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Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
Creating Success Using PPC Advertising
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Creating Success Using PPC Advertising

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Learn the secrets of how B2B marketers are putting Google AdWords to work for them from Jeffrey Demers, Director of Search Engine Marketing, Wakefly, Inc. In this webinar, Jeff coverx PPC marketing …

Learn the secrets of how B2B marketers are putting Google AdWords to work for them from Jeffrey Demers, Director of Search Engine Marketing, Wakefly, Inc. In this webinar, Jeff coverx PPC marketing best practices, including how to:

- Reach the right audience using Google AdWords and boost your ad performance by choosing the right keywords and writing compelling ads
- Stretch small PPC budgets to the max and still reach business goals
- Craft a winning PPC strategy based on improving value and decreasing waste

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  • 1. Create Success Using PPC Advertising Presented by Wakefly, Inc. Presenter Jeff Demers 1800 West Park Drive, Suite 100 Westborough, MA 01581 jdemers@wakefly.com 508-768-0032
  • 2. Agenda•  Introduction to AdWords•  How Google ranks ads•  The importance of structure•  How to choose the right keywords•  How to write great ads•  Live demo•  Q&A
  • 3. Introduction to AdWords
  • 4. In this section we’ll cover... •  An introduction to Google AdWords •  Common questions from new advertisers •  The importance of setting goals •  Where your ads can show: An explanation of the Google Ad Network •  How to sign up
  • 5. What is Google AdWords?•  AdWords is Google’s advertising program o  Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results on Google.com•  Advertisers can also show ads on hundreds of thousands of websites o  Ads are matched to Web pages relevant to advertisers’ keywords
  • 6. The questions people ask Is AdWords appropriate for Which keywords my small business? should I use?How do I get my ad in How will I bethe #1 position? charged? How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear? What questions do you have?
  • 7. Before we begin... what are your goals? I want to open my email every morning and see at least 3 new orders. I want five quality leads a day for my sales team to call. I’d like to get as many clicks as I can for less than $0.80 per click. I want to double my customer base. I’d like to increase sales by 15 percent.I want at least 40 visits to mywebsite every day. I want an ROI of 250 percent on all sales coming from AdWords.
  • 8. OK, now you know what you want Where do ads appear?
  • 9. Google.com
  • 10. The Search Partners
  • 11. The Google Display Network
  • 12. How Google Ranks Ads
  • 13. In this section we’ll cover... •  How the AdWords auction works •  How Google calculates your place in the auction •  What’s Max CPC? •  How Quality Score is calculated •  How all this affects what you pay for a click
  • 14. How does AdWords work? Instant Auction A live auction is run for every search Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid Quality Factors: Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad relevance and historical performance
  • 15. Everyone wants to be in position #1 The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
  • 16. The magic ad ranking formula x Maximum Ad Rank = Cost-Per-Click Bid (Max. CPC) Quality Score The Bottom Line: If you have a great Quality Score, you can still show in a high position with a low bid
  • 17. What is your Max CPC?•  The maximum price you are prepared to pay for a click•  Your ‘bid’ in the AdWords auction
  • 18. What is Quality Score? •  A measure of how relevant and useful your ads are. •  Do your ads & keywords provide a good user experience? POOR OK GREATNote: The above example is for demonstration purposes only. It is not meant to indicate the actual quality score of the ads.
  • 19. Quality Score measures user experience
  • 20. How Google calculates Quality Score Clickthrough-Rate (CTR) Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it? + Relevancy Do your keywords match your ads? Does the search query match your keyword? + Landing Page Quality Does your landing page provide a good user experience?
  • 21. You can see your Quality Score for each keyword
  • 22. The magic ranking formula - exampleAlison, Scott and Jon are all bidding on the keyword ‘zipline kits.’Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, whose ad will show in first position? Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Alison 2nd 8 = $1.00 x 8 Scott = $1.00 x 10 10 1st Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 3rd
  • 23. How much do I actually pay? Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your Quality Score. Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPCScott 10 = $1.00 x 10 = (8/10) $.80Alison 8 = $1.00 x 8 = (7/8) $.88Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 = minimum $min
  • 24. So you’ll show in a higher position if... •  Your Quality Score is at least 7/10 for each keyword •  Your bids are competitive •  Both!
  • 25. The Importance of Structure
  • 26. In this section we’ll cover... •  The structure and limits of a typical AdWords account •  Best practices for organizing your account
  • 27. AdWords account structure AdWords Account Unique email address & password Billing information Campaign Campaign Daily budget Daily budget Location/language targeting Location/language targeting Distribution preference Distribution preference End date End date Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads
  • 28. The WRONG way to structure an account AdWords Account “Website Design” Campaign Website Design Ad Group   Website Design Company   The Leader’s in Website Design,   Request a Free Consultation Today.   Wakefly.com/Web-Designprofessional web site redesign corporate website redesign company seo web designcompany website companies professional seo web designprofessional website redesigning professional website design company website redesign companyprofessional web redesign business web design companies custom web designcustom website redesign website designer customized web site designcorporate website redesigns freelance web designer web design customizedcorporate web redesign freelance web designs affordable business websitescorporate website redesign company website redesign website for my business 25
  • 29. A BETTER way to structure an account AdWords Account “Website Design” Campaign “Business Web Design” “Corporate Web Design” “Professional Web Design” Ad Group Ad Group Ad GroupBusiness Web Design Corporate Web Design Professional Web DesignAward Winning Design & Affordable The Leader’s in Corporate Website Professionally Designed Websites.Lets Discuss Your Exact Needs Design. Request a Free Consultation. Check Out Our Portfolio Today!Wakefly.com/Business-Web-Design Wakefly.com/Corporate-Web-Design Wakefly.com/Professional-Web-DesignBusiness web design corporate web design professional web designBusiness website design corporate website design professional website designBusiness website designers corporate website designers professional website designersWeb design for my business Web design for my corporate Web design for my professionalDesigning business websites Designing corporate websites Designing professional websites 26
