30 3 10 Final Campus Workshop Bapp Wbs3835 Qual R
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

30 3 10 Final Campus Workshop Bapp Wbs3835 Qual R

on

  • 798 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
798
Slideshare-icon Views on SlideShare
761
Embed Views
37

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0

3 Embeds 37

http://paulanottingham.blogspot.com 35
http://www.paulanottingham.blogspot.co.uk 1
http://paulanottingham.blogspot.co.uk 1

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    30 3 10 Final Campus Workshop Bapp Wbs3835 Qual R 30 3 10 Final Campus Workshop Bapp Wbs3835 Qual R Presentation Transcript

    • Campus Session 4 BAPP WBS3835 30th March 2010 Rosemary McGuinness Paula Nottingham Peter Bryant
    • Campus Session 4 BAPP WBS3835 Tuesday 30th March 2010
      • 1.00 Introduction Paula
      • 1.10 Data Analysis Peter
      • 1.40 Ethical Dimension of Research Rosemary
      • 2:10 Ethical Issues Statement, Ethics Release Form Rosemary
      • 2:30 BREAK
      • 2.45 Draft Proposal Paula
      • 3:10 Activity Rosemary
      • 3.50 Plenary Q & A - Suggested Actions P/P/R
      • 4.00 END
    • Assessment/Campus Sessions
      • Learning Diary and Critical Commentary (Blog)
      • Research and Development Materials: Activity 1: Glossary 3 rd March, Activity 2: Influences of the worker-researcher, Activity 7: Designing an instrument for data collection 16 th March Campus Session
      • Project Proposal (project plan) discuss draft writing 30 th March, student draft to AA approx 9 th April (Easter Holiday – check with AA ) + DATA ANALYSIS
      • 4. Ethical Issues commentary & Ethics Release Form 30 th March
      • 5. Rationale for Award Title & Learning Agreement Cover Sheer, Completing the Project Proposal 20 th April
      • READ AND CONTRIBUTE TO THE BLOGS…
      • Submission by 6 th May 2010 – posted to Avni
    • Blaxter, Hughes and Tight compared research to confectionary. The Jam doughnut has a balance of context (background of existing research , knowledge and understanding that informs project) and focus. In the inverted doughnut, the novice researcher limits the reference to the wider field embedded in the details of the research, and in the jam surprise there is not enough context. The roly-poly shows research as a spiral and a continuous process (p.40). My version of research was an ice-cream cone, although I also considered an iced coffee and a lemon tarte.
    • Project Proposal – 2500 words A project plan/proposal is based on the activities you will carry out in the workplace and should outline research activities to be undertaken with some consideration about intended outcomes. Each person/partnership will produce a unique proposal. It should be written in the academic style.
    • Blaxter, Hughes and Tight A research analogy.
    • Taking stock
      • WHERE ARE YOU IN THIS PROCESS?
      • WHERE ARE THE OTHERS in our BAPP NETWORK?
      • Have you chosen a topic and narrowed it down to something more specific that relates to what you are doing in the workplace and/or is something that fits in what your organisation/network/community of practice is doing and might benefit from?
      • Refer to the Handbook – as well as Blogs - for guidance and preparation (the proposal and its attributes can be found throughout the Handbook).
        • Section 1.5 Designing a Research Proposal p.22
        • Section 1.5.1 Choice of a research project p.22
        • Activity 3 Develop …project themes p.23
        • Activity 8 Critical Appraisal of a Research Proposal p.56
        • Sections 1.7 – 1.15
    • Retain and repackage the good thinking you have done from the blogs and emails and discussions. They are a part of convincing your academic/professional audience that you really have a worthwhile project.
    • Presenting the Project Proposal “ The proposal should show your ability to apply your knowledge of work-based learning (WBL) research methods in a specific context” (Module WBS 3835, p. 12).
