I am grateful for jonathan rivera

  • 74 views
Uploaded on

Gratitude Project, graduate student, UTSA, sociology department, SOC 6903, Dr. Miller,

Gratitude Project, graduate student, UTSA, sociology department, SOC 6903, Dr. Miller,

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
74
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Visualizing Value: The Gratitude Project By: Jonathan Rivera I Am Grateful For. . .
  • 2. Wednesday, January 15, 2014: I am grateful to be back in school and for this new semester. I am glad to be back and ready to learn something new. Not everyone in the world has the opportunity to continue on with their higher education. For that, I am thankful today for having the opportunity to be alive and for this fresh start this semester.
  • 3. Thursday, January 16, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to see a new movie at the downtown campus. Today, I was able to enjoy a movie and eat some popcorn. While many students have to be in class, I had the opportunity to sit down and relax for a while. For that, I am thankful today for having some time to relax from my stressful life.
  • 4. Friday, January 17, 2014: I am grateful to have prescription glasses. Without them I will not be able to see. While many people do not have access to this useful tool, I am bless to have them. For that, I am thankful today for having my own.
  • 5. Saturday, January 18, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have food on the table. While many families and individuals suffer from food insecurity, I am bless to eat a hot meal. For that, I am thankful today for having a delicious plate of food.
  • 6. Sunday, January 19, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to spent time with my lovely dogs. I am a dog person and love them so much. They are not only pets to me, but I treat them as family. They are always loyal. For that, I am thankful today and everyday for them being part of my life.
  • 7. Monday, January 20, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have money and get a haircut. Money may be an issue to many people who have been affected by the economy, but today I had some extra money to treat myself to a new haircut. For that, I am thankful today for having that extra cash around and treating myself to a new haircut.
  • 8. Tuesday, January 21, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have a nice dressy shirt to wear to school. Not everyone has the opportunity to buy new clothes for school or have clean clothes. For that, I am thankful today for having what I have to look presentable when going to school.
  • 9. Wednesday, January 22, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have a bottle of clean water. Many people living in third world countries suffer from not having a clean source of water because of contaminated water due to toxic chemicals or other harmful agents. Without water one could not possibility survive that long. For that, I am thankful today for having this fresh water in my hands.
  • 10. Thursday, January 23, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have the means to pay for public transportation. While I do have my own vehicle, I depend on the VIA bus for transportation from campus to campus. Due to the limited amount of parking space, I save time and money by using this service. It is also energy friendly and helps reduce the pollution from contaminating the air. For that, I am thankful today for having this secondary source of transportation.
  • 11. Friday, January 24, 2014: I am grateful to have the opportunity to have my own laptop. I have to depend on this device daily to become effective in school and for work. Without this device, I can attest that I could not be as effective at completing school work or my job duties as a Teaching Assistant. For that, I am thankful today for having this laptop which enables me to become more productive in school and at work.
  • 12. Saturday, January 25, 2014: I am grateful today for having my own backpack. I use my backpack for daily use when going to school. With it, I am able to carried what I need to take for class.
  • 13. Sunday, January 26, 2014: I am grateful today for having my own watch. Helps me keep track of time and at the same time it looks good.
  • 14. Monday, January 27, 2014: I am grateful today for having my own pair of socks. It helps keep my feet warm. When I wear them they feel very comfortable. I use them daily when wearing my pair of shoes.
  • 15. Tuesday, January 28, 2014: I am grateful today for having my own notebook. I use my notebook to keep notes when going to class. It also allows me to keep my work organized.
  • 16. Wednesday, January 29, 2014: I am grateful today for this new building that is been build at the main campus. This new building will help accommodate the increase body of students who attend UTSA.
  • 17. Thursday, January 30, 2014: I am grateful today for the Crossroads VIA bus station. I park here and then use the 93 bus to go to either campus. Parking is free and I do not have to worry about waiting or looking for parking at either campus.
  • 18. Friday, January 31, 2014: I am grateful today for having access to the sociology graduate room. Whenever I have to work on my academic work, I come here. I also use this room to grade students assignments and check my email.
