GE Healthcare Institute - Middle East 2011-12 Year In Review

  • 747 views
Uploaded on

The first year annual report for the GE HCI - ME. 59 courses delivered to 1,922 participants.

The first year annual report for the GE HCI - ME. 59 courses delivered to 1,922 participants.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
747
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3

Actions

Shares
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
1

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. GE Healthcare Institute –Middle EastThe Year In Review2011-2012 Providing Knowledge and Skills to Improve Healthcare
  • 2. ContentsGet to Know Us  Who We Are  What We Do  A Brief History and Milestones to Date  Our 2012-2013 PlanPartnership ProjectsCourses DeliveredTraining in Support of Programs 2 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 3. Who We AreHealthcare Institute – Middle East designs and deliversaccredited Technical, Clinical and Leadership education andtraining.HCI – ME is part of the GE Healthcare‟s global education andtraining network.We serve GE Healthcare‟s Eastern andAfrica Growth Market region. 3 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 4. Our Vision – What We DoWe aim to support the skills of our customers to improve qualityof patient care and improve our customer loyalty. Simulation Clinical Technical Leadership Target audience: Target audience: Target audience: Target audience: Physicians, nurses, Physicians, Biomedical Management, and allied- radiologists, Engineers and Executives, Clinical healthcare nursing, technicians ; HCIT leaders, Succession professionals technologists,.. staff candidates Purpose: Improve Purpose: Improve Purpose: Improve Purpose: Enhance clinical procedures clinical knowledge technical knowledge management and reduce medical and diagnostic and service skills knowledge, skills errors image analysis and performance; to develop leadership Focus on simulation across the board 4 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 5. Types of Training Delivery Instructor-Led Live  On-site or GE classroom  Coaching - DoctortoDoctor*  Shadowing – Immersion  Simulation Video-based Learning  Facilitated TiP-Ed  TiP-Ed self-directed online learning  Nursing Library of Online Education Teleconference  Instructor-led – AppsLinq*  Instructor-led - @LiveExpert * 5 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 * Trademark of General Electric Company
  • 6. A Brief History October 2011 – HCI – ME in partnership with KFMC delivers first September 2011 - First simulation course. Leadership course December 2011 - HCI – ME delivered with GE delivers 34 courses by Performance Solutions. fiscal year end.July 2011 - Roster of fallcourses developed. HCI –ME moves into renovated 2012 To Date – HCI – ME providesRiyadh offices. training in support of Saudi National Breast Cancer Screening program; training delivery planned in W. Africa and the GCC.; August 2011 - First HCI – ME Technical course - coordinated the content revisions AppsLinq* - delivered at major Saudi hospital. and editing of Guidelines for Neonatal Care manual for Saudi Ministry of Health; delivered four courses for the Minister‟s Office staff, Ministry of Health. April 2011 - HCI – ME officially starts with 3 staff. Fall 2010 - Jeff Immelt , CEO and Chairman, GE, proposes a healthcare institute be based in Riyadh. 6 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 * Trademark of General Electric Company
  • 7. First Year Development Plan2011 Objectives 1. Build a partnership with KFMC and position GE to participate in the “virtual hospital”. Challenges 2. Establish the GE brand as a provider of a) GE seen as just a seller of equipment. quality healthcare training and education. b) Customer level of commitment. 3. Build customer loyalty.The Approach ISD for Quality and SatisfactionA. Customer segmentation and needs assessment.B. Harness GE resources (HCI network).C. HCI-ME offering (existing GE courses, fill gaps).D. Develop instructional design model and cycle to maintain GE quality and compliance. HCI – ME uses a systematic approach to design and deliver 7 quality learning activities. HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 8. First Year Milestones2011-12 First Year Milestones1. Concluded „Virtual Hospital‟ feasibility report. 6. Proposals submitted to manage2. First AppsLinq™ courses in the Middle East. Healthcare Simulation Learning Center;3. In-house development of 3 Technical courses. conduct MoH NICU upgrade training;4. 