 1 What’s in a Level 1 unit? Each Walky-Talky level 1 unit has 6 pages. The Walky units’ theme concept and Talky units’ talking-point concept are combined. In other words, each unit has a theme and a key sentence structure. Pg. 1 - is a cartoon, which introduces the unit’s theme and key sentence. Pg. 2 - is a picture dictionary page, for practicing the key vocabulary. Pg. 3 - is a reading. Pg. 4 - has a listening activity (the teacher decides the script) and a short dialogue. Pg. 5 - is an additional practice page or quiz page. Pg. 6 - has an activity or writing practice.
  8. 8. LEVEL 2 LEVEL 3 LEVEL 4 LEVEL 5 Levels 2 to 5 separate the Walky theme and Talky talking-points into different units. Depending on the teacher’s (or academic director’s) preference, the units may be alternated between. Levels get gradually more difficult. This is easiest to see by comparing the Talky key sentences between the levels. L 1 - I have a book. L 2 - I want to play soccer. L 3 - The cheetah is the fastest animal. L 4 - Before eating lunch, wash your hands. L 5 - He said that he wants to play soccer. Level 1 sentences are simple. Gradually, more particles and pieces are introduced to the sentences. By level 5, tenses are mixed within one compound sentence. Based on the grammar introduced in the Talky lessons, the readings for the Walky lessons are constructed; however, the emphasis in the Talky lessons is on being able to construct the sentences by oneself, while the Walky lessons emphasize recognition of a variety of sentences. Thus, the Walky readings stay one step ahead of the the Talky grammar points.
  9. 9. TALKY Levels 2 to 5 LEVEL 2 LEVEL 3 LEVEL 4 LEVEL 5 Each Talky unit has four pages. Pg. 1 - is a cartoon, which introduces the unit’s grammar point in context. Pg. 2 - makes clear the point of the unit, and sometimes has some explanation or a picture matching activity. Pg. 3 - is usually a dialogue or practice page. Pg. 4 - is usually an expansion activity.
  10. 10. WALKY Levels 2 to 5 LEVEL 2 LEVEL 3 LEVEL 4 LEVEL 5 Each Walky unit has four pages. The difference between Walky levels 2-3 and levels 4-5 is that 2-3 have a picture vocab page before the reading, while 4-5 have a vocab/questions page after the reading. Pg. 1 - is a warm-up page that introduces the theme. Pg. 2/3 (L 2-3)- is a Picture Dictionary vocab page followed by the reading. Pg. 2/3 (L4-5) - a reading page followed by a vocab/questions page. Pg. 4 - is an expansion activity page.
  11. 11. A Work In Progress The Walky-Talky series is a work-in-progress. The units have been completed; however, supplementary teaching materials, such as teacher’s guides and multimedia materials, will be completed over time. There will also be revisions made over time. Feedback is welcomed, as are questions about how to teach certain units. For questions and feedback related to level 1, please contact Yeoyoung Lim by email: limyeoyoung@gmail.com For questions and feedback related to levels 2 to 5, please contact Donald Anderson by email: donandi@gmail.com It is our hope that both teachers and students find the Walky-Talky series to be both fun and effective. Thank you.