The universe explained


Published on

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

The universe explained

  1. 1. earth Mercury Mars Uranus Pluto The sunJupiter Saturn NEPTUNE Venus
  2. 2. Our Sun is not unique in the universe. It is a common middle- sized yellow star which scientists have named Sol, after the ancient Roman name. This is why our system of planets is called the Solar System. There are trillions of other stars in the universe just like it. Many of these stars have their own systems of planets, moons, asteroids, and comets. Did you know!Light from the Sun can reach the Earth in only 8 minutes! This is called the speed of light. TheSun is nearly 93 million miles (approx 145 million km) from Earth.!
  3. 3. Pluto Pluto orbits beyond the orbit of Neptune (usually). It is much smaller than any of the official planets and now classified as a "dwarfplanet". Pluto is smaller than seven of the solar systems moons (the Moon, Io, Europa, Ganymede, Callisto, Titan and Triton).
  4. 4. Mars Mars is the fourth planet from theSun in the Solar System. The planet is named after the Roman god of war,Mars. It is often described as the "Red Planet", as the iron oxide prevalent on its surface gives it a reddish appearance
  5. 5. Neptune Neptune is the eighth and farthest planet from the Sun inthe Solar System. Named for the Roman god of the sea, it is the fourth-largest planet by diameter and the third largest by mass.
  6. 6. SaturnSaturn is the sixth planet from the Sun and thesecond largest planet in the Solar System, after Jupiter. Saturn is named after the Roman godSaturn, equated to the Greek Cronus (the Titanfather of Zeus), the Babylonian Ninurta and the Hindu Shani. Saturns astronomical symbol represents the Roman gods sickle.
  7. 7. Uranus Uranus is the seventh planetfrom the Sun. It has the third- largest planetary radius andfourth-largest planetary mass in the Solar System. It isnamed after the ancient Greek god Uranus
  8. 8. VenusVenus is the second planet from the Sun,orbiting it every 224.7 Earth days. The planetis named after Venus, the Roman goddess oflove and beauty. After the Moon, it is thebrightest natural object in the night sky, brightenough to cast shadows. Venus reaches itsmaximum brightness shortly before sunrise orshortly after sunset, for which reason it hasbeen known as the Morning Star or EveningStar.
  9. 9. Jupiter• Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest planet within the Solar System.[13] It is a gas giant with mass one-thousandth that of the Sun but is two and a half times the mass of all the other planets in our Solar System combined. Jupiter is classified as a gas giant along with Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Together, these four planets are sometimes referred to as the Jovian or outer planets.
  10. 10. Mercury• Mercury is the smallest planet in the Solar System, orbiting the Sun once every 87.969 Earth days. The orbit of Mercury has the highest eccentricity of all the Solar System planets, and it has the smallest axial tilt. It completes three rotations about its axis for every two orbits. The perihelion of Mercurys orbit processes around the Sun at an excess of 43 arc seconds per century, a phenomenon that was explained in the 20th century by Albert Einsteins General Theory of Relativity.[11] Mercury is bright when viewed from Earth, ranging from −2.3 to 5.7 in apparent magnitude
  11. 11. EarthEarth (or the Earth) is the thirdplanet from the Sun, and thedensest and fifth-largest of theeight planets in the SolarSystem. It is also the largest ofthe Solar Systems four solidplanets. It is sometimesreferred to as the World, theBlue Planet,or by its Latinname, Terra