59 courses delivered from June 2011 to March Patient First initiative; and Nigeria 2012, to more than 1,920 professionals. training.5. Developed five courses to support the 7. Reviewed and edited Guidelines for National Breast Cancer Screening Program. Neonatal Care, Saudi Ministry of Health. Technical Education and Training No. Delivered No. Attendees Av. NPS Customers 13 197 70% KFMC, NGHA, KFSH, Sulaiman Habib Clinical Education and Training No. Delivered No. Attendees Av. NPS Customers 27 1347 66% KFMC, MoH and NCD, NGHA, KFSH, Sulaiman Habib, Military Hospital, Children‟s and Maternity Hospitals, Dammam & Buraidah; Gulf Thoracic Society (Dubai) Leadership Education and Training No. Delivered No. Attendees Av. NPS Customers 19 378 63% KFMC, MoH and NDC, Saudi Industrial 8 Authority, NGHA, Sulaiman Habib HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 9. Our Plan for 2012-2013 Simulation Clinical Technical Leadership BLS Clinical Best practices education Management Tool Kit ACLS Clinical applications Human Resources Skills ATLS TiP-Ed clinical education Performance Improvement and PALS Nursing Library Change Management NRP AW- Advantage Workstation Healthcare Quality Diagnostic imaging Basic Strategic Management Skills CT/PET CT/ Position Emission Communication & Interpersonal NM- Nuclear Medicine Relations Cardiology MR- Magnetic Resonance Leadership Tailored Courses Interventional radiology CT computed Tomography PCI- Preclinical Imaging PCS- Patient Care Patient safety Systems PET-Position Emission Tomography RP-Radio Pharmacy U/S Ultrasound XF- Fluoroscopy XI Invasive Cardiology XM – Mammography HCIT Delivering quality and validated content 9 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 10. 2012 Marketing Campaign2012 Calendar (January – June) HCI – ME BrochureIn development: Email Blasts; HCI – ME Newsletter; 2011 Accomplishments 10 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 11. Partnership Projects
  • 12. Healthcare Learning and Simulation Center (HLSC) Project team • IB Leader: Iyad Mobarek • IB team: Yousef / Paul / Karim / El Hadi / Hani • Perf. Solutions : • Europe & the US institutes : Objective • Establish a leading healthcare institute in Saudi targeting healthcare professionals, emerging leaders and executives. Milestones • Signing and Implementation of SCA • Report out to KFMC • Submit Commercial and Technical Proposals • Proposal Clarification stage • RFP Award • Binding Contractual Agreement • Launch Plan for the HLSC @ KFMC 12 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 13. Our Partnership Framework Scientific associations Regulatory Healthcare Institute – Middle East Academic Industry Striking partnerships with industry leaders is 13 critical for the our success. HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 14. Courses Delivered Used with permission CAE Systems 14 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 15. AppsLinq* - Computed Tomography Sessions SummaryAppsLinq™ uses teleconference combined with advanceddesktop software to connect GE Applications Specialists withRadiographers. This allows facilitators and participants toengage real time in image interpretation and problemsolving. Target AudienceRadiologists No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations2 Sulaiman Habib2 KFMC1 KFSH No. of Attendees5 Sulaiman Habib2 KFMC5 KFSH Customer EvaluationAverage overall satisfaction: 10 /10NPS = 100% Detractors = 0 In cooperation with the Healthcare Academy – Europe and the Service Modality, Saudi Arabia. 15 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review * Trademark of General Electric Company March 2012
  • 16. Facilitated Clinical TiP-Ed Courses SummaryThese 2 or 3-hour sessions provide participants with a widerange of current information from leading experts via digitalvideo. A subject matter expert handles questions and addsclarification where required. Target AudienceRadiologists, nurses, administrators and other healthcarestaff. No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations4 KFMC No. of Attendees42 Customer EvaluationNPS = 66% Detractors = NAAverage overall satisfaction: 5.1 /6“Would you recommend [these] topics to a colleague?”: 8.6/10 16 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 17. Patient Safety Seminar SummaryA one-day program to summarize the issue and describecurrent work underway to identify and address potentialcauses from an international, regional and Saudiperspective. Target AudienceSenior healthcare practitioners, quality managers,executives and mid-level managers. No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations1 Riyadh, Al Faisaliah Hotel No. of Attendees120 From various hospitals and the MoH Customer EvaluationNPS = NA Detractors = NA 17 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review In cooperation with NGHA. March 2012
