Yoga Sutra 8 Limbs
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Like this? Share it with your network


Yoga Sutra 8 Limbs

Uploaded on

yogas 8 limbs

yogas 8 limbs

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 11 3 2 1 1 1 1 1 1

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. The Yoga-sûtra Of Patañjali
  • 2. Samâdhi-pâdaï
    Book 1: “Concentration: Its Spiritual Uses”
    Also interpreted as “Integration”
    (51 sutras)
  • 3. Yoga Sutra 1.1
    atha yogânuåâsanam
    atha = now
    yoga = process of yoking; union
    ânuåâsanam = teaching, exposition
    NOW, the process of union or yoking is explained
  • 4. Yogaś citta-vritti-nirodhaḥ Yoga Sutra 1.2
    yogaï = process of yoking; union
    citta= consciousness
    vëtti= patterning, turnings, movements
    nirodhaï = stilling, cessation, restriction
  • 5. Yoga Sutra 1.2 Translations
    Yoga is the restraint of mental modifications
    Yoga is restraining the mind-stuff (Chitta) from taking various forms (Vrttis)
    ~Swami Vivekananda
    Union, spiritual consciousness, is gained through control of the versatile psychic nature
    ~Charles Johnson
    Chitta is the various processes in the mind, or mind stuff
    The waves of thought in the Chitta are called Vrtti (literally, “the whirlpool”)
    What is thought? Thought is a force, as is gravitation or repulsion.
  • 6. Purusha
  • 7. Sâdhana-pâdaï
    Book 2: “Concentration: Its Spiritual Uses”
    The Path To Realization Or
    (55 sutras)
  • 8. Sadhana
    Sadhana is the Sanskrit word for "practice" or "discipline". Here the author outlines two forms of Yoga: Ashtanga Yoga (Eightfold or Eight limbed Yoga) and Kriya Yoga (Action Yoga).
    Note: Kriya yoga, sometimes called Karma Yoga. In the Bhagavad-Gita, Arjuna is encouraged by Krishna to act without attachment to the results or fruit of action and activity. In other words, Kriya yoga is the yoga of selfless action and service.
  • 9. The Practice
    yama-niyamâsana-prâñâyâma-pratyâhâra-dhârañâ-dhyâna-samâdhayo ‘æøâvaògâni
    yama = external discipline
    niyama = internal discipline
    âsana = posture
    prâñâyâma = breath regulation
    pratyâhâra = withdrawal of the senses
    dhârañâ = concentration
    dhyana = meditative absorption
    samâdhayaï = oneness, integration
    The eight components of yoga are external discipline, internal discipline, posture, breath regulation, concentration, meditative absorption, and integration.
  • 10.
  • 11. Ahimsa- “to do no harm…”
  • 12. Satya
  • 13.
  • 14.
  • 15. Aparigraha “non-grasping”
  • 16. Niyamas
  • 17. Saucha“Cleanliness”
  • 18. Samtosha “Contentment”
  • 19. Tapas “Heat”
  • 20.
  • 21.
  • 22. Asana II.46
  • 23. Asana continued II.47
  • 24. Pranayamaprâñâyâmaï
    • tasmin= in this
    • 25. sati = existing
    • 26. svâsa= inhalation
    • 27. pravâsayoï= exhalation
    • 28. gati = flow
    • 29. vicchedaï = cessation, interruption
    • 30. prâñâyâmaï = breath regulation
    • 31. With effort relaxing, the flow of inhalation and exhalation can be brought to a standstill; this is called breath regulation.
    • 32. Sutra II.49
  • Pranayama (Continued)
    As the movement patterns of each breath - inhalation, exhalation, lull - are observed as to duration, number, and area of focus, breath becomes spacious and subtle.
    Sutra II.50
    As realization dawns, the distinction between breathing in and out falls away.
    Sutra II.51
    Then the veil lifts from the mind’s luminosity.
    Sutra II.52
  • 33. Pratyahara pratyâhâraï
    When consciousness interiorizes by uncoupling from external objects, the senses do likewise; this iscalled withdrawal of the senses.
    sva= own
    visaya= object (of experience), phenomenon
    asamprayoge= uncoupling
    cittasya= consciousness
    sva= own
    rûpa= form
    anukâra= imitation, following suit
    iva= like, thus, as it were
    indriyâñâm = sensory apparatus
    pratyâhâraï = withdrawal of the senses
  • 34. Vibhûti-pâdaïIII. The Extraordinary Powers
  • 35. The Extraordinary Powers
    Vibhuti is the Sanskrit word for "power" or "manifestation". ’
    Supra-normal powers' (Siddhi) are acquired by the practice of yoga.
    • the entering of another’s soul
    • 36. ability to fly or move great distances in moments
    • 37. increase or decrease in size
    • 38. the ability to acquire great wealth with little effort
    Disclaimer: The temptation of these powers should be avoided and the attention should be fixed only on liberation.
  • 39. Kaivalya Pada (34 sutras)
    Kaivalya literally means "isolation", however the SutrasKaivalya means emancipation or liberation, which is the goal of Yoga
    Jivamukti(one who has attained Moksha).
    The Kaivalya Pada describes the nature of liberation and the reality of the transcendental self.
    Think Samadhi