  • 19. Saturday, February 01, 2014: I am grateful today for these light poles. It helps keep the campus lighted at night and makes one feel more secure when walking on campus.
  • 20. Sunday, February 02, 2014: I am grateful today for this microwave. This useful device helps keep my food warm. It is easy to operate and work well when needed.
  • 21. Monday, February 03, 2014: I am grateful today for my cereal. I do love peanut butter, so I sometimes eat cereal with peanut butter flavor. Tasty!!
  • 22. Tuesday, February 04, 2014: I am grateful today for my Dockers dressy shoes. I use them to dress casual when going out and for school. They also keep my feet protected.
  • 23. Wednesday, February 05, 2014: I am grateful today for the new water filtration units that are installed in the main campus library. Water taste better and is clean to drink.
  • 24. Thursday, February 06, 2014: I am grateful today for being able to see snow. Today was a very cold day and has been a while since I been able to see ice. For me it is uncommon to see snow, so today I am grateful to see the creativity that snow can create by UTSA students at the main campus.
  • 25. Friday, February 07, 2014: I am grateful today for having the necessary tools to keep my teeth clean. I am thankful for my toothbrush and toothpaste. Helps keep my mouth clean and provides protection against cavities.
  • 26. Saturday, February 08, 2014: I am grateful today for this sunny day. It’s great to see the sun and see such a beauty of nature. I was able to walk comfortably without worrying to much about the cold weather.
  • 27. Sunday, February 09, 2014: I am grateful today for this stove. It helps cook my meals and keeps my food warm.
  • 28. Monday, February 10, 2014: I am grateful today for being able to buy and stream the new episode of The Walking Dead. I was able to relax for a while and have some fun.
  • 29. Tuesday, February 11, 2014: I am grateful today for the study rooms at the downtown campus. It is a good quiet place where I can do my school work.
  • 30. Wednesday, February 12, 2014: I am grateful today for the graduate room at the downtown campus. Great place to study for us graduate students.
  • 31. Thursday, February 13, 2014: I am grateful today for my hat. Today is a very sunny day, so I have to use this hat to clear the view from the sun.
  • 32. Friday, February 14, 2014: I am grateful today for my router and my internet service at home. It enables me to work on my homework at home.
  • 33. Saturday, February 15, 2014: I am grateful today for this plate of food. It has been a while since I had some BBQ ribs.
  • 34. Sunday, February 16, 2014: I am grateful today for the beauty of nature. Without trees there will be no oxygen and we would die.
  • 35. Monday, February 17, 2014: I am grateful today for the print service at UTSA. It enable each student to print from campus and is also wifi ready.
  • 36. Tuesday, February 18, 2014: I am grateful today for the recycling program at UTSA. I like keeping the environment preserve and also recycle at home. “GO GREEN”
  • 37. Wednesday, February 19, 2014: I am grateful today for the hand sanitized dispensers around UTSA campus. Helps keep hands clean, but water and hand soap is the way to go.
  • 38. Thursday, February 20, 2014: I am grateful today for the Thursday’s Movie Matinees at the downtown campus. Movie shown was not good, but a least I was able to eat some popcorn and drink some Mtn Dew.
  • 39. Friday, February 21, 2014: I am grateful today for these cereal boxes. Good source of protein with multi grain during breakfast. “Stay healthy eat healthy?”
  • 40. Saturday, February 22, 2014: I am grateful today for this gallon of milk. I drink milk every day and it provides vitamin D.
  • 41. Sunday, February 23, 2014: I am grateful today for the emergency poles around UTSA. It keeps me alerted that there is a quicker form of communication for help when needed with campus police. Have never use them and hope to never need to use one in an emergency.
  • 42. Monday, February 24, 2014: I am grateful today for the bookstore at UTSA. This is the location where I am able to rent my textbooks and save some money.
  • 43. Tuesday, February 25, 2014: I am grateful today for the UTSA Police Department. Over the years, I have seen many new changes. One of those new changes is the new look of the patrol cars. Makes this police department look more profession in my opinion.
  • 44. Wednesday, February 26, 2014: I am grateful today for the VIA bus stop at the main campus. It enables me to have an alternative of having to drive to school and safe some money and time from looking for parking.
