Mac309 Intro to the module

387 views
335 views

Published on

Intro slides to first weekly session

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
387
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
14
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Mac309 Intro to the module

  1. 1. New Media – The Web - Society MAC309 [email_address]
  2. 7. <ul><li>10 credit module </li></ul><ul><li>1 x 1 hour lecture per week </li></ul><ul><li>1 x 1 hour seminar per week </li></ul>
  3. 8. Assessment <ul><li>1 x 2500 word essay </li></ul><ul><li>Essay questions issued in Week 6 </li></ul><ul><li>Students can come up with own questions, subject to approval </li></ul><ul><li>Must be agreed by week 9 </li></ul><ul><li>Due date: 17 th May 2012 </li></ul>
  4. 9. Media ’s role in society?
  5. 10. Themes <ul><ul><li>New media monopolies (Google) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Networks & regulation (SOPA) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Networked journalism </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Privacy in the digital age </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The ‘ cult ’ of Apple </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The cost of ‘free’ </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Competing with piracy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Viral media to gamification </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Games and digital photography </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Navigation and digital space </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The future of the internet? </li></ul></ul>
  6. 11. Reading List <ul><li>The module guide contains a number of useful sources </li></ul><ul><li>Also on WebCT (see Module Info folder) </li></ul><ul><li>Wider reading is encouraged </li></ul><ul><li>Sharing ideas is encouraged! </li></ul>
  7. 12. Journals <ul><li>New Media & Society </li></ul><ul><li>Convergence - the Journal of Research into New Media Technologies </li></ul><ul><li>First Monday http://firstmonday.org/ </li></ul><ul><li>Culture Machine http://www.culturemachine.net/ </li></ul><ul><li>Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication http://jcmc.indiana.edu/ </li></ul><ul><li>Fibreculture http://journal.fibreculture.org/ </li></ul><ul><li>M/C Journal http://journal.media-culture.org.au/index.php/mcjournal </li></ul>
  8. 15. News sources <ul><li>Wired News http://www.wired.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Guardian Technology http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology </li></ul><ul><li>Ars Technica http://arstechnica.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Tech Crunch http://www.techcrunch.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Tech Dirt http://www.techdirt.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>All Things D http://allthingsd.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Mashable http://mashable.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>TorrentFreak http://torrentfreak.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Zero Paid http://www.zeropaid.com/ </li></ul>
  9. 16. Organise! RSS Feed Reader <ul><li>Google Reader (Web-based) </li></ul><ul><li>Netvibes (Web-based) </li></ul><ul><li>NetNewsWire (Mac) </li></ul><ul><li>Feed Demon (Windows) </li></ul><ul><li>Sage (Firefox) </li></ul>
  10. 17. Pro-tips <ul><li>Get yourself 2GB of free cloud-based file backups with Dropbox </li></ul><ul><li>Get 5GB of free cloud storage with Box </li></ul><ul><li>Try E v ernote – snip bits of the internet for later! </li></ul><ul><li>Get free software and install it on your USB stick with PortableApps.com </li></ul><ul><li>U s e social bookmarking tools like Delicious or Diigo – never forget a link again! </li></ul>

×