Election Day 04112008


Published on

Front pages from a selection of newspapers
published November 4, 2008 – the day of the presidential election in the United States of America.

Created by Lars Pryds for the Society for News Design Scandinavia, 2008

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Election Day 04112008

  1. 1. Election Day November 4, 2008 A selection of newspaper front pages published in the USA and in Europe pryds.com
  2. 2. Front pages from a selection of newspapers published November 4, 2008 – the day of the presidential election in the United States of America. It was possibly the biggest news story of 2008: The election of Barack Obama as the first coloured American president ever. When the result was published, many newspapers showed Obama’s smiling face – most of them not very creative. But on election day, November 4, newspapers all over the world did some funny tricks with their front pages. Here’s a selection – 36 of the best covers. Enjoy! pryds.com
  3. 3. Newspapers in the USA The choices of the editors of the American newspapers fall in three major groups. The first group depicts both candidates face-to-face; the second uses the symbolic power of the election badge; and the third group of pages encourages the population to vote – “it’s your turn”, as several of the headlines read. A few newspapers combine the elements, and a handful take totally different approaches, e.g. a minute-by-minute tv guide to election night – right there on the front page! pryds.com
  4. 4. Chicago Sun Times Illinois, USA www.suntimes.com pryds.com
  5. 5. Chicago Tribune Illinois, USA www.chicagotribune.com pryds.com
  6. 6. Star Tribune Minnesota, USA www.startribune.com pryds.com
  7. 7. Pensacola News Journal Florida, USA www.pnj.com pryds.com
  8. 8. Orlando Sentinel Florida, USA www.orlandosentinel.com pryds.com
  9. 9. The Northern Virginia Daily Virginia, USA www.nvdaily.com pryds.com
  10. 10. Al Día Texas, USA www.aldiatx.com pryds.com
  11. 11. Newsday New York, USA www.newsday.com pryds.com
  12. 12. Culpeper Star-Exponent Virginia, USA www.starexponent.com pryds.com
  13. 13. Akron Beacon Journal Ohio, USA www.ohio.com pryds.com
  14. 14. Las Vegas Sun Nevada, USA www.lasvegassun.com pryds.com
  15. 15. Rocky Mountain News Colorado, USA rockymountainnews.com pryds.com
  16. 16. Omaha World Herald Nebraska, USA www.omaha.com pryds.com
  17. 17. Pocono Record Philadelphia, USA www.poconorecord.com pryds.com
  18. 18. Daily News New York, USA www.nydailynews.com pryds.com
  19. 19. AM New York New York, USA www.amny.com pryds.com
  20. 20. Red Eye Illinois, USA redeyechicago.com pryds.com
  21. 21. The Star Ledger New Jersey, USA www.nj.com pryds.com
  22. 22. Daily Press Virginia, USA www.dailypress.com pryds.com
  23. 23. Metro New York, USA www.ny.metro.us pryds.com
  24. 24. Metro Philadelphia, USA www.philly.metro.us pryds.com
  25. 25. Stars and Stripes Washington DC, USA www.estripes.com pryds.com
  26. 26. Tampa Bay Times Florida, USA www.tampabay.com pryds.com
  27. 27. The Plain Dealer Ohio, USA www.cleveland.com pryds.com
  28. 28. Wyoming Tribune Eagle Wyoming, USA www.wyomingnews.com pryds.com
  29. 29. European newspapers Several newspapers in Europe use the visual strength of the American flag, turning Stars and Stripes into graphic elements or bar charts. Others bring the prognosis for the result – the balance of red and blue. Only a few show both candidates on the front page. Some take Obama’s victory for granted (and leave out McCain altogether). Others focus on the American people over there – the voters who are about to decide. pryds.com
  30. 30. Dagens Nyheter Sweden www.dn.se pryds.com
  31. 31. Politiken Denmark www.politiken.dk pryds.com
  32. 32. Het Niewsblad Belgium www.nieuwsblad.be pryds.com
  33. 33. Die Presse Austria www.diepresse.com pryds.com
  34. 34. Kurier Austria www.kurier.at pryds.com
  35. 35. Avui Spain www.avui.cat pryds.com
  36. 36. De Morgen Belgium www.demorgen.be pryds.com
  37. 37. Kleine Zeitung Austria www.kleinezeitung.at pryds.com
  38. 38. Público Portugal www.publico.pt pryds.com
  39. 39. 24timer Denmark www.24timer.dk pryds.com
  40. 40. The Guardian United Kingdom www.guardian.co.uk pryds.com
  41. 41. This presentation was created 2008 by Lars Pryds for the Society for News Design Scandinavia SNDS www.snds.org Lars Pryds www.pryds.com More front pages www.newseum.org pryds.com