• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Mobile drupal
 

Mobile drupal

on

  • 3,114 views

This is somewhat outdated. Read these slides instead: http://www.slideshare.net/rupl/responsive-drupal-beyond-the-media-query ...

This is somewhat outdated. Read these slides instead: http://www.slideshare.net/rupl/responsive-drupal-beyond-the-media-query

---------------------------------------------------------------

A brief summary of the options available to Drupal themers looking to build mobile websites, mobile apps, or websites with mobile versions.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
3,114
Views on SlideShare
3,113
Embed Views
1

Actions

Likes
2
Downloads
14
Comments
0

1 Embed 1

http://paper.li 1

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Apple Keynote

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n

Mobile drupal Mobile drupal Presentation Transcript

  • Mobile Drupal A hands-on guide to mobile theming2011.01.27 - SW Drupal Summithttp://swdrupalsummit.com/sessions/mobile-drupal
  • Goals of Mobile‣ Focus on content‣ Reduction of complexity‣ Straightforward use
  • Different Approaches‣ CSS only‣ Browser Detection + Mobile Themes‣ Separate subdomain / path‣ External Service (example)
  • CSS Media Queries‣ Please read and bookmark (game changer) http://www.slideshare.net/bryanrieger/rethinking- the-mobile-web-by-yiibu
  • CSS Media Queries ‣ No media query support = a media query ‣ Target the lowest level capability first ‣ Filter for more functional versions from there ‣ More compatible than when you start with desktop styles and filter for mobile version ‣ Easy to cachehttp://j.mp/rethink-mobile
  • CSS Examples‣ http://colly.com/ - The example in the slideshow‣ http://www.stpaulsschool.org.uk/‣ http://kickawesome.tv/
  • Drupal Modules‣ Browser Detection ‣ Browscap: http://drupal.org/project/browscap ‣ Mobile Tools: http://drupal.org/project/mobile_tools‣ Other ‣ Semantic Views: http://drupal.org/project/semanticviews Allows you to clean up your Views output ‣ Mobile Theme: http://drupal.org/project/mobile_theme Simple but may cause caching problems
  • Drupal Themes‣ Mobile Garland - http://drupal.org/project/mobile_garland‣ Nokia Mobile - http://drupal.org/project/nokia_mobile‣ Mobile Example - https://github.com/rupl/mobile_example Demo today: CSS-based responsive theme that delivers both the mobile and desktop experiences without theme switching.
  • Helpful Links‣ User-Agent Switcher - Firefox Add-on for quick mobile testing. Always try the real thing.
  • The end chris@fourkitchens.com twitter.com/rupl http://drupal.org/user/411999http://swdrupalsummit.com/sessions/mobile-drupal