4) Liturgical Season
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

4) Liturgical Season






Total Views
Slideshare-icon Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



2 Embeds 27

http://www.tkayala.com 25
http://www.blogger.com 2



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.


11 of 1

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
  • thank you so much
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    4) Liturgical Season 4) Liturgical Season Presentation Transcript

    • Liturgical Seasons THE CHURCH CALENDAR
    • The liturgical seasonsfollow the life of Jesus- from his birth, hisdeath and resurrection,his ascension and hissecond coming as King.It starts with Advent andit ends with the Feast ofChrist the King.
    • Liturgical Seasons Advent (violet) Christmas (white) Ordinary Time (green) Lent (violet)  Palm Sunday (Red)  Good Friday (Red) Easter (white)  Pentecost (Red) Ordinary Time (green)
    • Advent Season (Violet) “Advent” means “the coming The season of Advent is the preparation for the birth of the Lord. Symbol: Advent Wreath
    • Advent Wreath
    • Advent WreathMeaning of Symbols: Green leaves - life Circle – eternity Candles – Jesus Christ, the Light of the world Four candles – four Sundays of Advent Violet candles - waiting Pink candle - joy
    • Icon of Advent: John the Baptist
    • Advent Season Icon: John the Baptist  sent to announce the coming of the Lord  sent to prepare the way of the Lord  His cry is “Repent!”  The Voice crying in the wilderness  John is the Voice, Jesus Christ is the Word
    • Christmas Season
    • Christmas Season (White) Christmas Day (December 25) Symbol: The Nativity or “Belen” Octave of Christmas  (8 days, Dec 25 – Jan 1) Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God  (January 1) Ends on Sunday of the Baptism of the Lord
    • Ordinary Time (Green) Start: Monday after the Baptism of the Lord
    • Lenten Season (Violet) Start: Ash Wednesday (Fasting & Abstinence) Ash on the forehead: public expression of our sinfulness, intention to repent. End: Good Friday (Fasting & Abstinence)
    • Lenten Season (Violet) Has 6 Sundays The 6th Sunday is Palm Sunday Chrism Mass ( Holy Thursday morning) Paschal Triduum (New Passover Feast)  Three Days: passion, death & resurrection  Three Days: Holy Thursday, Good Friday & Easter Vigil
    • The Holy Week Palm Sunday
    • Chrism Mass (Holy Thursday)
    • Washing of the Feet
    • Eucharistic Procession & Vigil
    • Veneration of the Cross
    • The Burial of Jesus
    • The Easter Vigil
    • Renewal of Baptismal Vows
    • Salubong
    • Holy Week:Palm Sunday to Easter Sunday Palm Sunday: Palm Branches Chrism Mass: Holy Oils & Renewal of the Priestly Vows Holy Thursday: Washing of the Feet & Eucharistic Vigil Good Friday: Veneration of the Cross Easter Vigil: Renew of Baptismal Vows (Paschal Candle & Water)
    • Celebration: Institution ofthe Sacraments Chrism Mass – Holy Orders, Anointing of the Sick Holy Thursday – Eucharist Easter – Baptism & Reconciliation Pentecost - Confirmation
    • Easter Season (White) Start: Easter Sunday End: 8th Sunday, Pentecost Sunday Symbols:  Paschal Candle - Resurrected Christ  Baptismal Water - Gift of New Life Pentecost – Coming of the Holy Spirit , Birth of the Church
    • Ordinary Time (Green) Start: Monday after Pentecost End: Feast of Christ the King