NFHS Rule 4 Jeopardy
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

NFHS Rule 4 Jeopardy

on

  • 1,951 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,951
Views on SlideShare
1,946
Embed Views
5

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
19
Comments
0

1 Embed 5

http://mcboa.blogspot.com 5

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

NFHS Rule 4 Jeopardy NFHS Rule 4 Jeopardy Presentation Transcript

  • This Is NFHS RULE 4 JEOPARDY
  • 100 200 300 400 500 100 200 300 400 500 100 200 300 400 500 100 200 300 400 500 Final Jeopardy 100 200 300 400 500 G - I J - V A - B F C
  • Rule 4 A-B for 100 _________is a player who has released the ball on a try for a goal has not returned to the floor.
  • Rule 4 A-B for 100 AIRBORNE SHOOTER
  • Rule 4 A-B for 200 ______________is a device located at the scorer’s table which is used to indicate the direction of a team’s basket for the alternating-possession procedure.
  • Rule 4 A-B for 200 ALTERNATING POSSESSION ARROW
  • Rule 4 A-B for 300 If the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall __________ as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location.
  • Rule 4 A-B for 300 Count
  • Rule 4 A-B for 400 4.1.1 SITUATION: A1 is in the air on a jump shot in the lane. While in the air, A1 releases the ball on a try and is fouled by B1 who is attempting to block the shot. A1’s try is: (a) successful. The official rules that the A1 is not an air-borne shooter and awards the ball to team A out of bounds nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct? If no, explain
  • Rule 4 A-B for 400 NO, A1 is an airborne shooter when the ball is released until one foot returns to the floor. An airborne shooter is in the act of shooting. B1 has fouled A1 in the act of shooting. A1 is awarded one free throw
  • Rule 4 A-B for 500 _____ is the call when the ball is on the rim and the ball or net is touched by a player
  • Rule 4 A-B for 500 Offensive or Defensive Basket Interference
  • Rule 4 C for 100 occurs when a player in control of the ball in his/her team’s frontcourt, is guarded by any opponent who is within six feet of the player who is holding or dribbling the ball. The distance shall be measured from the forward ______of the defender to the forward ________ of the ball handler.
  • Rule 4 C for 100 Closely Guarded, foot, foot
  • Rule 4 C for 200 _________begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
  • Rule 4 C for 200 Continuous Motion
  • Rule 4 C for 300
    • .A team is in control of the ball:
    • While a live ball is being passed among
    • teammates.
    • During an i__________ dribble.
    • AND Team control continues until:
    • The ball is in flight during a try or tap
    • for a _________
  • Rule 4 C for 300 Interrupted , Goal
  • Rule 4 C for 400 A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt when the ball strikes his ankle and bounces away. During the interrupted dribble, A1 fouls B1 in attempting to continue the dribble. The official rules this a team and player control foul on A1. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 C for 400 NO, this foul is a team control foul but not a player control foul
  • Rule 4 C for 500 During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A’s basket the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. The official rules that this is not a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 C for 500 Yes, there is no player or team control when A2 touched the ball. Team A does not have control until A3 gains control the ball
  • Rule 4 F for 100 Fighting is an attempt to strike, punch or kick by using a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether _________ is made.
  • Rule 4 F for 100 Contact
  • Rule 4 F for 200 A1 dunks over B1 and then taunts B1. B1 retaliates and punches A1. The official charges both A1 and B1 with a flagrant technical foul for fighting and are disqualified. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 F for 200 Yes, A1’s action is defined as fighting when the taunting caused B1 to retaliate by fighting.
  • Rule 4 F for 300 ________ fouls may or may not be premeditated and are not based solely on the severity of the _______.
  • Rule 4 F for 300 Intentional , act / foul
  • Rule 4 F for 400 A1 and B1 foul one another at approximately the same time . The contact occurs during: (a) a live-ball situation; or (b) a dead-ball situation. The official rules this a double personal foul in both cases. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 F for 400 NO, In (a), it is a double personal foul and in (b), it is a double technical foul. No free throws are awarded in (a) or (b) and play resumes at the point of interruption
  • Rule 4 F for 500
    • 3 substitutes of Team B leave their bench and come onto the court during a fight. The officials do the following:
    • 3 substitutes are each charged with a technical
    • foul & disqualified
    • Team B head coach is also charged directly with
    • a technical foul.
    • Team B is charged with three fouls toward
    • reaching the bonus.
    • Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 F for 500 NO, it is an indirect technical foul on the Head Coach, not a direct technical
  • Rule 4 G-I for 100 It is not legal to swing arms and elbows excessively. This occurs when: a. Arms and elbows are swung about …… and the speed of the extended arms and elbows is in excess of the rest of the ________ as it rotates on the hips…
  • Rule 4 G-I for 100 Body
  • Rule 4 G-I for 200 _______ contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and which does not constitute a foul.
  • Rule 4 G-I for 200 Incidental
  • Rule 4 G-I for 300
    • Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without the ball:
    • No time or ______ is required to obtain an
    • initial legal position.
    • If the opponent with the ball is airborne,
    • the guard must have obtained legal
    • position _____ the opponent left the floor.
  • Rule 4 G-I for 300 Distance , Before
  • Rule 4 G-I for 400 B1 has legal guarding position on A1 and moves to maintain it. A1 moves laterally and contacts defender B1 but does not get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of B1. Contact occurs on the side of B1’s torso. The official calls a player-control foul on A1. Is the official correct? Explain
  • Rule 4 G-I for 400 Yes, A1 created the contact on B1 who had legal guarding position
  • Rule 4 G-I for 500 A1 jumps to try for goal or to pass the ball. B1 leaps or reaches and is able to put his/her hands on the ball and keep A1 from releasing it. A1 returns to the floor with the ball. The official calls a violation of traveling. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 G-I for 500 No, this should have been ruled held (jump) ball. The alternating possession arrow would be used to determine which team is administered the throw-in
  • Rule 4 J-V for 100 Kicking the ball is the _____ striking of the ball with any part of the ______ or foot.
  • Rule 4 J-V for 100 Intentional, Leg
  • Rule 4 J-V for 200 _______ personnel are all individuals who are part of or affiliated with a team, including, but not limited to: substitutes, coaches, manager(s) and statistician(s).
  • Rule 4 J-V for 200 Bench
  • Rule 4 J-V for 300 A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? Explain
  • Rule 4 J-V for 300 RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try.
  • Rule 4 J-V for 400 A1 becomes confused and throws the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled by B1 and the ball goes into the basket. A1 missed, would A1 be awarded two free throws for the foul by B1? Explain.
  • Rule 4 J-V for 400 RULING: No free throw will be awarded. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player throws at the opponent’s basket, it is not a try .
  • Rule 4 J-V for 500 A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. The official calls this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? Explain.
  • Rule 4 J-V for 500 NO , the pivot foot CAN be lifted off the floor, but can’t be placed back on the ground. A1 can shoot, pass or call timeout.
  • FINAL JEOPARDY A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What 4 things can A1 do without violating? What else can A1 do if lying on their back without violating?
  • FINAL JEOPARDY ANSWER A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating.