Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

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Refreshed Media Managing Director Simon Melaniphy gave a 1 hour talk to students at Bournemouth University's Business Mania Group on setting up and growing Refreshed

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Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

  1. 1. Simon Melaniphy simon@refreshedmedia.com www.refreshedmedia.com Twitter.com/SimonMelaniphy Twitter.com/Refreshed_Media linkedin.com/in/SimonMelaniphy
  2. 2. Today’s Session 1.Who am I and Refreshed Media? 2.What’s it like to run a business? 3.What makes success? 4.What helped make Refreshed 5.Your questions
  3. 3. The Emerge Group • 36 year old founding director & MD Refreshed Media • GCSE business studies & A-level • BSc Software Engineering • Businesses • pinboards // promo company • run club nights • DJ agency • headphone boosters • Impact Internet Services • Refreshed Media Simon Melaniphy
  4. 4. About Refreshed Media… A full service marketing group with big digital ideas • Established since 2003 as a full service digital agency • Local and national cross-sector client base • Multi-award winning • Strategic marketing, planning plus all the digital, media and traditional tactical skills to make it happen • Highly competent IA, UX, creative and development resource Focused on traffic generation and lead & sales conversion • Google Adwords Certified Partner • Test and measure to improve your website conversion rate • Google Analytics qualified consultancy
  5. 5. The Emerge Group Refreshed Media is proud to be a key part of Emerge Group: •One of the UK’s top 50 independent communication groups •Delivering an integrated offering: • strategic marketing • digital • “traditional” marketing, advertising and print • media planning and buying •Over 100 staff in Bournemouth, Reigate, Manchester & Edinburgh •A financially sound group turning over £25m & holding no debt Emerge Group
  6. 6. We’ve worked with clients from…We’ve worked with clients from…
  7. 7. Comet – Tweet The Parcel Game
  8. 8. Comet – Tweety Uppy World Cup Game
  9. 9. BBC Radio 1 Interactive Video Campaign
  10. 10. Complete Cruise Solution
  11. 11. Meetdraw
  12. 12. Welcome to our World; Examples of our Work Global Entrepreneurship Week
  13. 13. The Emerge GroupGlobal Entrepreneurship Week
  14. 14. Welcome to our World; Examples of our WorkWhat’s it like to run a business?
  15. 15. The Emerge GroupWhat’s it like to run a business?
  16. 16. Welcome to our World; Examples of our WorkWhat makes success?
  17. 17. The Emerge GroupWhat 4 qualities helped these people achieve? Vision Belief Determination Passion
  18. 18. The Emerge GroupStart with the end in mind …but enjoy the journey…and celebrate!
  19. 19. The Emerge Group Product specialist The Team – !!!!!!!! MASSIVELY IMPORTANT !!!!!!!! Sales / Marketing / Account Management Accounting & administration Leadership & vision
  20. 20. The Emerge GroupKeep Learning “Delayed gratification”
  21. 21. The Emerge GroupKeep Learning • From technician to entrepreneur • Build systems
  22. 22. The Emerge GroupKeep Learning • “There is always a way if you’re committed” • “The path to success is to take massive, determined action” • “Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach” • “Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible” • “Passion is the genesis of genius” • Watch for plateaus
  23. 23. The Emerge GroupKeep learning
  24. 24. The Emerge GroupKeep Learning
  25. 25. The Emerge GroupKeep Learning…from a mentor?
  26. 26. The Emerge GroupGrow your network
  27. 27. The Emerge GroupYou don’t need money (well perhaps a little!)
  28. 28. Welcome to our World; Examples of our WorkThings that helped make Refreshed
  29. 29. The Emerge Group • Do what you love and what you’re best at…. • Clients love it! • Makes the hard times easier Passion!
  30. 30. The Emerge GroupLook big from the start!
  31. 31. The Emerge GroupFocus!
  32. 32. The Emerge GroupGreat Team!
  33. 33. The Emerge GroupSales & Marketing!
  34. 34. The Emerge GroupGood accounting and forecasting!
  35. 35. The Emerge GroupWork hard!
  36. 36. The Emerge GroupKeep Developing...
  37. 37. Website Conversion Definition “A desired action taken by a website visitor” Types of conversion? •E-commerce sale •Completed enquiry form •Newsletter signup •Software download •Membership signup •Free trial signup
  38. 38. What Is A Conversion Rate? Goal achievements ________________________ x 100 Website visitors e.g. 200 conversions _______________ = 2% conversion rate 10,000 visitors
  39. 39. What Conversion Rate Should I Expect? •Varies significantly •E-commerce sales = 0.5% to 8% •B2C typically 1% to 2%, best in class = 5% •Retail financial services typically 1% to 2% •Free subscriptions to paid subscribers = 1% to 7% Stats courtesy of Fireclick.com •What do you NEED it to be to generate a positive ROI?
  40. 40. Return On Investment Example, if a conversion = a sale @ £100 & PPC average CPC of 50p Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate Revenue Search Engine Marketing £15,000 30,000 450 1.50% £45,000 Option 1 = Increase SEM Investment (£2k): Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate Revenue Search Engine Marketing £17,000 34,000 510 1.50% £51,000 Option 2 = Invest in CRO Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate Revenue Search Engine Marketing £15,000 30000 750 2.50% £75,000 Conversion Rate Optimisation £2,000
  41. 41. Conversion Rate Optimisation “39% of companies are dissatisfied with their website conversion rate” Econsultancy, 2010
  42. 42. What is CRO? e process of measuring, understanding and adapting your website in der to better suit visitor needs and in order to achieve website objectives. Visits CRO: Analysis, Measurement, Testing More conversions / sales / leads
  43. 43. CRO Process
  44. 44. Heatmaps
  45. 45. Scroll Analysis Are visitors reaching the bottom of your pages?
  46. 46. Conversion Rate Optimisation– Split Testing • One of these designs gained 25% more conversions that the other – which was it??
  47. 47. Case Study: Natural Training Version 2 = 60% more likely to click, 40% more likely to convert! • Through GA & user tests identified page which converting visitors usually visited •Struggled to find call to action •Tested positioning, designs and language
  48. 48. CRO: Multivariate Testing • 9 different versions of this page section... • A massive 300% difference in conversion results 3 different colour tab versions 3 different text versions = 9 different page versions
  49. 49. Case Study: National Express The winning version increase conversion rates by 14%!
  50. 50. Keep Innovating • CRO has been a good complimentary upsell • A differentiator / USP to many agencies • Keeps the conversation with the client about ROI
  51. 51. Welcome to our World; Examples of our Work Summary
  52. 52. The Emerge Group 1. Can you do it? Yes! But do you really want it? 2. Keep learning 3. Sales is as important as the product 4. Build the team 5. Keep passionate and enjoying it The most important bits
  53. 53. Simon Melaniphy simon@refreshedmedia.com www.refreshedmedia.com Twitter.com/SimonMelaniphy Twitter.com/Refreshed_Media linkedin.com/in/SimonMelaniphy SlideShare.net/RefreshedMedia

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