  • 30. Structuring your own account for success•  Create one Ad Group for each product or service•  Create one Ad Group with your brand/business name as keywords•  Create additional Ad Groups for variations “B&B” vs. “Bed and Breakfast” For a Plumber For a Sports For a Bed & Breakfast emergency plumbing Equipment Store bed & breakfast nashville hot water repairs Tents b&b nashville hot water installation sleeping bags cheap nashville hotel Dishwasher installation portable stoves luxury bed & breakfast bathroom renovations Backpacks luxury b&b drain clearing hiking boots nashville inns Plumber nashville lanterns swiss amy knives
  • 31. How to Choose the Right Keywords
  • 32. In this section we’ll cover... •  How to begin building your keyword list •  How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle •  Keywords match types •  The Google Keyword Tool
  • 33. Building a keyword list •  Brainstorm business •  Review website •  Think like a customer •  Focus on what differentiates •  Include plural & singular versions •  Include spelling mistakes & variations •  Include product numbers & codes
  • 34. Use the ‘Goldilocks principle’ to pick keywords•  Add all relevant keyword variations: singular/plural and synonyms•  Keyword combinations, accent marks (á, é, í, ó, ú, ñ, ü, etc.)•  Make keywords specific to your product or service vacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beach tax tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rd store dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box sets bags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbags accounting cheap accounting software accounting software for petsitting biz Too General Just Right Too Specific
  • 35. What happens if my keyword is too general?Example keyword ‘vacation’ -- your ad might show for:vacation rental The go-go’s vacationvacation deals disney vacation clubvacation ideas pictures from our vacation byvacations for kids lynne rae perkinsvacations for singles vacation auctionsvacations for veterans vacation accrual policyNational lampoon’s european vacation Vacation agent magazinepermanent vacation lyrics vacation air conditioning vacation anxiety General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
  • 36. Keyword matching options How keyword The ad will show when aMatch Type appears in The ad will show when: searcher types: AdWords All words containing one word or Cruise Control combination of words in any order Caribbean PicturesBroad Caribbean Cruise is used as the query. Cruise in Carribean Caribbean CruisesBroad Match Queries containing variations of +Caribbean +Cruise Cruises in CaribeanModifier each keyword Carribbean Cruise Queries are typed in the exact Cheap Caribbean Cruise order specified. Can have other Caribbean Cruise dealsPhrase “Caribbean Cruise” words before and/or after. Luxury Caribbean Cruise Queries must be only & exactly Caribbean CruiseExact [Caribbean Cruise] what the user types in Ad will not show if Ads will not appear when this someone types:Negative -Tom search term is entered in the query Tom Cruise 32
  • 37. Examples of negative keywordsService provider Vacation destination Frequently used-become -library -free-study -doctor -lyrics-class -vet -second hand-classes -hospital -used-course -schools -parts-license -coffee -repairs-training -cards -wholesale-jobs -history -pics-employment -jobs in -pictures-supplies -pictures -definition of-tools -news -history-price -weather -diy
  • 38. The Google Keyword Tool: help finding keywordsEnter yourkeywordGet additionalkeywordsuggestions
  • 39. How to Write Great Ads 35
  • 40. In this section we’ll cover... •  Ad text specifications •  Tips for writing better ads
  • 41. Ad text specificationsAd title(25 characters max,including spaces)Two description lines(35 characters max each,including spaces)Display URL(35 characters max,including spaces)Destination URL(1024 characters max,including spaces)
  • 42. What is a good AdWords ad?A good ad: •  Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group •  Gets a high clickthrough-rate (CTR) •  Effectively sells your product or service •  Stands out from your competitors •  Includes a call to action
  • 43. What doesn’t workVague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information. Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
  • 44. 1. What sets your business apart?Why would someone choose your business over a competitor?Examples:“We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009”“We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made”“We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time”“Free shipping if you buy two” “We’re open 7 days a week”“We have lower prices”“We offer free quotes”“We’re having a sale” This helps you write useful ads
  • 45. 2. Can you describe your products or services?Describe specific or technical details of your products or services.Examples:“Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available”“Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “18 day all-inclusive tour”“From $16 per square foot” “10 Nashville locations”“Suitable for diabetics” “24/7 onsite support”“Dishwasher safe” “On time or it’s free”“Collectors item” “First class is free”“Sizes 8-16” “HIPPA compliant” This helps you write useful ads
  • 46. 3. What is your call to action?After someone clicks on your ad and visits your website, what is it youwant them to do next?Examples:“Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis”“Browse through all of our toys” “Order a copy of our brochure”“Book your rental home online” “Call us and order a pizza”“Download a 30-day free trial” “Request a call back”“Sign up for our mailing list” This helps you write a call to action
  • 47. Put it all together for better ads
  • 48. Link to the best landing pageAlways direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
  • 49. How to get to your goals – step by stepExperiment!Try new ads and keywords to get the best to see which perform best.Track your resultsMeasure! Have you achieved your goals?Repeat
  • 50. A Quick Recap
  • 51. After this session, you should know Where Ads Show How to Structure an Account Show ads on Google.com, the Search Structure your account for success with Partners, the Google Display Network. campaigns, Ad Groups and keywords. How to Select Keywords How To Write Ads Keyword match types, the “Goldilocks” Ad text specifications, tips for writing principle, using the Google Keyword Tool. more effective ads, calls to action.
  • 52. Thank you!

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