    • WBL is a framework for professional practice WBL is a learning process which focuses university level critical thinking upon work (paid or unpaid) in order to facilitate the recognition, acquisition and application of individual and collective knowledge, skills and abilities, to achieve specific outcomes of significance to the learner, their work and the university (Costley, 2007 from Garnett, 2005). HOW DOES THIS RELATE TO YOUR PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE? HOW DOES THIS RELATE TO YOUR PROJECT PROPOSAL?
    • Work-based Learning – 3 way interests Employer/workplace/colleagues Middlesex University BAPP learner
    • Presenting the Project Proposal Suggested Format Guide of Proposal (p. 12)… to be explained Module code and working title of your project Introduction Aim Your role as a worker-researcher (not specifically Activity 7) Project feasibility Project report /product References Appendices
    • Unpacking the Project Proposal
      • Introduction - provides background to your project proposal and should include details of the context (organisation or wider influences) for the project
      • Aim - explains why the project is significant in the context, like organisational objectives and identifying a target audience for your report, opportunities and constraints within which you are working
      • Your role as a worker-researcher (different than Activity 2)
        • Critically reflect on your work role and relevant expertise and developing knowledge about the workplace
        • Identify main research questions that you will have to find in order to achieve project aim
        • Identify and provide a rationale for your research approach (referenced) in relation to your position, sources available to you your project aim and your research questions .
        • Identify and discuss any other approaches you considered and make it clear why you discarded them
    • Unpacking the Project Plan (proposal) Project feasibility - Provide an action plan for your project to demonstrate how you will manage it in the time available. Identify other resources required and how to gain them. Identify Ethical Issues (include Ethics Form in Appendices) Project report /product - Indicate how you believe the project report/product will meet the needs of your target audience Identify the strengths and potential weakness of your research proposal Reflect upon the experience of taking this module and construction the research proposal in order to critically evaluate how they contribute to your understanding of work-based learning References of sources used in the Proposal (using Harvard style) Appendices (as needed)
    • Project Proposal Suggested format can be changed as needed – you decide - the reader wants to know what the problem is that you are researching and how you are going to research it - also how you justify your decisions. (p. 56). Sectioning the document is easier for the reader. You can use subject headings of your choose… (p.56).
    • Examples of other Headings used in the past These are some headings people have used – columns contain similar ideas p. 56. A B C D E F G Rationale Research Problem Research aims Expected Outcomes Method-logy Approach Analysis Timetable Gannt chart Back-ground Research Statement Research Purpose Ethical Legal Consider-ations Research Instru-ments Tools methods Objectivity Subject- ivity Plan Explan-ation Intro-duction Research Question Objectives of the study Validity Reliability (using the right methods ) Resources Costing
    • Example REPEATED from Campus Session 3 of classic research study A summary of basic research design
      • Research problem, question or hypothesis
      • Background of research (context) - theory, purpose etc.
      • Methodology - quantitative/qualitative/mixed, approaches such as case studies, surveys
      • Methods - techniques or tools (i.e. interviews, focus groups)
      • Sampling
      • Data handling and analysis
      • Pilot study
      • Ethics
      • Timetable
      • Resources
      • (Mason,2002)