  • 45. Thursday, February 27, 2014: I am grateful today for my Kodak digital camera. This device is something basic that I will use for classroom projects.
  • 46. Friday, February 28, 2014: I am grateful today for my arm bracelet. I believe in fighting for extreme poverty and this plastic bracelet helps me express my concern.
  • 47. Saturday, March 1, 2014: I am grateful today for the cleaning cloth that helps keep my glasses clean. My glasses are my eyes it is come in handy having this useful item around.
  • 48. Sunday, March 2, 2014: I am grateful today for bananas. Excellent source of protein and keeps me healthy. Love banana shakes as well. One of my favorite fruits too?
  • 49. Monday, March 3, 2014: I am grateful today for ketchup. This is something I could not be without.
  • 50. Tuesday, March 4, 2014: I am grateful today for this lantern. Use it for emergency preparations and when the light goes off during storms.
  • 51. Wednesday, March 5, 2014: I am grateful today for oranges. I like drinking orange juice, but I also like oranges. One of my favorite fruits as well.
  • 52. Thursday, March 6, 2014: I am grateful today for tea drinks. I went to the store and had to tried this out. Tasty! A little expensive, but well worth it!
  • 53. Friday, March 7, 2014: I am grateful today for my Philips sport headphones. Use them to listen to music and specially useful when working out.
  • 54. Saturday, March 8, 2014: I am grateful today for my portable hand sanitizer. Helps keep my hands clean and tends to kill germs as well!
  • 55. Sunday, March 9, 2014: I am grateful today for my carabiner keychain. Helps keep my keys together.
  • 56. Monday, March 10, 2014: I am grateful today for the windshield wipers in my car. Helps me see during bad weather.
  • 57. Tuesday, March 11, 2014: I am grateful today for the vending machines at UTSA. While it is a little bit expensive, I am able to purchase my drink of choice.
  • 58. Wednesday, March 12, 2014: I am grateful today for Kleenex facial tissue. This comes handy during the winter.
  • 59. Thursday, March 13, 2014: I am grateful today my degree deodorant. Helps me keep a good hygiene.
  • 60. Friday, March 14, 2014: I am grateful today toilet paper. Good for sanitation purposes.
  • 61. Saturday, March 15, 2014: I am grateful today for my T.V. Good for entertainment purposes.
  • 62. Sunday, March 16, 2014: I am grateful today for this peanut butter snack. I was in the craving for something sweet.
  • 63. Monday, March 17, 2014: I am grateful today for this peanut butter snack. I was in the craving for something sweet.
  • 64. Tuesday, March 18, 2014: I am grateful today for my phone charger. Useful to charge my cell phone.
  • 65. Wednesday, March 19, 2014: I am grateful today for my pen. Helpful writing utensil.
  • 66. Thursday, March 20, 2014: I am grateful today for my first aid kit. For starters is good for small emergencies.
  • 67. Friday, March 21, 2014: I am grateful today for being able to purchase the Veronica Mars movie. Big fan of this show!
  • 68. Saturday, March 22, 2014: I am grateful today for belt. Helps me look presentable when having to go out!
  • 69. Sunday, March 23, 2014: I am grateful today for YouTube. I am able to see my favorite music videos, etc!
  • 70. Monday, March 24, 2014: I am grateful today for Pita Chips. Tasty snack!
  • 71. Tuesday, March 25, 2014: I am grateful today for copy paper. Hammermill is my favorite brand!
  • 72. Wednesday, March 26, 2014: I am grateful today for my scientific calculator. Good tool to have around!
  • 73. Thursday, March 27, 2014: I am grateful today for Netflix. I am able to steam my favorite shows and movies.
  • 74. Friday, March 28, 2014: I am grateful today for these homemade tortillas. Delicious and fresh!
  • 75. Saturday, March 29, 2014: I am grateful today for hospitals. In the event that I feel sick and need medical help, I have a place to come for medical assistance.
  • 76. Sunday, March 30, 2014: I am grateful today for Pandora. I am able to listen to my favorite artists.