  • 18. Ultrasound for ICU 1 SummaryA 3-day lecture and simulation course to refine and enhancediagnostic skills for Intensive Care Unit practitioners. Target AudiencePhysicians (Pulmonologists). No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations Used with permission of CAE.1 KFMC No. of Attendees28 From various hospitals Customer EvaluationNPS = NA Detractors = NA 1 First simulation course. 18 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review In cooperation with the Ultrasound Modality and KFMC. March 2012
  • 19. Gemstone Spectral Imaging SummaryA two-day course which introduces Radiographers to thenewest Computed Tomography technology – dual energy,rapid switching image capture. The course covers thephysics, system operation and demonstrates a variety ofclinical applications Target AudienceRadiographers. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Locations1 Sulaiman Habib Hospital, No. of Attendees13 From three hospitals Customer EvaluationNPS = 0% Detractors = 2The course was valuable = 8/ 10“An effective introduction to a new technology.” 19 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review In cooperation with the CT Modality and Sulaiman Habib Hospital. March 2012
  • 20. Pleura & Ultrasound for Pulmonologists SummaryThis 4-hour theory and simulation course familiarizespulmonologists with the use of ultrasound to diagnose pluraand lung diseases such as plura effusion, pneumothorax, andconsolidation. Participants are introduced to basic ultrasoundconcepts, and image acquisition and interpretation. Target AudiencePulmanologists, Cardiothoracic surgeons, and Intensivists. No. of 2011-12 Deliveries; Locations1 InterContinental Hotel, Dubai No. of Attendees9 Customer Evaluation 20 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 In cooperation with the Ultrasound Modality.
  • 21. Computed Tomography – Essentials* Summary EssentialsThis ½-day instructor-led course introduces participants tothe basics of Computerized Tomography (CT) imagingtechnology and equipment. Target AudienceBiomedical Engineers and Technicians . No. of 2011-12 Deliveries; Locations1 Sulaiman Habib1 National Guard Hospital Administration No. of Attendees17 Sulaiman Habib13 NGHA Customer EvaluationAverage overall satisfaction: 9 /10NPS = 65% Detractors = NA * Designed at the HCI – ME. 21 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 In cooperation with the Service Modality, Saudi Arabia.
  • 22. Effective Health Technology Management* SummaryThis ½-day instructor-led course introduces participants tothe different phases of medical equipment lifecycle. It alsointroduces them to the different mechanisms andprocedures needed to manage effectively the contribution ofmedical equipment to contemporary healthcare systems. Target AudienceBiomedical Engineers and Technicians . No. of 2011-12 Deliveries; Locations1 Sulaiman Habib1 KFMC1 NGHA No. of Attendees17 Sulaiman Habib13 KFMC20 NGHA Customer EvaluationAverage overall satisfaction: 9 /10NPS = 70% Detractors = NA * Designed at the HCI – ME. 22 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 23. Automated Health Technology Management* SummaryThis ½-day instructor-led course introduces participants tothe components for developing an automated HTM. Includesthe modules of a Computerized Maintenance ManagementSystem. Make versus buy criteria, as well as customization,are discussed. Target AudienceBiomedical Engineers and Technicians . No. of 2012 Deliveries; Locations1 NGHA No. of Attendees20 NGHA Customer EvaluationNPS = 67% Detractors = 0Average overall satisfaction: 9 /10 * Designed at the HCI – ME. 23 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 24. Developing a Quality CES System* SummaryThis six-hour workshop at the 2012 Saudi BiomedicalConference introduces participants to the components fordeveloping an automated HTM. Includes the modules of aComputerized Maintenance Management System. Makeversus buy criteria, as well as customization, are discussed. Target AudienceBiomedical Engineers and Technicians . No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location1 2012 Saudi Biomedical Conference No. of Attendees55 Customer Evaluation * Designed at the HCI – ME. 24 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 25. Health Technology Assessment SummaryA two-day symposium to introduce