    • Project Proposal – example with additional issues from classic research Module code and working title of your project Introduction - b ackground of research (context) Aim of project/research – purpose of project, topic, theories in use from literature (Is the project part of a bigger project at work?) Your role/positioning in workplace – rationale for doing project Research problem, question or hypothesis , methodology (quantitative/qualitative/mixed), approaches for research (if needed i.e. case study), methods/techniques/tools (i.e. interviews, focus groups), sampling , data handling and analysis, validity + reliability
    • Example with additional issues from classic research- continued Ethical considerations Project feasibility- Timetable, List of resources Project report /product - Indicate how you believe the project report/product will meet the needs of your target audience, discussion of the impact or benefit of project Pilot study ( i f planned or something carried out – like a research method) References – using Harvard style Appendices Ethics Forms (might be separate), any extra assignments that helped you)
    • Project Proposal Activity Discussion… Starting to write up the proposal draft… Send the draft in after Easter to get feedback from your Academic Advisor. Continue the BAPP network over Easter.
    • BAPP WBS3835 Blog Addresses 29/3/10 Rosemary McGuinness http://rosemarymcguinness.blogspot.com Adesola Akinleye http://adesolaa.blogspot.com Paula Nottingham http://paulanottingham.blogspot.com/ Peter Bryant http://www.peterbryant.org Alan Durrant - Professional Practice http://adurrant.blogspot.com Rachel Adams http://rachel-lee-moore.blogspot.com/ Rosina Andrews http://randrewswbs.blogspot.com Zoe Bellamy http://zoe-bellamy.blogspot.com/ Laura Bentley http://laura-bentley.blogspot.com/ Lauren Cambridge http://laurencambridge.blogspot.com Gabrielle Campbell http://gabriellelc.blogspot.com/ Lucy Clark http://lucy-florence.blogspot.com/ Kelly Coiffic-Kamall http://kcoiffic-kamall.blogspot.com Ellie Connolly http://ellieconnolly.blogspot.com/ Sarah Connolly http://sarahc3.blogspot.com/ Akinwunmi Davies http://lanternachievingambitions.blogspot.com/  
    • Laura Davitt http://davittlaura.blogspot.com/ Kathryn (Kate) Donaghy http://donaghyk.blogspot.com/ Amanda Doyle http://adoyle993.blogspot.com Stephanie Dye http://stephaniedye.blogspot.com/ Melissa Dyer http://melissadyer-developingasateacher.blogspot.com/ Sarah Edwards http://sarahlouiseedwards.blogspot.com/ Danielle Eller http://danielle-eller.blogspot.com/ Nathalia Fortes-Moreno http://nathaliafortes.blogspot.com/ Rebecca Gage http://rebeccagage.blogspot.com/ Michael Gavas http://mgavas88.blogspot.com/ Sophie Gilbert http://sophiejgilbert.blogspot.com Laura-Beth Hill http://laura-bethhill.blogspot.com Grace Hoy http://gracehoy.blogspot.com Daniel Jackson http://dannyull.blogspot.com/ Lauren Jones http://ljralph.blogspot.com Klara Kalvelage http://klarakalvelage.blogspot.com Zoe Kennedy http://zoekennedy12.blogspot.com Enkeled (Kel) Lagaj http://enkeledlagaj.blogspot.com/ Natasha (Tasha) Tasha Massie http://tashamassie.blogspot.com Danyle Morris http://danylemorris.blogspot.com/
    • Ciera Mullan http://cieramullaninteraction.blogspot.com Nancy Osbaldeston http://nancyosbaldeston1.blogspot.com/ Joe Pegram http://joepegram.blogspot.com/ Tara Penny-Reeves http://tara-dancinggypsy.blogspot.com/ Rosea Pickering http://roseakpickering.blogspot.com/ Laura Quin http://lauraquin87.blogspot.com   Jessica (Jess) Reeves http://jessreeves.blogspot.com Amal Salim http://amal-wbl.blogspot.com/ Lorraine (Rae) Shapcott http://raeshapcott.blogspot.com/ Murat Shevket http://mshevket.blogspot.com/ Scott Smith http://scottbarrington.blogspot.com/ Alys-Grsce (Alys) Spencer http://alysspencer.blogspot.com/ Danielle Stacey http://danielle--stacey.blogspot.com Victoria Stretton http://victoriastretton.blogspot.com/ Sharina Taylor http://www.sharinataylor.blogspot.com Katie Thomas http://k80ktt.blogspot.com/ Michelle Wallbanks http://michellebanks.blogspot.com/ Leanne Westbury http://leannewestbury.wordpress.com/ Regina Wielingen http://reginasblogspot.blogspot.com/ Donna Wilkinson http://donnamwilkinson.blogspot.com Abbi Williams http://abbiwilliams.blogspot.com