  • 77. Monday, March 31, 2014: I am grateful today for this Clif bar. Great snack and good source of protein.
  • 78. Tuesday, April 01, 2014: I am grateful today for shaving foam. Helps me shave the hair from my chin.
  • 79. Wednesday, April 02, 2014: I am grateful today for prepaid cell phone cards. Allows me to add money to my phone account.
  • 80. Thursday, April 03, 2014: I am grateful today for plastic bags. Helps organize my shopping items together when going to the stores.
  • 81. Friday, April 04, 2014: I am grateful today for alkaline batteries. Helps power those electronic devices that require batteries.
  • 82. Saturday, April 05, 2014: I am grateful today for electricity. Helps illuminate a room and power many things that requires an electric current.
  • 83. Sunday, April 06, 2014: I am grateful today for the recreational center at UTSA. I can enjoy a good workout and loose some weight.
  • 84. Monday, April 07, 2014: I am grateful today for this ceiling fan. It not only cools the living room, but provides a good amount of light.
  • 85. Tuesday, April 08, 2014: I am grateful today for Avril Lavigne. She is my favorite artist. Love her music. I have all of her five albums.
  • 86. Wednesday, April 09, 2014: I am grateful today for these treats that Dr. Earnest gave us. Shows the dedication and caring she has for us. Something this simple means a lot to me.
  • 87. Thursday, April 10, 2014: I am grateful today for this mustard bottle I bought from H-E-B. They even have their own brand which is less expensive and are good products.
  • 88. Friday, April 11, 2014: I am grateful today for peanut butter. Goes well with toasted bread. I just need jelly to have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich which I sometimes have for breakfast.
  • 89. Saturday, April 12, 2014: I am grateful today for elevators. I don’t want to sound lazy and seem like I don’t use stairs, but they are good to have around. They are resourceful when moving heavy objects.
  • 90. Sunday, April 13, 2014: I am grateful today for drinking fountains. Keeps water cold and around and the best part is that its free to use. No need to buy a water bottle.
  • 91. Monday, April 14, 2014: I am grateful today for my sandals. Use the around the house and good during the summer.
  • 92. Tuesday, April 15, 2014: I am grateful today for over the counter medications. Acetaminophen is good to have during an emergency.
  • 93. Wednesday, April 16, 2014: I am grateful today for plastic cups. I can pore my drinks here.
  • 94. Thursday, April 17, 2014: I am grateful today for this sofa that is located in the living room were I live. Nice to keep the house looking good with nice furniture.
  • 95. Friday, April 18, 2014: I am grateful today for grapes. One of my favorites fruits. Good snack to have around the house.
  • 96. Saturday, April 19, 2014: I am grateful today for can drinks. Safer to have around than those glass drinks.
  • 97. Sunday, April 20, 2014: I am grateful today for pop-tarts. Peanut butter is one my favorite flavors. They taste good cold. Just place then in the fridge to give then that extra taste.
  • 98. Monday, April 21, 2014: I am grateful today for these eating utensils. Good to have a good amount at home.
  • 99. Tuesday, April 22, 2014: I am grateful today for this keychain that holds my keys. I got it as a present from an aunt who lives in Aguascalientes, Mexico. A little souvenir from there.
  • 100. Wednesday, April 23, 2014: I am grateful today for this lens cleaner liquid. Helps keep my prescription glasses clean.
  • 101. Thursday, April 24, 2014: I am grateful today for cheese. Love dairy products.
  • 102. Friday, April 25, 2014: I am grateful today for Amazon.com. It’s a great place to go shop and convenience since I can order many things online which may sometimes qualify for free shipping.
  • 103. Saturday, April 26, 2014: I am grateful today for music videos. I can watch my favorite artists perform and discover new ones as well.
  • 104. Sunday, April 27, 2014: I am grateful today for Windows Media Player. It allows me to watch movies, films, songs, etc.
  • 105. Monday, April 28, 2014: I am grateful today for ink cartridges. I usually purchase them from Office Depot, but I have found that Amazon has better prices. Why pay $22.99 plus tax when I can get them for around 20 or less from Amazon.