M0H representatives tothe HTA concept. Topics covered included: factors drivinggovernments to adopt HTA (26 as of 2010); how HTA isimplemented; its role in assessing clinical protocols,manufacturing opportunities, and more; three internationalcase studies. Target AudienceSenior healthcare executives and Directors in Biomedical,Pharmaceutical, research and related healthcare roles. No. of 2011 Deliveries; Location1 Riyadh No. of Attendees40 Customer Evaluation 25 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 26. Management Skills for Healthcare Excellence SummaryThe program provides healthcare managers and executiveswith a solid grounding in essential leadership skills. Target AudienceCurrent Directors, Program and Clinical Managers, SeniorManagers and Executives. No. of 2011 -12 Deliveries; Locations1 KFMC1 MoH, Riyadh No. of Attendees22 KFMC25 MoH Customer EvaluationNPS = 94% Detractors = 0“I would recommend this course to my colleagues”: 9.8 / 10“Quality of facilitators”: 9.6 / 10“Ability to apply classroom learning to work”: 9.5 / 10 26 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 In cooperation with GE Performance Solutions
  • 27. Facilitated Leadership TiP-Ed Courses SummaryThese 2 or 3-hour sessions provide participants with a widerange of current information from leading experts. Target AudienceRadiology administrators and other healthcaremanagement and staff. No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations3 KFMC2 Sulaiman Habib No. of Attendees76 KFMC64 Sulaiman Habib Customer Evaluation“I would recommend the Time Management course to a Time Management Training Manualcolleague:” 8.1/10“I would recommend the Performance, Quality and Service inHealthcare course to a colleague:” 9.2/10“Evaluating Workflow helped me learn about the future.”NPS = 28% Detractors = NA 27 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 28. Organizational Excellence in Healthcare SummaryThis two-hour presentation was a key note address at astrategic planning workshop held at KFMC for all seniormanagers and executives. It offered a series of Qualityimprovement case studies, and a model to achieveorganizational excellence Target AudienceExecutives, Directors and senior managers No. of 2011-12 Deliveries; Locations1 King Fahad Medical City No. of Attendees82 Customer Evaluation 28 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 In cooperation with GE Performance Solutions
  • 29. Training in Support of ProgramsNational Breast Cancer Screening ProgramNICU TransformationMinister‟s Office Optimization Project 29 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 30. National Breast Cancer ScreeningProgram
  • 31. Breast Cancer Screening Symposium SummaryThis 1-day program brought together scores of Saudi cancerand breast cancer specialists, and Screening Programparticipants. to listen to a wide range of topics from nationaland international presenters. Target AudienceBreast cancer and oncology professionals No. of 2011 Deliveries; Location1 Riyadh No. of Attendees150 Customer Evaluation 31 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 32. Facilitated Mammography TiP-Ed Courses SummaryTwo 2-hour activities concerning Positioning Skills andScreening Issues using TiP-Ed digital video-based illustrated SLNlectures facilitated by a GE subject matter expert. Target AudienceRadiologists, breast cancer nurses and general physicians. Lymphatic channel No. of 2011 Deliveries; Locations2 Al Faisaliah Hotel No. of Attendees10 Mammography Positioning Strategies17 Mammography: Screening for Breast Cancer Customer Evaluation“Can you use the Mammography Screening information inyou job?”: 9.1 /10“Would you recommend the Mammography Screening topicto a colleague?” 10 /10“Would you recommend the Mammography Positioningtopic to a colleague?” 9 /9NPS = NA Detractors = NA 32 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 33. Breast Cancer Call Center Training Program* SummaryThis 3-part training program provided Call Center Agentswith essential physiological information, and practicaloperating skills.. Target AudienceCall center agents No. of 2011-12 Deliveries; Locations1 Call Center Awareness MoH1 Call Center Tier 1 MoH1 Call Center Tier 2 MoH1 Call Center Refresher course MoH1 Train-the-Trainer course MoH No. of Attendees10 Call Center Awareness22 Tier 1 and Refresher5 Tier 2 Customer EvaluationI can apply what I learned in the workplace:” 9.4/10 * Designed at the HCI – ME. 33 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 In cooperation with the Susan G. Komen Foundation for the Cure.
