Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Biblio wow!
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×

Introducing the official SlideShare app

Stunning, full-screen experience for iPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Biblio wow!

107
views

Published on

Using Bibliocommons for Readers' Advisory services. An inservice training for Tulsa City-County Library staff on October 14, 2013.

Using Bibliocommons for Readers' Advisory services. An inservice training for Tulsa City-County Library staff on October 14, 2013.

Published in: Education, Technology

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
107
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide
  • In the drop down menu next to the search bar, select “list”Enter author name, title, appeal factor, etc… Look for lists created by library staff members. Many will have a small icon next to their user-name (a person with an “L” next to it). You may also find lists from a search of a title. Click on the title’s record. Look to the right hand side of the screen to see if this title appears in any lists. Can be a great way to suggest alternative titles when a book is checked-out (see The Fault in Our Stars by John Green).
  • Go to My TCCLLoginFind My Lists under My CollectionsClick Create A New List Give list a name Give list a description (optional) Select where this list should appearClick Create Add items.
  • Transcript

    • 1. BIBLIO-WOW! Rockin’ Readers’ Advisory with Bibliocommons Presented by Rebecca Howard, MLIS Readers’ Librarian
    • 2. Introductions • Name • Location • Best book you read last month
    • 3. Learning Objectives • Identify some Bibliocommons features that can enhance your Readers’ Advisory service • Lists • Tagging • Adding similar titles and reviews
    • 4. A Bit about Bibliocommons • Goal: To help public libraries deliver the same kind of rich discovery and community connection experiences online that the library has always delivered in its branches -- all built around the heart of the library: its collections. • Key: A common platform that aggregates the shared expertise, opinions and recommendations of staff and customers alike across all libraries, and integrates those contributions back into the local catalog in intelligent ways.
    • 5. The Wow Factor • Is you!
    • 6. I LOVE lists • Why • They are made by people not algorithms. • They give you access to the R.A. knowledge of libraries across the country and in Canada. • They provide opportunities for engagement, interaction with readers.
    • 7. Finding a List
    • 8. Use a list when . . . • “I’ve read everything by __________________ • Dennis Lehane • Janet Evanovich • James Patterson • Laurell K. Hamilton • Fill in the blank and I was wondering what other authors I could try? http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq0
    • 9. Use a list when . . . There are over 200 holds on the book I wanted.  What can I read while I’m waiting for it?  http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq2
    • 10. Use a list when . . . This phenomenon occurs: READER ASKS QUESTION… Brain goes empty.
    • 11. Use a list when . . . • You need inspiration for a display
    • 12. Creating a List http://help.bibliocommons.com/045faq/060faq-lists/
    • 13. Use a list when… • You want to get social http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq7 http://tccl.bibliocommons.com/lists/show/86922331_seattle_quick_picks
    • 14. Use a list when . . . • You want to create a bibliography for a program or community-wide event Tulsa Reads Khaled Hosseini http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq8 Tulsa Pride 2013 http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq9 Novel Talk: Gender Wars http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vqm
    • 15. Your Turn • Find read-alikes: • Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman • Search using words that convey moods, tones, and themes. • Start your own list.
    • 16. I’m gonna add some tags • Great for pulling together titles across genres and formats for displays. • Adding tags and similar titles enriches browsing and discovery for customers. • Creates additional tools for providing R.A. • Remember: Tags are only as good as the person who creates them!
    • 17. Adding tags http://help.bibliocommons.com/025ug/015tags/
    • 18. Adding similar titles
    • 19. Your Turn • Add a few tags • Add some similar titles
    • 20. SHARE How else could you envision using lists, tags, similar titles to enhance R.A. in your library?