• Like
WordPress Theme Development : Best Practices
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

WordPress Theme Development : Best Practices

  • 558 views
Published

WordPress Theme Development : Best Practices presented on "WordPressians 7th Meetup, Dhaka, Bangladesh" …

WordPress Theme Development : Best Practices presented on "WordPressians 7th Meetup, Dhaka, Bangladesh"

http://wpressians.net/meetup/7th-meetup/

Published in Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
558
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3

Actions

Shares
Downloads
29
Comments
0
Likes
1

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Nazmul Hasan Rupok Web & Mobile Application Developer WordPress Theme Development Best Practices www.rupok.me
  • 2. • Start with WordPress Codex http://codex.wordpress.org/Theme_Development • Follow WordPress Coding Standards http://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress_Coding_Standards Getting Started
  • 3. Why you should use a WordPress starter theme? https://thethemefoundry.com/blog/wordpress-starter-theme/ Use a WordPress starter theme SAVE YOUR ASS!
  • 4. Underscores http://underscores.me/ Use a WordPress starter theme (cont.)
  • 5. http://roots.io/starter-theme/ Use a WordPress starter theme (cont.)
  • 6. http://codex.wordpress.org/I18n_for_WordPress_Developers Localization and Internationalization It’s !important
  • 7. Organizing Theme Files ! • Template File Checklist http://codex.wordpress.org/Theme_Development#Template_File_Checklist ! • Template Hierarchy http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Hierarchy ! • Stepping Into Templates http://codex.wordpress.org/Stepping_Into_Templates ! • Theme Development http://codex.wordpress.org/Theme_Development
  • 8. Theme Options and the Customizer Say Thanks to the Settings API http://codex.wordpress.org/Settings_API Theme Customizer! Since WordPress 3.4 https://codex.wordpress.org/Theme_Customization_API
  • 9. Using Options Frameworks Options Framework Plugin http://wordpress.org/plugins/options-framework/ Redux Framework http://reduxframework.com/ http://hasin.me/2014/07/16/adding-redux-framework-in-your-wordpress-theme/ Tut
  • 10. Testing your Theme Always have wp_debug on Theme Unit Test http://codex.wordpress.org/Theme_Unit_Test
  • 11. Testing your Theme(cont.) Helpful Plugins • Log Deprecated Notices http://wordpress.org/plugins/log-deprecated-notices/ • Theme Check http://wordpress.org/plugins/theme-check/ • Theme Mentor http://wordpress.org/plugins/theme-mentor/ • Monster Widget http://wordpress.org/plugins/monster-widget/
  • 12. Questions?
  • 13. Thanks! :)