  • 34. Medical Community Training SummaryA 3-day program providing information about the NationalBreast cancer Screening Program. Included workshops andtraining on breast examination. Target AudienceOncologists, Breast cancer nurses, Primary Care Centermedical and administrative staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location1 Riyadh No. of Attendees55 Customer Evaluation“Excellent speakers..” 9/10 34 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 35. Mammographer and Radiographer IDI Training SummaryA three-day training program which oriented the MoHradiographers participating in the Breast Screening Programto the use of the Mobile Clinic GE mammography equipment,and to the use of the IDI information management software. Target AudienceRadiographers No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location2 Mobile Clinic, Riyadh No. of Attendees2 Customer Evaluation 35 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012 Facilitated by GE Service Modality
  • 36. Primary Care Center Training* SummaryA 2-hour training course for Primary Care Center staff. Trainingcovered the roles and responsibilities of PCC staff in the NationalBreast cancer Screening Program, as well as a workshop for GPson how to conduct a breast examination. Target AudiencePrimary Care Centre GPs, Nursing and administrative staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location2 Al-Deryyah and Al-Murabba PCCs No. of Attendees23 Customer Evaluation * Designed at the HCI – ME. 36 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 37. NICU Transformation
  • 38. NICU Reports and Proposals• Provided content and editorial support for the publication of the Saudi MoH national Guidelines for Neonatal Care, 2012• Submitted Site Assessment Reports for Buraidah and Dammam• Prepared two NICU training proposals to upgrade team competencies, and enhance unit processes and proficiency 38 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 39. NICU Review Course SummaryA three-day comprehensive Neonatal review upgrade coursecovering basic clinical modules such as pulmonary andcardiovascular conditions.Target AudienceNICU nursing staff.No. of 2012 Deliveries; LocationLocation; Date1 King Fahad Medical CityNo. of Attendees116 From six Riyadh hospitals Customer EvaluationNPS = 91% Detractors = 1I would recommend this course to others = 9.9/ 10The course facilitator was effective = 9.8/10The quality of the materials was good = 9.8/10I can apply this learning to my work = 9.6/10“Excellent lecturer and presentation.” 39 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 40. Transition to Extrauterine Life SummaryA two-hour Neonate ICU competency upgrading course, fornursing and related NICU modalities. This was combined witha 1 ½ day site visit to asses NICU facilities and evaluate staffcompetencies. Target AudienceNICU nursing staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location Location; Date1 Maternity and Children‟s Hospital, Buraidah No. of Attendees77 Customer EvaluationNPS = 67% Detractors = 1I would recommend this course to others = 9.4/ 10The course facilitator was effective = 9.1/10The slide quality was good = 9.5/10“Excellent lecture and speaker.” 40 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 41. Neonatal Resuscitation SummaryA two-hour Neonate ICU competency upgrading course, fornursing and related NICU modalities. This was combined witha 1 ½ day site visit to asses NICU facilities and evaluate staffcompetencies. Target AudienceNICU nursing staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location Location; Date1 Maternity and Children‟s Hospital, Dammam No. of Attendees44 Customer EvaluationNPS = 72% Detractors = 0I would recommend this course to others = 9.4/ 10I can apply this learning to my work = 9/10 41 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 42. Low Risk Nursery Course SummaryA one-day Neonatal ICU course for nursing staff and relatedNICU modalities.Target AudienceNICU nursing staff.No. of 2012 Deliveries; LocationLocation; Date1 King Fahad Medical CityNo. of Attendees85 From six Riyadh hospitals Customer EvaluationNPS = 79% Detractors = 2I would recommend this course to others = 9.5/ 10The course facilitator was effective = 9.6/10The slide quality was good = 9.6/10“I learned a lot and the information is relevant to my practice.” 42 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 43. Minister‟s Office Optimization Project,Ministry of Health
  • 44. Microsoft Outlook and Excel Training SummaryTwo basic software courses were delivered to improve theability of staff to use Microsoft applications effectively. Two 2-hour sessions were delivered per day, three days a week, toensure staff hand ample hands-on practice. Target AudienceManagement and administrative staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location Location; Date1 Minister‟s Office, Ministry of Health No. of Attendees24 Customer EvaluationNPS = 69% Detractors = 1I can apply what I learned to my work = 9/ 10The slide and material quality was good = 9.5/10 44 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 45. Customer Service Representative Skills SummaryA six-hour course covering a wide range of Customer Servicefront-line office skills. Content includes: the role ofadministrative and support staff, communication skills,approaches to solving problems, and handling conflict. Target AudienceManagement and administrative staff. Location; DateMinister‟s Office, Ministry of Health; March 24, 2012 No. of Attendees12 Customer EvaluationNPS = 63% Detractors = 1“I would recommend this course to others.” = 9.1/ 10“The slides and material quality was good.” = 9.0/10 45 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012
  • 46. English Language Training SummaryAn 84-hour intensive course covering written and spokengrammar, pronunciation and vocabulary, designed for thebusiness person. Specific topics include letter, memo andemail writing, and taking minutes. Target AudienceManagement and administrative staff. No. of 2012 Deliveries; Location Location; Date1 Minister‟s Office, Ministry of Health No. of Attendees19 Customer Evaluation 46 HCI – ME 2011-12 Year In Review March 2012