Plenary Lectures
   1. Don Bradshaw – Australia – “Environmental Endocrinology”

   2. Julian Dow – UK – “Molecular-geneti...
Chairs     Nick Bernier – nbernier@uoguelph.ca
           Cathy McCrohan – cathy.mccrohan@manchester.ac.uk

State-of-the-a...
9. Reproductive Endocrinology and Gamete Quality.
Chair     Oliana Carnevali – o.carnevali@mta01.univpm.it

State-of-the-a...
(Supported by the Society for Experimental Biology)

Chairs     Patrick Prunet – patrick.prunet@rennes.inra.fr
           ...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Plenary Lectures

344

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
344
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Plenary Lectures

  1. 1. Plenary Lectures 1. Don Bradshaw – Australia – “Environmental Endocrinology” 2. Julian Dow – UK – “Molecular-genetic approaches to neuropeptide signalling.” 3. Olivier Kah – France – “Evolution of GnRH hormones and receptors 4. Liliane Schoofs – Belgium – “Comparative neuropeptidomics in small animal models” 5. Carl Schreck – USA – “The endocrinology of stress: from the microscope to the macroscope” Symposia Chairs with contact email and State-of-the-art Speakers and topics. 1. Comparative Thyroid Endocrinology Chairs Samantha Richardson – sjrich@unimelb.edu.au Peter Klaren – P.Klaren@science.ru.nl State-of-the-art Speakers Theo Visser (Rotterdam) – “Membrane-bound thyroid hormone transporters”. Barbara Demeneix (Paris) – “Endocrine disruption of thyroid hormone action”. 2. Endocrinology of Feeding and Nutrition (Supported by the Society for Endocrinology) Chair Simon Luckman – simon.luckman@manchester.ac.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Michael Pankratz (Karlsruhe) – “Feeding behaviour in Drosophila”. John Speakman (Aberdeen) – “Energy homeostasis”. 3. Biological Clocks and Endocrine Function in Vertebrates and Invertebrates. (Supported by the British Society for Neuroendocrinology) Chairs Hugh Piggins – hugh.piggins@manchester.ac.uk Johanna Meijer – J.H.Meijer@lumc.nl State-of-the-art Speakers Chris Colwell (UCLA) – “PACAP/VIP signalling in vertebrate circadian models”. Johanna Meijer (Leiden) – “GABA signalling in different SCN clock compartments-sleep and behavioural feedback”. 4. New Insights into Urotensin Endocrinology from Fish to Man. (Supported by the Physiological Society)
  2. 2. Chairs Nick Bernier – nbernier@uoguelph.ca Cathy McCrohan – cathy.mccrohan@manchester.ac.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Isabelle Lihrmann (Rouen) – “UII paracrine and endocrine function”. Steve Douglas (GSK, USA) – “UII in mammals and man”. Cathy McCrohan (Manchester) – “Fish caudal neurosecretory system – a model for study of neuroendocrine secretion”. 5. Endocrinology of Salt and Water Balance. (Supported by the Society for Experimental Biology) Chairs Yoshio Takei – takei@ori.u-tokyo.ac.jp Neil Hazon – nh1@st-andrews.ac.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Yoshio Takei – “Exploring novel body fluid-regulating hormones in fish”. Geoff Coast – “Endocrine control of ion transport by insect renal tubules”. 6. Endocrine Disruption Chairs Vance Trudeau – vtrudeau@science.uottawa.ca Charles Tyler – C.R.Tyler@exeter.ac.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Tom Zoeller – “Environmental chemicals impacting thyroid hormone signalling in brain development-mechanisms and consequences”. Taisen Iguchi – “The power of comparative molecular approaches in understanding endocrine disruption”. 7. Pheromone and Other Chemical Communication. Chairs Peter Hubbard – phubbard@ualg.pt Sandy Scott – A.P.Scott@cefas.co.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Jelle Atema (Woods Hole) – “Chemical communication in decapod crustaceans”. Lynda Corkum (Ontario) – “Chemical communication in the fresh water environment”. 8. Endocrinology of Calcium Homeostasis. Chairs Adelino Canario – acanario@ualg.pt Gert Flik - G.Flik@science.ru.nl State-of-the-art Speakers Kristina Snuttan Sundell (Goteborg) – “Calcium regulation in teleost fish”. Michele Wheatly (Wright University) –“ The paradox of cellular calcium homeostasis during vectorial transfer: spatial and temporal regulation of Ca import/export proteins using the freshwater crayfish molting model”
  3. 3. 9. Reproductive Endocrinology and Gamete Quality. Chair Oliana Carnevali – o.carnevali@mta01.univpm.it State-of-the-art Speakers Isidori Aldo (Rome) – “Quality of human sperm”. Penny Swanson (Seattle) – “Endocrine changes during puberty”. 10. Comparative Reproductive Neuroendocrinology Chairs Peter Sharp – peter.sharp@bbsrc.ac.uk Kazuyoshi Tsutsui – tsutsui@hiroshima-u.ac.jp State-of-the-art Speakers Kazuyoshi Tsutsui (Hiroshima) – “The comparative biology of gonadotrophin inhibitory hormone and its receptors”. Alistair Dawson (Monks Wood) – “Photorefractoriness in birds – photoperiodic and non- photoperiodic control”. 11. Insect Neuroendocrinology in the Post-genomic Era. Chairs Ian Orchard – ian.orchard@utoronto.ca Dick Nassel – dnassel@zoologi.su.se State-of-the-art Speakers Dusan Zitnan (Slovakia) – “Complex neuropeptide-receptor cascade controls insect ecdysis”. Cornelis Grimmelikhuijzen (Copenhagen) – “Comparative insect genomics and insect GPCRs”. 12. Immune and Endocrine Interactions. Chairs Lidy van Kemenade – Lidy.vanKemenade@wur.nl Carl Schreck – carl.schreck@oregonstate.edu State-of-the-art Speakers Nic Cohen (Rochester, USA) – “The pervasiveness of neuroendocrine-immune system interactions”. Takakashi Yada (Tokyo) – “Paracrine action of growth hormone in fish immune system”. 13. Peptide Hormone and Receptor Evolution. Chairs Dan Larhammar – Dan.Larhammar@neuro.uu.se Josef Vanden Broeck – Jozef.VandenBroeck@bio.kuleuven.be State-of-the-art Speakers Dan Larhammar (Uppsala) – “Expansion of several peptide and receptor families in early vertebrate tetraploidizations”. Josef Vanden Broeck (Leuven) – “to be confirmed”. 14. Steroid Receptor Signalling.
  4. 4. (Supported by the Society for Experimental Biology) Chairs Patrick Prunet – patrick.prunet@rennes.inra.fr Nic Bury – nic.bury@kcl.ac.uk State-of-the-art Speakers Peter Thomas (U of Texas) – “Non-genomic steroid receptor signalling”. Nic Bury (London) – “Molecular characterisation of corticosteroid receptor signalling: teleost fish as a model”. 15. CRF and CRF-related Peptides in Stress Adaptation from Invertebrates to Man. Chair Tamas Kozicz – tkozicz2000@yahoo.com State-of-the-art Speakers Robert Denver (U of Michigan) – “Comparative genomic and functional analysis of regulatory regions of vertebrate corticotrophin releasing factor genes”. Tamas Kozicz (Nijmegen) – “A novel central mechanism in stress adaptation: the Edinger- Westphal urotensin I neuronal system”. Nick Bernier (Guelph) – “UI and CRF-related peptides”. 16. Novel Neuroendocrine Peptides and their Receptors and Actions. Chairs Hubert Vaudry – Hubert.Vaudry@univ-rouen.fr Mike Conlon – jmconlon@uaeu.ac.ae State-of-the-art Speakers Manuel Tena-Sempere (U of Cordoba) – “Novel role of the KISS-1/GPR54 system in the control of reproduction”. Aaron Maule (Belfast) – “The FLP side of helminths”. Jae Young Seong (Seoul) – “Identification of amino acid residues directing differential ligand selectivity of mammalian and non-mammalian VIa type receptors for arginine vasopressin and vasotocin”.

×