Mobile drupal

  • 2,687 views
Uploaded on

This is somewhat outdated. Read these slides instead: http://www.slideshare.net/rupl/responsive-drupal-beyond-the-media-query …

This is somewhat outdated. Read these slides instead: http://www.slideshare.net/rupl/responsive-drupal-beyond-the-media-query

---------------------------------------------------------------

A brief summary of the options available to Drupal themers looking to build mobile websites, mobile apps, or websites with mobile versions.

More in: Technology , Business
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
2,687
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
14
Comments
0
Likes
2

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n

Transcript

  • 1. Mobile Drupal A hands-on guide to mobile theming2011.01.27 - SW Drupal Summithttp://swdrupalsummit.com/sessions/mobile-drupal
  • 2. Goals of Mobile‣ Focus on content‣ Reduction of complexity‣ Straightforward use
  • 3. Different Approaches‣ CSS only‣ Browser Detection + Mobile Themes‣ Separate subdomain / path‣ External Service (example)
  • 4. CSS Media Queries‣ Please read and bookmark (game changer) http://www.slideshare.net/bryanrieger/rethinking- the-mobile-web-by-yiibu
  • 5. CSS Media Queries ‣ No media query support = a media query ‣ Target the lowest level capability first ‣ Filter for more functional versions from there ‣ More compatible than when you start with desktop styles and filter for mobile version ‣ Easy to cachehttp://j.mp/rethink-mobile
  • 6. CSS Examples‣ http://colly.com/ - The example in the slideshow‣ http://www.stpaulsschool.org.uk/‣ http://kickawesome.tv/
  • 7. Drupal Modules‣ Browser Detection ‣ Browscap: http://drupal.org/project/browscap ‣ Mobile Tools: http://drupal.org/project/mobile_tools‣ Other ‣ Semantic Views: http://drupal.org/project/semanticviews Allows you to clean up your Views output ‣ Mobile Theme: http://drupal.org/project/mobile_theme Simple but may cause caching problems
  • 8. Drupal Themes‣ Mobile Garland - http://drupal.org/project/mobile_garland‣ Nokia Mobile - http://drupal.org/project/nokia_mobile‣ Mobile Example - https://github.com/rupl/mobile_example Demo today: CSS-based responsive theme that delivers both the mobile and desktop experiences without theme switching.
  • 9. Helpful Links‣ User-Agent Switcher - Firefox Add-on for quick mobile testing. Always try the real thing.
  • 10. The end chris@fourkitchens.com twitter.com/rupl http://drupal.org/user/411999http://swdrupalsummit.com/sessions/mobile-drupal